We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheney House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cheney House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Cheney House Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   82 Highland Street, Ashland, NH 03217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ashland B&B and Inns
Vermont
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We needed a place to stay in the Plymouth, NH area on short notice. Anthony and Bobbi were able to accommodate us and were we ever surprised. Located in Ashland, NH the Cheney House is a charming and well appointed B&B. Breakfast was awesome. The sweet breads were to die for! Slept like a baby in our room. Wi-Fi, jet tub, reading room, interior decorations were superb. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holden, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Very nice accommodations, clean and well maintained. Fantastic breakfasts. Bobbi and Anthony are very warm and friendly, and gave us great suggestions about tourist sites. They were genuinely interested in our stay and our daily adventures. We stayed there five days after Labor Day and had a lot of fun getting to know them. Ashland is conveniently located near a lot of attractions in the Squam Lake area and is right off Rte. 93.

We have been to a lot of B&B's and this is one of the nicest. We will definitely go back.
Connie&Sam

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here while attending the Highland games in nearby Loon mountain. Very nice B&B in a pleasant village.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover , CT.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

This was our second stay at The Cheney House B&B but not our last !
Innkeepers Bobbi & Anthony were just as we remembered from our last visit 3 yrs. ago---
warm, inviting and genuine good people.
We stayed in the Blue Room,one of four lovely rooms on the second floor with it's own bath.
The room is bright and sunny in the morning, the furnishings are beautiful---the bed & bedding very comfortable ---all in all---simple elegance.
Breakfast was always something to look forward to and a warm start to the cool October days---with friendly guest and great hosts---it doesn't get any better than that.
Great location to branch out from without the lake area crowds.
Relax & enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We were return guests to the Cheney House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Anthony and Bobbi take immaculate care of their property and are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

The owners of the Cheney House, Bobbi and Anthony, make you feel like family. From our arrival until our departure, we were treated like guests at a family member's home. While not luxurious, the rooms are comfortable. The mattresses are amazingly comfortable, so you are guaranteed a good night sleep. If you like the personal attention of a small bed and breakfast, I highly recommend staying at Cheney House.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

The room, bathroom, and other rooms available to guests are clean and well-appointed. I'm fussy about bathrooms--the bath in my room was immaculate and featured a Jacuzzi tub. The owners are welcoming, accommodating, and obviously enjoy sharing this beautiful house. It worked perfectly for my needs and is only 5 miles from Plymouth State University.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheney House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheney House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 82 Highland Street, Ashland, NH 03217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cheney House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Cheney House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheney House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.