We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably for Cotonou very good...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maquis du Port

Maquis du Port
Rue du Port, Cotonou, Benin
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Cotonou
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Probably for Cotonou very good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was recommended by a colleague and an easy walk from the Azalai, and the red facade is striking. Inside, it is very crowded! The menu is a good size and they had cold beers and air conditioning that worked well. But a couple of us ordered food and (surprise! not really) they were out of it, and it wasn't even late at night. The food wasn't exactly as described - one dish was supposed to be boneless chicken pieces, and basically they gave us chicken pieces with the bone and gristle in it - but for mine, the flavor was nice, especially when they brought the hot sauce and the tomato and onion melange that they brought. People who got the fish as well as chicken were pretty evenly split between "very good" and "it was okay but nothing special". A friend and I split a salad for a starter and they took forever to bring two plates even though we explained when we ordered that we needed two, and then when they brought bread but no butter for him and me, and he asked them for butter, they took a very long time and then brought up exactly one pat of butter for him, didn't even ask if I wanted too.

If you are in the area and you are looking for a decent maquis to go to that you will enjoy, nice atmosphere and decent reliable food, this is it, but it's not the best restaurant in Cotonou or anything.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    20
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Work off as many calories as you consume with the poulet bicyclette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a popular little restaurant with nice, if industrial views of the port and the fisherman's market. It is steps away from the Azalai Hotel de la Plage. The plat du jour is usually very good and at the very least very fast. Probably the quickest dining experience in Cotonou. The poulet bicyclette (which is the same chicken you'll get with the poulet amiwo) is tough as shoe leather. Recommended if you're trying to lose weight, as it takes more energy to extract edible meat than you get from eating the meat, but not recommended if you want to maintain any kind of grace while eating. This is not knife and fork fare. That said, the Djiep Tien is great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Sole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This restaurant serves an excellent sole. We ate there on a Sunday and the place was full with mostly locals. Our "medium" sized sole was still big enough for lunch and was very tastely served. The service was more or less OK, since it was full and the waiters have to get the plates from the floor below the restaurant, it took some waiting. In all, a place to recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very busy restaurant with ok food and ac”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Taken by a local friend that knew how much i hate the extreme heat and humidity here. very very busy with local bank workers and national lottery people. advice is go to the second floor and avoid the first, too busy. i had menu du jour which was poulet and frites. now, chicken in benin is not like chicken in western europe. is skinnier and frankly quite on the starving side,reason why is called biciclette. it runs so much around that stays forcibly slim (get the beninese humour??). best thing i had were two jugs of pinapple juice. fantasticly tasty. in three we spent CFA 21.000. service slow because of how busy it gets at lunch time. here forget about clocks. uk time does not matter in benin.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had lunch here with two guests who were very happy with the nice and big sole they were served. But do stick to the fish, my own poulet yassa a senegalese recipee with chicken and onions was not edible at all. Others said before me, a nice place in the port area with indeed mainly a local clientèle. Good atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maquis du Port also viewed

Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 

Been to Maquis du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maquis du Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.