We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cold Spring Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Cold Spring Resort
Save Saved
You added Cold Spring Resort to your Saves list
460 North Ashland Road, Ashland, NH 03217   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a last minute week organised at Cold Spring Resort. We had a great time, the apartment was very spacious and well equipped as well as being kept very clean and tidy.

It was in an area we had not visited before, but there was plenty to do and my wife enjoyed the canoeing on Lake Squam most. That was closely followed by the hike up Rattlesnake Mountain. Another favourite was the hike known as four fingers, named after the shape of the inlets on the lake.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

this is a great place to visit the staff are great nothing is to much trouble for them. the place is all you could wish for, indoor and outdoor pools. We had a two bedroom flat and it provided everthing that you could want, as it is my holiday i did not do much cooking but that's what micro ovens and Wal Mart are for, there is a built in washer and a seperate dryer which came in handy, the place was clean and tidy and if like us we had two weeks so they cleaned in the middle. there is a bus that runs trips and we took advantage of this, but not till the last but one day, we wished we had used this more.

Room Tip: i would have at least a 2 bedroom flat
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bath, ME
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

How we look forward to our week at Cold Spring! We stayed in Reach 1C, which is a 2 BR with a loft...sleeps 8. We had 2 full bathrooms and a full kitchen. We are right on the golf course. The kids spent lots of time rooting for the golfers to make their putts! We needed to have a low-budget vacation this year, and Cold Spring came through. We've done lots of crafts that were either free or very reasonably priced. (MUCH cheaper than gas and entrance fees for some attraction or another!) We didn't take any of the van trips this year, but there were many that looked fun. We've enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools. The kids played soccer, used the swingset, played basketball. I wish we were staying here a second week! Cold Spring is located very close to I-93...easy to go south to the Lakes Region, or north to the White Mountains. If you need Jacuzzis, concierges, valet parking and all that nonsense, then this isn't the spot for you. If you like to have time with your family in a clean, comfortable space...call up Cold Spring and book a stay!

Room Tip: Cold Spring has different "villages" with differing number of bedrooms and baths. Just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have on of the 6 person units and it is very comfortable for that amount of people. It is a very relaxing place but still close enough to any stores we may need. There are a lot of activities within driving distance and prices in the area are not too bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Franklin
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We just returned from Cold Springs Resort. The accommodations were good. We had the bedroom with the queen bed and our Son, Daughter in law and Granddaughter arrived 4 days later, they had the room with twin beds. We were comfortable in our unit. Everything you could have needed was provided to have a great time. We did not need the AC we opened the windows at night. We felt it was clean and inviting. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We did our own exploration of NH, we were not looking for the resort to entertain us. There was a list of activities given to us on check in. The front desk was friendly and helpful. The wifi was nice to have. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family of 4 including a 5 year old and 2 year old spent a week at this resort from July 13th to the 20th. We have stayed at several other RCI resorts including many that are silver crown and found that this resort was in no way a sliver crown. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom unit. We found that though visibly clean the unit needed painting, new fixtures, new appliances a new TV, and badly, badly needed new carpet. The unit was very dark and not inviting upon entry.

The activites were quite limited as there were days that no activities were even offered. The pool was often diry with pine needles and bugs. The gunite pool needs ++ repairs as you can scrap yourself easily because it is so rough. The rest of the grounds are nice and well kept. You can rent movies which is nice of just $3.00.

The location of this resort is perfect. You are in the lake region, but just south of the White Mountains. There is lots to do for families. We visited the Whale Tale Waterpark (Can't wait to go back), Polar Caves, Weir's Beach, Mount Washington and Tanger Outlets. There is no shortage of things for families to do.

Overall, I feel that we would never go back to this resort as New Hampshire has many more that offer great value. It is not the worst place to stay but has lots of room for improvement.

Room Tip: We were across from the playground on the 1st level which was a good loaction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I just returned from a time share exchange at Cold Spring. My exchange was to a one bedroom Lodges unit. It left a little to be desired, but the front desk makes up for any unit issues. These units are actually a loft bedroom with a queen bed and single in the loft and a hide-a-bed couch. With only one bathroom and a tiny, I mean tiny, kitchen, it would be very uncomfortable for more than two or three people. They have AC units, a ceiling fan and a portable fan in the loft, but it all adds up to noisy for sleeping. Include the thin walls and my recommendation is to ensure your bring earplugs.
For an older unit, they work hard at the maintenance, but the carpet leaves a little to be desired. The unit is dark so one doesn't want to spend extra time there. There is a back deck area, but only fits two people.
I recommend the place for its location in New Hampshire. Though not well publicised, they have local passes for the Ashland Beach so just a few dollars to go there, but most of the beachfront is privately owned so not accessible. There are some nice public beaches, but can be very busy on a hot weekend.
The area offers lots to do for nature lovers. Numerous small spots for trails and birding. A variety of activities for families and the Tanger Outlets are not far.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cold Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Spring Resort

Address: 460 North Ashland Road, Ashland, NH 03217
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ashland
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions of New Hampshire, Cold Spring Resort has been providing a welcome retreat for families since the mid 1970's. With 77 well-appointed 1, 2 and 3 bedroom townhouses meandering through a fragrant pine forest, overlooking the White Mountains and within a stone's throw of a cold spring, the resort is perfectly situated for quiet relaxation and cultural, recreational and invigorating exploration. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cold Spring Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cold Spring Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;