We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced horse ranch.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maruba Resort Jungle Spa to your Saves list
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 1/2 Mile Old Northern Highway | 10 Miles North of Altun Ha Maya Ruins, Maskall, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced horse ranch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

This "resort" left a lot to be desired. So IF you want to see a Mayan pyramid, camp here for the night- otherwise be prepared for an isolated stay in the middle of nowhere. Rooms were ok, porcelain toilets, and running water with air conditioning provided minimum comfort levels, but the restaurant menu didn't pull it's own weight. And remember, in the middle of nowhere there is no competition. Little variety, an over priced.

Excursions offered the only escape from sitting around the pool or reading a book in the lounge. We paid $90 USD for one person to tube down a river, ouch! Ziplining was fun and a good price though. Horseback riding was dull, and I wondered about the horses care...

Staff were fifty fifty. Most of them were great, but one host was creepy. Masseuses are well trained and proficient professionals.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    44
    18
    15
    14
See reviews for
29
128
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The location is north in Belize about 1+ hours from the airport. The airport is in Belize city.
The resort is very nicely kept. The accomodations are very eclectic and artistic but tasteful. There are 2 small pools + mineral bath. The spa is really nice especially the mud massage...I enjoyed it...very rejuvenating and relaxing...also great picture opportunity. The tours offered were very professional.
The owners had kids and were very understanding...we brought our 10mo old baby and very happy that they were understanding and recommended a babysitter for our spa treatment. We interviewed Gloria to help us babysit and she is a gem! Fantastic with small babies.
Owners took the time to make effort to make it an enjoyable and memorable stay. They made arrangements for us to take a quick trip into the city before our flight. Great staff! My family enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is not a review of the facility yet, I have not even made it there. My complaint is that it took six days of calling multiple times a day, leaving three voicemails, and two customer service complaints to Groupon to be able to even get anyone to book my stay which led to me delaying booking my flight, which led to a $75 increase in ticket costs. The point of this is it is supposed to be a bargain and I am leery before I even travel...they finally answered the phone on the last day the deal was good for. Hope the service at the actual resort is more efficient

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I can't say enough about this place. I went with a good friend, and we stayed for four nights. We didn't know exactly what to expect - we checked out photos of the place, but it was pretty much a blind leap of faith that we would like it and have fun. We weren't disappointed. Maruba is remote, off the beaten path, and gorgeous. It sits on a HUGE property, and it's remarkably self-sufficient: they grow a lot of their own veggies and fruit, they bake their own bread, purify their own water, make their own soap, etc. The food was delicious, made fresh, and the drinks were strong (try the rum punch and don't leave without trying viper venom.) All our day trips were amazing, and all details were taken care of by the staff - transport, meals, etc. My spa treatment was relaxing - a body scrub rubdown and massage, followed by mud and hibiscus leaves and a warm rinse-off. Yes, it was hot and humid, and yes, there are plenty of bugs. It's Belize, after all, and we went at the end of August. But everything within Maruba's realm was top-notch. Melanie and Nicky make you feel like one of the family, and you'll leave wishing you had more time there. I'd go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I cannot wait to go back. The rooms the service and the food was the best. Loved the atmosphere and just loved the open restaurant area. Thanks for a great stay in Belize. I loved the whole feel of being in the jungle at a resort.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Maruba was the best! The owners make you feel right at home. Didn't get to see any Toucans, but they were in the area!! Maybe next time!! My description of the resort can be described as Exotic, Comfortable, Peaceful, Relaxing! The Mood Mud Massage was like none other...highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have had the pleasure of visiting Maruba resort twice now. The resort is beautiful in it's natural setting. Melanie and Nicky are wonderful. They always make you feel right at home. I can't say enough about the mud massage. It was wonderful! I would recommend this experience again and again. It would be especially wonderful for a honeymoon :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maruba Resort Jungle Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Address: 40 1/2 Mile Old Northern Highway | 10 Miles North of Altun Ha Maya Ruins, Maskall, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Maskall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maruba Resort Jungle Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare yourself for the ultimate experience in adventure & relaxation at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, Belize. A short two-hour flight from Houston or Miami transports you to a place where you can fully immerse yourself in nature and truly relax. Maruba offers a great vacation escape in casual elegance.Voted the Best Boutique Spa by Spa Finder Readers’ Choice Award, and One of the Top 10 Spas in the Caribbean & Central Americas by Maco Destination Caribbean & Central America Magazine, the resort’s neo-primitive style with a touch of jungle urban flair makes it an eclectic and hip place to stay while indulging in everything a modern spa has to offer. Its restaurant boasts a nouveau jungle cuisine, best described as a fusion of “east of Paris meets the Caribbean”. Your room will be one-of-a-kind and features rich hues and textures, vaulted hardwood ceilings, mosaic tile floors, exotic fabric and beautiful carving made by local artisians. Signature bungalows offer 900 square feet of private space with an indoor lounge room, indulgent hot tubs, and incredible jungle views.Maruba is one of the first spas in Central America and offers a variety of exotic treatments which revitalize, detoxify, and reestablish the skin’s natural pH balance while leaving your skin feeling silky smooth. A must-try treatment is Maruba’s Mood Mud Massage – take your camera along for pictures! For those seeking adventure, several day tours available, such as exploring Maya Ruins, the rainforest and caves ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Maruba Resort Jungle Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruba Resort Jungle Hotel Maskall
Maruba Hotel Jungle
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa Belize/Maskall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.