We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than Exspected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maruba Resort Jungle Spa to your Saves list
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 1/2 Mile Old Northern Highway | 10 Miles North of Altun Ha Maya Ruins, Maskall, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More Than Exspected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff went above and beyond anything we expected. The food was amazing. The setting was perfect. They did everything to make us feel like it was just for us. Our room was perfect and very comfortable.
While we were at Maruba we were married at the ruins. Melanie helped us plan everything. We told her what our vision was, and she made it happen. They found someone to help with her hair. Decorated our room for us while we were out.
We would highly recommend the resort to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    44
    18
    15
    14
See reviews for
29
128
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
okc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you are considering staying at the Maruba resort...GO PACK YOUR BAGS! We have traveled to many countries but this was our first time in Belize. We had such an amazing trip and it was highlighted by our stay at the Maruba Spa. We will be back and this time hope to stay longer than our 4 days!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

et me put it this way, if you like 90s decor, black lights, incense, and bugs being zapped during dinner... this place is for you!

Actually, our driver from one of the Francis Ford Coppola resorts, dropped us off... laughed, and said, "good luck here"

Main complaints:

1.) The owner was rude
2.) Our room flooded, they had to move us to a room where the ceiling leaked.
3.) The kitchen had a fire and then closed down because of the flooding. ( you'd think in the rainforest, they would have better drainage system.
4.) The local Belizean staff was nice, but, you will see a guy with a shot gun walking around ( for panthers they say - which jungle folk never see) and the cleaning crew are the same people who give you a massage.
5.) tried to get away and do a day trip from the resort, but, they only had one vehicle there. They asked if we had a car.
6.) DIRTY/grimy.
7.) Left a day early from Maruba, and were so happy. The place we stayed in Caye Caulker ( Island Deams, I think?) was casual perfection.

LOVED Belize, just not Maruba "Resort"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merickston, Owner at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
One experience of the beginning of Rainy Season and in May 2012 our area of Belize was hit with 50+ inches of rain in 1 month, several nights with 5-6 inches rain and one night with 13 inches rain. The culvert that passed under the Old Northern Highway collapsed and the resort flooded. Within days the resort contracted an excavator and dug a large lateral drain along the highway and shortly there after the Government of Belize tore the road open and installed larger drains.

We gave guest the option to checkout but only one couple checked out and this is them and a single man who plans to come back with his love. Maruba still ran tours and checked with guest to find out what they would like to do everyday so activities could be arranged. In this case the this guest request was made late morning after the tours went out and everything was booked out. It is best to contact the resort prior to arrival to schedule activities and take advantage of early booking special.

On another note is against the Belize Tourism Board code of ethics for licensed tourism professionals to make such remarks.


Merickston Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the signature suite. We loved our room and the privacy it afforded. It was a treat to be handed a complimentary rum punch when we arrived. We loved the layout, the pools and all the private places that you could hang out. We also took advantage of their trips to lamanai and cave tubbing. We enjoyed professional messages together out last day. Very friendly staff and owners, willing to go the extra mile for you.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the signature suite. It's very roomy and had a jacuzzi in it. It was a treat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 days here a few weeks ago and from the. Moment we arrived we knew we were in for something special The moment we were greeted with complementary rum punch served in real coconuts with freshly squeezed juices and Caribbean rum; the setting was beautiful, 18 different units spread out throughout the grounds of a 1000 acre jungle. We've had complementary massage services, including the infamous mood mud therapy; they are three pools with one being a thermal pool and various outdoor seating areas, dining spots, a hookah lounge, Spas & outdoor Roman tubs, a meditation room and even an outdoor chess set! We were treated to an hour-long nature walk with a local Mayan guide- there were also numerous excursions made available from horseback riding snorkeling tours to a. nearby island & zip line canopy tours. Melinda and Nicky were unbelievably helpful along with all of the other staff from those in the spa to those in the restaurants and all other service personnel, never have we felt so cared for by any other resort we have stayed at. Take the time and go to Marumba Resort, you'll never regret it... I can't wait to go back there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Belize in December 2012. Maruba was our first stop and we loved every moment. The staff was very friendly and very accomodating. The rum punch is awesome! The pools are lovely. We stayed in a signature suite (worth the extra money) and it was absolutely beautiful. I was worried about insects, but there were practically none while we were there. Our room was screened, there was A/C and they lit incense every evening to keep the bugs away. We took the riverboat tour to Lamanai and it was the highlight of our entire holiday. The aromatherapy massage with Kimberly was glorious! The mood mud massage was not our cup of tea...it was cold and uncomfortable. The food was delicious but you need to budget for high cost meals. (I found it this way at every resort in Belize). We loved breakfast in the treehouse! The resort is small, so you get to know many of the other patrons (especially if you do the tours). This resort is not for people who want to go clubbing or stay up all night partying. We had a wonderful time there and when our 3 days were up, we wished we had booked 6 instead. Would recommend this place to anyone who can be away from technology and soak up the culture for a few days.

Room Tip: Go for the signature suite. It's worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

For what this place is, it's great. It is about 45 minutes down a half dirt road into the Belizean jungle. This place offered a unique jungle resort feel and offered some of the best tours. Good customer service. Make sure you are on "Belize time" and take it easy. Thats what this place is all about--but still prompt with anything that is scheduled like tours. We took a couple tours with Delwin and he was great, very knowledgable and personable. I would suggest cave tubing with him and Atun Ha with Emilcar. Janeel was also accommodating and knowledgable. Since this resort is away from anything else, you will eat all of your meals at the same place unless you are on tours. The menu was good and had multiple specials everyday so nothing repetitive, including at least one vegetarian special everyday. FYI - This resort also had a few armed guards that patrol the grounds. Thanks for a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maruba Resort Jungle Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Address: 40 1/2 Mile Old Northern Highway | 10 Miles North of Altun Ha Maya Ruins, Maskall, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Maskall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maruba Resort Jungle Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare yourself for the ultimate experience in adventure & relaxation at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, Belize. A short two-hour flight from Houston or Miami transports you to a place where you can fully immerse yourself in nature and truly relax. Maruba offers a great vacation escape in casual elegance.Voted the Best Boutique Spa by Spa Finder Readers’ Choice Award, and One of the Top 10 Spas in the Caribbean & Central Americas by Maco Destination Caribbean & Central America Magazine, the resort’s neo-primitive style with a touch of jungle urban flair makes it an eclectic and hip place to stay while indulging in everything a modern spa has to offer. Its restaurant boasts a nouveau jungle cuisine, best described as a fusion of “east of Paris meets the Caribbean”. Your room will be one-of-a-kind and features rich hues and textures, vaulted hardwood ceilings, mosaic tile floors, exotic fabric and beautiful carving made by local artisians. Signature bungalows offer 900 square feet of private space with an indoor lounge room, indulgent hot tubs, and incredible jungle views.Maruba is one of the first spas in Central America and offers a variety of exotic treatments which revitalize, detoxify, and reestablish the skin’s natural pH balance while leaving your skin feeling silky smooth. A must-try treatment is Maruba’s Mood Mud Massage – take your camera along for pictures! For those seeking adventure, several day tours available, such as exploring Maya Ruins, the rainforest and caves ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Maruba Resort Jungle Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruba Resort Jungle Hotel Maskall
Maruba Hotel Jungle
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa Belize/Maskall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.