We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work off as many calories as you consume with the poulet bicyclette” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maquis du Port

Maquis du Port
Rue du Port, Cotonou, Benin
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Cotonou
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Work off as many calories as you consume with the poulet bicyclette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a popular little restaurant with nice, if industrial views of the port and the fisherman's market. It is steps away from the Azalai Hotel de la Plage. The plat du jour is usually very good and at the very least very fast. Probably the quickest dining experience in Cotonou. The poulet bicyclette (which is the same chicken you'll get with the poulet amiwo) is tough as shoe leather. Recommended if you're trying to lose weight, as it takes more energy to extract edible meat than you get from eating the meat, but not recommended if you want to maintain any kind of grace while eating. This is not knife and fork fare. That said, the Djiep Tien is great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    20
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Voorschoten
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Sole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This restaurant serves an excellent sole. We ate there on a Sunday and the place was full with mostly locals. Our "medium" sized sole was still big enough for lunch and was very tastely served. The service was more or less OK, since it was full and the waiters have to get the plates from the floor below the restaurant, it took some waiting. In all, a place to recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very busy restaurant with ok food and ac”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Taken by a local friend that knew how much i hate the extreme heat and humidity here. very very busy with local bank workers and national lottery people. advice is go to the second floor and avoid the first, too busy. i had menu du jour which was poulet and frites. now, chicken in benin is not like chicken in western europe. is skinnier and frankly quite on the starving side,reason why is called biciclette. it runs so much around that stays forcibly slim (get the beninese humour??). best thing i had were two jugs of pinapple juice. fantasticly tasty. in three we spent CFA 21.000. service slow because of how busy it gets at lunch time. here forget about clocks. uk time does not matter in benin.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had lunch here with two guests who were very happy with the nice and big sole they were served. But do stick to the fish, my own poulet yassa a senegalese recipee with chicken and onions was not edible at all. Others said before me, a nice place in the port area with indeed mainly a local clientèle. Good atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos Nigeria
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Marquis du Port was recommended by a taxi driver. Our limitation of the French language caused us to have to gesticulate a lot when trying to make an order to the non French speaking waiters. A fellow customer came by to assist us with translation and he proceeded to order on our behalf because we wanted to have what he was having and boy oh boy. The meal was fantastic. The salad with delicious tomatoes, a platter of finger foods and a bowl of basmati rice, with freshly grilled whole chicken for my group of four. We left a huge tip for the waiters and chef because the food was fantastic and the service was excellent. Marquis du Port is a few minutes from The Port and from the houses of parmilarment and airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maquis du Port also viewed

Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 

Been to Maquis du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maquis du Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.