We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing friendly place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Las Lilas Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cabanas Las Lilas Hostel to your Saves list
Cabanas Las Lilas Hostel
Zona Linde | Tiquipaya, Cochabamba 5019, Bolivia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is lovely. The owner is so friendly and helpful and the garden is a beautiful place to chill and relax.
If you've visited other cities I would recommended skipping town (as its not that special) and staying here instead. The hostel is a taxi or bus ride out of town but worth it if you want to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
10
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mancora, Peru
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited here in March 2013 and it was a nice and relaxing place with very friendly and helpful owners. There was breakfast served here of bread and butter/jam and tea/coffee. The kitchen here is massive and available for guests.

The downside about this place unfortunately is the location which is about a two and a half hour walk out of town, but you can get on nearby micro buses for around 2.5 bolivianos each way.

You can also order food in this place which is quite tasty too. This is a good place to relax and get away from it all. I would recommend this place

Room Tip: Check to see if the shower has hot water first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hostel is a 10 minute cab ride from the centre of town (which will only cost you 15-20 BOB) and it is well worth this minute inconvenience. Truly a beautiful setting, absolutely lovely garden area and quiet surroundings. There is a swimming pool, on-site restaurant (AMAZING food), delicious home-brewed beer and a projector cinema(!!)

We couldn´t have asked for more accommodating and friendly hosts, we´ve had a very chilled out time, preparing for the crazy city of La Paz. The best place we´ve stayed in Bolivia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALXMAU, Propietario at Cabanas Las Lilas Hostel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for giving your time to think about us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

As a very new hostel (it's been open 3 months as of Feb 2013), this place shows a whole lot of potential. It's outside of town, relaxing, calming, and the owners are absolutely wonderful - they'll do everything they can to help you get around and make your stay better. The best part is the big central hang-out room where everyone checks internet, eats meals, and watches movies on the big screen. It's very much a community feel while stilling giving you space to be on your own if you prefer. And don't overlook the hammocks hanging from the playground outside - they're wonderful on a warm sunny cochabamba day!

Since it's new, it's still sorting some things out - the main area could use more comfy chairs, maybe there should be an easier way for you to call a taxi than having to track down the owners, they forgot to give us the key to lock our room until we asked, but overall these were all minor issues and i have full confidence that Alex will improve the place quickly. (Also, to be fair, we stayed here over carnaval and all employees of the place were not working, so Alex and his wife were holding down the place on their own). If I came back in a couple more months, I'm pretty sure I would give this 5 stars not 4.

Room Tip: honestly, all of the rooms are in separate buildings from the center hang-out area, so all are prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I couldn't have found a better place to stay in Cochabamba. In fact, it is comfortably the best accommodation I have had in my two months of traversing Bolivia.

Firstly, don't let the distance from down town worry you. I am on a cycling tour, so can't help with taxis etc - but from the city centre it was only 8km, probably add another 2km to the bus station. Once you have arrived, you'll find a little piece of excellence - and being improved on daily. The hostel has only been open for a few months and it would seem that most guests come for a few days and endup staying for a week or more. Even in the time I stayed here, any mention of a possible improvement or adjustment were generally worked on. So don't think it out of place to mention something you think might be made better to Alex.

The care and attention of the owners was beyond expectations. Anything I wanted or needed was arranged including the sorting of a rental car. Not only did Alex arrange for a vehicle, but he even drove me to a remote forest in the mountains so I could engage in a 3-4 hours of bird watching! I ended up staying for 5 days instead of the planned 2.

It should be noted that while this is in some ways a hostel, it is really a combination of hostel and hotel. I didn't lift a finger to cook once while I was here - much preferring the excellent and cheap meals that were made for me. It should be noted that the dorm rooms are a little cramped - which is no problem when you only spend your sleeping hours there. There is a large enclosed common area with a bar, fire place and large glass windows overlooking the large garden and enclosed swimming pool.

Sundays are open to the public as they host a large BBQ. Be warned though - portions sizes are on the very large size. The Beef Chorizo had me thinking I was back in Argentina.

This hostel is still a work in progress, bits and pieces are being added and improved all the time. Any structural reviews are likely to become outdated very quickly, the care and attention of the staff won't though.

Room Tip: There are a number of different room and dorm options - have look around and take your pick generall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas Las Lilas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Las Lilas Hostel

Address: Zona Linde | Tiquipaya, Cochabamba 5019, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Cochabamba Department > Cochabamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Cochabamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Las Lilas Hostel, is the only hostel in Cochabamba thought-out for backpackers is located in Tiquipaya area at just 20 minutes from the bus station or the airport of Cochabamba, has a pick-up service from the bus station every days at 6:45 am, for other times and pick-ups from the airport please should be contact the hostel .This hostel is installed on an area of 5,000 square meters of land, more than half are gardens, has a capacity for 35 guests and we strive to make your visit to Cochabamba city a wonderful experience.Cabanas Las Lilas Hostel, has ensuite rooms, singles, doubles and triples, also offers dormitories for three, four, eight and ten people, the rooms have heating for the winter time and security lockers. Las Lilas Hostel, has a large, airy and brightly lit common area built with huge trunks of trees, natural palm roofs and large windows overlooking the garden and pool, also has a warm and romantic fireplace, pool table, poker table, books exchange, video library, bar service and free Wi-Fi internet.In Cabanas Las Lilas Hostel can seize the day, enjoy the sun lying down in the garden, cool off in the swimming pool overlooking a pleasant garden and natural landscape of the mountains of Tunari National Park. At night projecting a selection of films with a small theater system or you can have a fun time with your friends by a campfire outdoors.Las Lilas Hostel also has restaurant service, with homemade dishes so fresh and natural ingredients produced in area, the huge chef kitchen is also the service for guest use where you can prepare your food yourself. The bar offers a variety of drinks, but mainly Brew in 5 different flavors produced by our very small artisan beer factory which you can visit.The public transport to downtown and commercial areas of Cochabamba is very cheap (0.29 cents) and stops just 200 meters from our hostel, we also have radio taxi service at special prices to our hosted, for the convenience of our hosted also contam with free pickup to central Cochabamba area at fixed times.Cabañas Las Lilas Hostel also offers a tour desk, visits and trips to Toro Toro National Park, Villa Tunari (Chapare), provinces of Cochabamba, walks in the Tunari National Park and other attractions of Cochabamba.Cabanas Las Lilas Hostel, located in the most coveted area of Cochabamba city, for its abundant water, vegetation and safety Tiquipaya hosted several international meetings (OEA Assembly, World Summit on Climate Change and others) 80% of its length corresponds to agricultural areas of maize, vegetables and flowers, in addition to raising cows, pigs, rabbits, sheep and chickens.Cabañas Las Lilas Hostel awaits for you in Cochabamba ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabanas Las Lilas Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas Las Lilas Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.