We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fabuolous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pili Pili

Pili Pili
Carre 342 quartier Zongo, Cotonou, Benin
21 31 29 32
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 43 restaurants in Cotonou
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Binfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Just fabuolous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is the restaurant local middle class is visiting, so it is not a tourist trap at all. We read about this restaurant in our guide book and never realized this place was first on tripadvisor!!!

And this is very well deserved first place I must admit: friendly stuff, marvelous food (which is very authentic!). The only problem is they don't do large Yuki (but hey, the place is truly excellent).

Hint for others: It is closed 1-2 January, so we could not have our Benin farewell dinner there, and had to go to the other place which was way worse and pricier than Pili-Pili.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    7
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cotonou, Benin
1 review
“roast chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

the chicken taste nice!
the fitment is characteristic!
the price is not expensive!
i will come again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos Nigeria
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I heard so much about this place from friends. I couldnt wait to try it out. Good food and value for money.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The locals were right, it was our favourite meal in Cotonou”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were taken to other, posher restaurants but far preferred the atmosphere of Pili Pili and would have loved to go back. Very generous servings and staff were more than happy to pack 'doggy bags' for us.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Don't miss it if you like true Benin food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I go quite ofen to Cotonou having married a beninese girl. we live in london but here real west african food is not easy to find. we would have to travel to paris and therefore...we travel to benin! benin people and france are not a great match. scars are still too fresh. pili pili is one of the first place my new african family took me and i always goo back with joy. the food is great. the owner is a friend of my mother in law and we never wait too long. we even did one of our traditional wedding ceremonies there and all my relatives and friends like it a lot. try any fish and find what real seasoning means!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pili Pili also viewed

Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 

Been to Pili Pili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pili Pili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.