We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year, New Life Together” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Save Saved
You added Maruba Resort Jungle Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 1/2 Mile Old Northern Highway | 10 Miles North of Altun Ha Maya Ruins, Maskall, Belize   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Maskall
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“New Year, New Life Together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent New Year’s & consequently, also our honeymoon at Maruba Resort & it was a nice relaxing way to celebrate lots of new beginnings. Unlike the other reviewer who also enjoyed their honeymoon at this resort, we had no celebratory champagne waiting in our room but we had brought our own wine so it was no big deal. Tons of coconut trees all over & lush hibiscus stationed everywhere the head turns, from your room, bathroom, adorning all kinds of rails & plants outside. It’s even in all the drinks & food…we truly found this to be a jungle paradise. We took advantage of their Mood Mud Massage & let’s just say Kimberly rocks – we were given a great slathering of mud & a gentle rub & the pics were hysterical – be sure to bring your camera. We also indulged in the Sugar Scrub & wow! Maricela scrubbed me within about 1 inch of my life – it was so awesome! My skin has never felt so smooth & soft – I’m telling you, Napa Spas could take note here!

As far as tours, we did Lamanai & Altun Ha – you can climb the pyramids & the history was fun – medicinal plants are pointed out to us all along the way & their uses were extremely interesting. You’ll also want to be sure to take advantage of Cave Tubing & Zip Lining. Zip Lining = fun ride along the canopy; Cave Tubing = gentle floating in mostly shin-deep water. Poor Dellwyn (our tour guide) had to basically walk our inner tubes through the entirety of the “river” since water levels were so low & there was zero current but it was cool to be inside the cave & see the lights from the other tours also taking a tubing experience. Only “tour” that we’d recommend passing on is a ride to Boomba. We specifically asked to go there to get some souvenirs - $45 USD – as you’re in a remote location & at least 1 hr from the nearest town, gifts for loved ones are going to be impossible to find. There were people selling wood carvings in Boomba & while they came recommended, we found the quality & selection to be much, much better at Altun Ha

Rooms were large (we had a Junior Suite) & each had their own A/C unit & while it was not overly hot when we were there, it was nice to come into a nice cool room. Super quiet & we had people in rooms all around us, plus our room was the closest to the parking lot. Bathrooms were incredible & there was a ton of hot water (which we’re not used to when traveling to tropical destinations – so extra bonus!) Our room was mildewy the 1st night – there’s A LOT of humidity – but after reluctantly mentioning something – as we didn’t want to cause any trouble, they proactively lit incense each night as we were at dinner so there was a nice pleasant fragrance each night as we went back to our rooms. Beds were really comfy, pillows were nice & fluffy. And for the entire 6 nights we were there, I think we saw maybe 3 mosquitos in the room – awesome job at keeping bug control at a maximum! No other critters in our room & we were prepared for just about everything – frogs, tarantulas, snakes – anything’s possible when you’re in the “elements” so we counted ourselves extra lucky

Speaking of though, be sure to wear your repellant b/c they’re definitely out there & we each got a handful of bites even w/ protection

Keeping to the animal theme, their cute little Dachshund Maya was the sweetest adorable little lovebug that ever walked! She made sure to come around & give each person lovings so no one would feel left out & she especially appreciated belly rubs & ear scratches. She could have been her own “Adorable Spa” therapy!

Now, onto the food…….portions are HUGE. We never had the need for lunch since breakfast & dinners were so large & it got to the point during dinner that we couldn’t even do their entire 3-course menu. Thanks so much for taking care of our veggie needs & each night the chef would come up w/ a delight but also making sure we knew if we didn’t like the offering, they were willing to make us whatever we wanted (providing they had the ingredients). We enjoyed Eggplant Napoleon, Chana Masala, Black Bean Pesto Pasta & a few varieties of Stir-fried Veggies – all were winners! Desserts were likewise super-delish & we tried the Chocolate Mouse, the Key Lime Pie & the Coconut Tart (which is a secret menu item!) Again, everything was homemade, fresh & just fantastic. Drinks were large & generous & when people tell you to be wary of the Rum Punch, they mean it. That thing is lethal (in a good way) We had 1 every night we were there & 1 was all we could handle

Specifically for New Year’s Eve, they made the resort very festive – there were confetti, streamers, balloons. party hats & horns all over the dining area & they even provided a local band to help ring in the New Year – it was an extra special touch that made for an extra special holiday!

