We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance, though somewhat hot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pili Pili

Pili Pili
Carre 342 quartier Zongo, Cotonou, Benin
21 31 29 32
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 42 restaurants in Cotonou
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, though somewhat hot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pili pili is great for grilled meats and local dishes. The legume sauce is nice, and the grilled fresh fish is nice too. You probably burn as many calories trying to pry the meat from the Poulet Bicyclette, but that's a general comment rather than anything about Pili Pili in particular.

It can get rather hot under the thatched roof, but in the rain it is great. It is also fairly slow; an hour lunch will probably not be long enough. Good thing lunch hour in Benin is 2!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    7
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Binfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Just fabuolous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is the restaurant local middle class is visiting, so it is not a tourist trap at all. We read about this restaurant in our guide book and never realized this place was first on tripadvisor!!!

And this is very well deserved first place I must admit: friendly stuff, marvelous food (which is very authentic!). The only problem is they don't do large Yuki (but hey, the place is truly excellent).

Hint for others: It is closed 1-2 January, so we could not have our Benin farewell dinner there, and had to go to the other place which was way worse and pricier than Pili-Pili.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
1 review
“roast chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

the chicken taste nice!
the fitment is characteristic!
the price is not expensive!
i will come again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos Nigeria
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I heard so much about this place from friends. I couldnt wait to try it out. Good food and value for money.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The locals were right, it was our favourite meal in Cotonou”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were taken to other, posher restaurants but far preferred the atmosphere of Pili Pili and would have loved to go back. Very generous servings and staff were more than happy to pack 'doggy bags' for us.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pili Pili also viewed

Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 

Been to Pili Pili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pili Pili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.