We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view, decent pizza” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HOTEL DU LAC

HOTEL DU LAC
aKpakpa dodomeh, Cotonou BP 184, Benin
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 43 Restaurants in Cotonou
Restaurant details
Porto-Novo, Benin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good view, decent pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place is ideal if you're trying to get an expensive drink and the best view of the Cotonou skyline right on the water. Their food is pricey but westernized if you need a taste of home, with decent pizza. Good place to have a coffee and get some work done with their wifi.

I highly recommend avoiding the fish their. After living in West Africa for months and trying everything put in front of my without any problems, I got intense food poisoning from their fish and I learned my colleague did as well just a few days prior.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Banjul, Gambia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very ordinary Hotel. Nice Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very ordinary rooms, otherwise nice view from the deck next to the river with a wonderful view of the Ancient pont and the train crossing. The food at the restaurant was quite good. Service generally slow or lethargic. The long you stay the better it gets, if you tip well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Location is great, out door screen for football, good food (western and lebanese), halal food - something of a rarity in Cotonou. Shisha by the lake is lovely! a little expensive. Passable coffee - only one I have found in Cotonou

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Its ok... But not up to expectations and price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We went for a buffet here. That was no success. The food choices were limited and not of very high quality. The best was the sharwarma, which tastes ok, but meat quality could be a lot higher. Seafood was horrible. The service is a bit slow, but very friendly.

We will come back for a la carte and post a review afterwards - there are limited options in cotonou, so we are ok to give this a try (no apparent health risks, which we appreciate!)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Poor food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I had a couple of meals here. Both were poor going on mediocre, and definitely not worth the cost or the time to wait for the meal.
The chicken and chips I had was totally dry, and the hotel du lac sandwich I had on an earlier occassion was tinned pureed sardine with some boiled egg and all looked a mess with dressing and lettuce in a french baguette. I was part of a work conference and we all ate out in local restaurants after that.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HOTEL DU LAC also viewed

Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 

Been to HOTEL DU LAC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOTEL DU LAC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.