Only recommendation for improvement would be to have a set schedule for your tours. We found ourselves not knowing when certain tours were happening & when we’d ask, we were told something like “Maybe Tomorrow” or at the last minute they’d schedule something & we didn’t know if it would be offered again so felt pressure to take it right then. Of course we got to see & do everything we set out to accomplish but it just would have been nice to know a bit ahead of time what was happening when

Room Tip: Junior Suites are large & comfortable - we had Room #4 & were pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    42
    17
    15
    12
See reviews for
29
118
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had visited this isolated jungle hotel/spa on a day trip from San Pedro 10 years ago and swore we would return. An on-line special just made this possible for my wife and I, and our daughter and grandaughter. I must admit that we probably wouldn't have booked a three-night stay for four at the regular price. Many of the other guests we on coupon specials also - maybe a sign that the resort has lost a little of it's exclusivity as it gracefully ages. After five days/nights of activites in San Pedro, the laid-back nature of Maruba Resort was just right for us. Our suite was comfortable, cool and well appointed. The cottages, pools, dining areas and spa are spread out and connected by beautiful pathways through the natural jungle setting. Every day the pathways, rooms, pools are decorated with fresh Hibiscus blooms, palm fronds and jungle foliage - one aspect of the overal level of care and service we experienced throughout our stay. Our one excursion was an all-day Cave Tube/Zipline/lunch package arranged by the resort. An overnight rainstorm had flooded the cave but the staff made a quick adjustment and got us to a nearby (and excellent) optional location. The resort drivers even went with us on both adventures - great and friendly service. The women in our group all enjoyed several massage sessions, the beautiful and private pools and even a few sessions in the Hooka Hut! The food was just varied enough to provide a nice dining experience. One warning - don't expect fast food service. The liesurely pace is intended. Just relax, you're in Belize after all. Responsible for most of this is one of the best hotel managers you will ever meet - Melanie was efficient, caring and extremely personable. She checked with us several times every day and was always available when we needed help or advice. I want to hire her to work for me!

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar, variation is mostly by size/price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We had punched 'included' in our trip to the Mayan Ruins and maruba resort was where it was scheduled. The grounds we beautiful and the pools looked great, but we only had lunch.

It was more than awful. We waited half an hour to get drinks and then another hour to get our food. The waitress was clueless and she only informed one of the people at our table that they didn't have ingredients for her meal ONLY WHEN SHE BROUGHT OUR food.... You couldn't have told us a while before so you could make something else? By that time we were starving and the food wasnt worth the weight. It was horrible. The hotel may be nice but I would not recommend the restaurant!

There isn't much else in the area so I would think twice about your hunting skills if you want to eat while at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is probably the worst experience we have EVER had when traveling – and trust me – we have travelled a lot. Today we drove all the way from Palenque in Mexico to Belize (8 hours inc border). A wonderful drive normally – but we rushed to get in time for the supposedly fantastic hotel – Maruba – where we had a booking for two suites at quite a cost. The rooms had been booked and paid for long time ago and we were thrilled about staying there. In early afternoon we attempted to call the hotel to check on the main road to it, as the road apparently is one of the worst in Belize. No reply on any of the numbers – we tried to call at least 10 times throughout the afternoon. But as we already had paid and that Lonely Planet said this to be one of the top attractions as well as premier hotels in Belize we didn’t think too much about it…

