We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Maman Benin

Chez Maman Benin
Rue 201A, Zongo, Cotonou, Benin
21 32 33 38
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 45 Restaurants in Cotonou
Restaurant details
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went yesterday with wife and mother in law, both beninise. i always trust them, they never mess around with food.

there is a large sort of hot buffet section where you choose your food before seating down. no ac but large ceiling fans which makes it slightly more bearable. heat and humidity here are not to be taken lightly.

i had rabbit and jollof rice. my family fish and rice.

all good, good portions and nice service. for some reason me being white makes it all easier. unfortunately the colonisation damages can still be felt in west africa.

i'm not sure i will go back but i might. we spent CFA 10.000, £12.00.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Not a very cosy restaurant, food was fine but not exceptional. Maybe a little strange for western tastes (eg. fish and cowskin in a stew). Staff not very helpful, and confusion about whether or not we could sit upstairs. There are much better local restaurants

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Amazing sized portions and well presented, in a self service type environment.
The fish that is produced here was delicious and all menus were local foods, so were spicy but delicious.
I would definitely go back here again for the fried fish..... Awesome!!! I had the jollof rice and fish. Superbly presented and enough for two people.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean & lots of choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We ate here twice- highly recommend it. Clean, nice staff, lots of choice- very tasty food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“chez mama benin - tres bien”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Chez Mama Benin is a great place to get good local food in Cotonou. I enjoyed my meal tremendously, although the portions were simply HUGE. Even the beers were HUGE! Which is good and bad as I couldn't possibly eat it all. Delightful salad with fresh avocado, tomato, beans, carrots and potato . . . and so reasonably priced. Highly suggest trying it out if you are in the neighborhood.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Maman Benin also viewed

Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 

Been to Chez Maman Benin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Maman Benin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.