Just leaving the main road for Maruba it was getting dark and after driving the extremely bad road to the hotel it was soon pitch black. After an hour on the broken gravel/asphalt road we were sooo happy to finally see the hotel sign and the main gate. This was around 6.30 pm.However, this soon changed into horror when realizing that the main gate was locked with an old padlock and a hatch. We tried to open the gate and look for a doorbell – without success. Unfortunately we could not call again because there was no reception on any of our phones (but tried again later with no response). After a long discussion on what to do – trying not to panic about the fact that it is pitch black and that we are in the middle of the jungle – surrounded by crime and NO other hotels in the near distance… we decided to leave and search for somewhere else to stay. Now that is NOT an easy task in Belize after dark. Three hours later we have finally gotten in to a hotel and want to warn other travelers. We still do not know what have happened – has the hotel shut down or have they taken a holiday?!??! No info by the main gate, on their website or on the various answering machines. DO NOT GO THERE UNLESS YOU HAVE CONFIRMED THE BOOKING BY THEM PERSONALLY! We do not wish this happen to anyone – not even our worst enemy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merickston, Owner at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
It was unfortunate they could not get into Maruba after dark. The Resort locks the gate but a simple honk of the horn and a couple of minutes will get you in. We agree you should contact the resort prior to arrival to comfirm your reservation especially when using expedia, hotels.com or some other internet booking engine. We'd confirm you booking, help with tips getting to the resort, planning excursions or that special occassion. The information for the resort listed on tripadvisor is correct and if this visitor would have made an atempt to contact the resort her experence would have been different.

The resorts phones and e-mail work and we respond but when trying to get through from Mexico is another thing.

Just because your confirmation from an online booking system says you do not need to contact resort, one should. It's happened to me.

Merickston Nicholson
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

When we walked out of the airport there was a gentleman with a sign saying "Maurba" so we hopped in and we were on our way. On the hour and a half ride to the hotel the gentleman answered all our questions about the country. It was dark when we arrived so we wouldnt get the full experience until morn. none-the-less we were greeted by Melanie and escorted to our room. It was very nice with a TV, King sz bed, and a good sz bathroom with a shower and tub. We got the groupon so it exceeded my expectation of the room. It was probably one of the smaller rooms on the property, but very nice. \
In the morning we woke up to see what a great place we were in it is on beutiful property, the excursions and tours along with the guides are GREAT! Or just staying on property is perfect. Mineral spa, 2 nice non chlorinated pools are so refreshing. Massages are out of this world and so relaxing. Food is very good for what they are working with. Maskall is far from much and doesnt have much in the way of stores. Fish is fresh, steak was excellent, breakfast is very good.

We left and went to San Pedro and missed it so much we cut our stay short to stay 2 more nights in Maruba. It was our honeymoon and they upgraded us to what had to be the nicest room in the place. HUGE downstairs, all windows great room. It probably is $4-500 a night and it would be worth it. there is a pool outside and has its own balcony.

Again this is a great place, atmosphere is so relaxed. It is a great place to go my family and I plan to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, they all have something great about them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I bought a Groupon deal with airport transfer, massages and breakfast included with a four night stay. I've been to twelve countries, seven of them tropical, and this might just be my favorite vacation abroad. You have to keep in mind that this is NOT America and things are done a little differently sometimes, but all in all, I was impressed wholly with the service, food, property and activities. (Especially after an experience in Mexico at a place that billed itself similarly and had no lights after 7 pm ever or air conditioning...and cockroaches in the beds!)

We were picked up at the airport promptly and only had to wait a little bit before we set off for the resort. Our driver was nice and talkative and pointed out a lot of things on the way. When we arrived at the property, it was gorgeous. Extremely well kept, in the heart of the jungle and just sun glinting off everything. Two amazing pools, a large mineral bath, hookah patio, weight room, lounge beds everywhere...just a true paradise.

The resort prides itself on its beautiful red hibiscus flowers and they are everywhere- it's gorgeous. Stuck in trees, by the pools, in every food dish and drink...and every day, housekeeping cleans your room and decorates it with at least 15 fresh hibiscus flowers all over the room. It's touches like this that really stood out. And, no cockroaches in the bed! In fact, over a five day span, I only saw two bugs in the entire room. And while I am scared of bugs, I'm also realistic- it's a freakin' jungle. There's gonna be bugs. However, they also have bug zappers all over the place to keep them under control and while I was certainly bitten up, it was no more than I would have been in the U.S. during the heart of the summer, and I never felt sick.

We weren't expecting much from cuisine, but the food was amazing and extremely reasonably priced. Everything was made with local, fresh ingredients. I couldn't get enough of the fresh hummus, and over the course of the stay we had the following dishes:

-Beef Carbonade
-Lemon breaded Conch
-Grilled fish
-Filet Mignon
-Lobster
-Fresh Tomato Soup
-Glazed Pork Chop
-Fish Empanadas

And that was just dinner! I don't know what the other reviewer was saying with getting bored with the menu. Yes, it is a set menu that changes every other day, but every day there is also a chef's special appetizer, a chef's special entree and a catch of the day...so we really found it hard to get bored. Breakfast was pretty standard American fare but again absolutely delicious and fresh...pancakes, french toast, eggs...and they never charged for extras. I would ask for a side of eggs sometimes, fully prepared to pay, and it never showed up on the bill. The fruit plate was really good- all fresh fruits with homemade peach yogurt. So amazing.

The drinks...ahh, the drinks, both alcoholic and non, were fabulous. Every morning was fresh juice from pineapple or papaya, blended with ice into frothy amazingness, topped with- of course- a red hibiscus (which are actually edibile and good for you!) The alcoholic rum punch, as another reviewer mentioned, is literally only $2.50, served in a coconut cup in a good portion and is delicious. They make you one right on arrival! The local beer, Belikin, is also good, as was the hibiscus daiquiri. We didn't pay more than $6 for any drink, and most were $2-$3.

The tours...we found them to be worth every penny. We did horseback riding through the jungle and our guide, Lionel, was very knowledgable about the jungle plants. He showed us the books he was reading to self-educate. The best part, though, was that he let us canter with the horses- every riding tour I have ever done in America makes you slowly walk. He let us run, run, run in the open fields with them- exhilirating.

The cave tubing was also fun- our guide, Delwin, was calm, cool and again, knowledgeable, and let us stop to take pictures even while tubing, helping us climb onto cliffs and answering our questions. The resort had packed lunch that day for us to eat after we were done, complete with the red hibiscuses, and it was a curry chicken on homemade bread with banana bread and beer. Really a great day. And when you think about the price of the tour (this one was $85), it included transportation to and from the cave (round trip about 4 hours), the cave tubing, the equipment rental, lunch, all-you-can-drink and the guide. I thought it was well worth it. Hint- take an underwater camera! There was also zip lining available as an option.

The best tour, though, was the snorkeling. They take you the this little village, Bamba, and after you get on a boat to travel to the snorkeling spots, they stop and let you take pictures of crocodiles and answer all your questions. I've snorkeled Australia and Mexico, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Barbados...and this may have topped them all. Delwin took us on a guided tour through the reef and then to a new shallow spot where we got out and snorkled in the open ocean with sting rays and sharks! It was phenomenal and you definitely need an underwater camera!

The spa was actually the first on the island, and we had two treatments each- a 30 minute aromatherapy massage and the famous hour-long Mood Mud treatment. Both were professionally and expertly done, and I highly recommend them. Prices were akin to American prices, perhaps a bit cheaper ($90 for the mud massage- that's at least $120 here.)

The entire staff was nothing but courteous, professional and helpful for your every need. Anything you needed, they took care of immediately and with a smile. The owners were the same way. And their little dog, Maya, just runs around the place being adorable. I really cannot say enough about this place, and I can be very hard to please!

All in all, in terms of cost, we also felt it worth the value. Our flights total were $984 round-trip. Our Groupon for the stay/half hour massages/breakfasts/airport transfer was around $500, and we spent an additional $1200 on meals, drinks, tours and other. So per person, for what I honestly consider a dream vacation, we spent total about $1350 per person, which is a pretty amazing deal when you think about it.

Go to Maruba- your stress will melt away and you will be so happy you saw beautiful Belize in luxury!

Room Tip: We had room 7- very eclectic-ly decorated and minimal bugs. It was on the second floor which we lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It's a nice resort. For a non-first world country Belize I would rate it a 9 out of 10. Compared to what is a "top resort" in the United States, it would only rank a 7.

Their tours are a mixed bag. On the one hand, they've done an excellent job vetting their tour operators which enables you to do and see many interesting things safely. However, they don't offer all tours unless they have minimums sign up, and that's not stated on their website or their tour menu. The resort is run by a family and the owner charged us more to go on a tour with only two people than it would normally be with a larger group, that is not how a luxury resort should operate.

The food is very good. However, the kitchen does not offer all items on the menu, the chef didn't want to make a special bread that's featured on the breakfast menu for example, so it just wasn't available. They do not offer coffee before they start serving breakfast and that is an easy fix that they need to make, a luxury resort should not withhold coffee like that in the mornings. Also the menu was unchanged for all four days and by the end of the trip, you were bored of the offerings. It wouldn't be difficult for them to change the menu up more during the week, there isn't any other place to eat and it would be nice if they offered more variety of local foods for each meal.

The rooms are nice and were kept well-cleaned. Mosquitos are a serious problem in this area (as is malaria per the CDC's website) and they've done well to keep mosquitos to a minimum in their rooms.

The property itself is well tended and the maintenance staff is friendly.

When we arrived the bus was 90 minutes late to pick us up, that was not okay. I had to call twice (at $20 / minute) to ask what was going on. When we got to the resort the manager/owner tried to defend that by saying that the website indicates there's a free phone in the airport. Well, I didn't have access to their website while I was sitting around on the curb at the airport, and the airport employees all claimed there was no such phone. I was very surprised that the manager tried to defend that situation instead of just apologizing for leaving us waiting.

Then when it was time to return to the airport we were forced to leave four hours earlier than when we needed to be there, because the resort only wanted to make one trip that morning and another couple had an earlier flight. The manager offered to have the driver tour us around Belize City for our inconvenience but only for an additional charge ~ that should have been offered to us for free.

It's these little details that these resort owners don't seem to understand are the difference between operating as a mid-level property, instead of a luxury resort.

Finally, it bothered me hugely to see that these owners have one very well fed pampered house dog running around freely, and then they own another emaciated dog they keep tied up on a 4' piece of rope to a tree. When I say "emaciated," I mean pelvic bones were showing and the dog could be on an ad for animal abuse, he's obviously not eating every day, or getting off that rope, or getting petted or treated for medical conditions, he's basically condemned to horrible existance right in the owner's front yard. This emaciated dog got loose one evening and came up to me to be petted, I found that he was covered in ticks and shied away when I reached out like he has been physically abused and not just starved. Belize may be filled with starving, neglected dogs but there is no excuse for these resort owners to keep their own dogs like that. They really should be ashamed of what they're doing to that animal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maruba Resort Jungle Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Also Known As:
Maruba Resort Jungle Hotel
Maruba Resort Jungle Hotel Maskall
Maruba Hotel Jungle
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa Belize/Maskall
Address: 40 1/2 Mile Old Northern Highway | 10 Miles North of Altun Ha Maya Ruins, Maskall, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize District > Maskall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Maskall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maruba Resort Jungle Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare yourself for the ultimate experience in adventure & relaxation at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, Belize. A short two-hour flight from Houston or Miami transports you to a place where you can fully immerse yourself in nature and truly relax. Maruba offers a great vacation escape in casual elegance.Voted the Best Boutique Spa by Spa Finder Readers’ Choice Award, and One of the Top 10 Spas in the Caribbean & Central Americas by Maco Destination Caribbean & Central America Magazine, the resort’s neo-primitive style with a touch of jungle urban flair makes it an eclectic and hip place to stay while indulging in everything a modern spa has to offer. Its restaurant boasts a nouveau jungle cuisine, best described as a fusion of “east of Paris meets the Caribbean”. Your room will be one-of-a-kind and features rich hues and textures, vaulted hardwood ceilings, mosaic tile floors, exotic fabric and beautiful carving made by local artisians. Signature bungalows offer 900 square feet of private space with an indoor lounge room, indulgent hot tubs, and incredible jungle views.Maruba is one of the first spas in Central America and offers a variety of exotic treatments which revitalize, detoxify, and reestablish the skin’s natural pH balance while leaving your skin feeling silky smooth. A must-try treatment is Maruba’s Mood Mud Massage – take your camera along for pictures! For those seeking adventure, several day tours available, such as exploring Maya Ruins, the rainforest and caves ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Maruba Resort Jungle Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.