We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation in New Hampshire” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cold Spring Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cold Spring Resort to your Saves list
Cold Spring Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   460 North Ashland Road, Ashland, NH 03217   |  
Hotel amenities
Catlin, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Family Vacation in New Hampshire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a time share exchange exchange for us. We wanted a centrally located place to stay in New Hampshire.
We arrived a little after 3 on Friday afternoon. There was a line for check in, but it went fast. Our check in was quick and easy. The thing that was different was that we were given a remote for the air conditioning at check in.
There was 6 of us in a 2 bedroom and a pull out couch. It was tight for 6 adults. The major issue for us was that there was only 1 bathroom.
The goods things about the condo was the full kitchen/dinning room and the screened in back porch. It was a great place to spend the evenings.
The resort has an indoor and out door pool and hot tub. There was also a game room, workout room, tennis court and there is a golf course across the street.
While you are in a wooded area, it is just a short drive to Ashland or Plymouth for shopping or restaurants.
We found the staff very helpful through our stay. I wish there was WiFi in the condos, just not the clubhouse.
We enjoyed our stay at Cold Spring Resort and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Me and my wife just spent a week at the resort. I was concerned due to a couple reviews but found the place to be in great repair with very nice people willing to go out of their way to help us with local travel ideas. The only thing that could have made the unit more exciting would be a hot tub in the unit. All lights and appliances worked and were newer units. Size of the unit was great and the screened in back deck was a great place to sit and read or play games as there is plenty of space. .

Room Tip: Some great food places around. The Country Cow became a favorite of ours. Good food, great people an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in a 2-bedroom condo with a 2-, 4-, and 6-year-old. It fully met our needs and was comfortable and cosy. The unit actually had 2 full bathrooms and a great extra cupboard for skis, etc.. The unit was well-stocked and the reost is a nice and quiet place for young children. Traffic in the area creeps along, there is a great little playground and the kids loved the pool which was clean (as well as the changing rooms with a sauna) and the water was very warm. The staff were friendly and helpful and the guests all seemed cheerful. The place is well situated for the mountains and the lakes, and it's a quick drive for groceries, gas, take-out, ice cream and wine!

Room Tip: We were in the last unit, closest to the highway. Outside, there was a low hum but we didn't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rooms need to be updated. The heating system and the decor seems to be form the early 70s. The indoor pool area is boderline gross. The front desk is gone by 9pm so you are on your own if you need any assitance. Walls are paper thin and TVs are very old and no name brands so the picture quality is bad. Nice location and staff was very friendly but some time and money needs to be spent on this place to make it worth the trip. I rated Room Service as average based on the maintenance and housekeeping team because there was no "Room Service" available to order anything.

Room Tip: If you are looking for something cheap at a good location then this may be a good option. DO NOT use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit for a ski weekend. Unit was clean and fit our needs well, and staff was very friendly and helpful. Kitchen was very well stocked with utensils, cooking tools, and plates/bowls/cups for anything we wanted to make. It was very convenient to have stove/oven, dishwasher, full-size fridge, and washer/dryer all in the unit. We did not hear much road noise as others have reported, and had a pleasant view of the woods from our windows.

A couple of downsides: beds are very, very firm, so we did not sleep very well. Heating units are a little tricky, so if you have a specific temp where you are comfortable, it's hard to keep the temperature there.

Units could use some updating, but I would call them "utilitarian." Overall, a good place to stay while skiing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

As others have already stated, this is a good value but needs to have some investment to bring more light into the units and make it more comfortable. We did not have road noise but were in a unit near the center of the complex. The nature trail is a pleasant walk in woods but it does skirt the freeway so you get the noise. Our unit did not have a view of much but a few trees.

We had a maintenance issue and the staff responded quickly. The staff was always pleasant and helpful.

Other than sitting in the office to use wi-fi (which we wish was more widely available), we did not use resort facilities. The dvd rentals are expensive and limited, so bring your own.

This was a good location to gain access to national and state parks for Autumn leave viewing as it was on the less busy side of those parks. This was our purpose in vacationing in this area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ropewalk building E and it is near the playground, if you need that and did not have mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Like some of the visitors said, the units need updating. The TV's are old and small, our oven didn't heat up properly, the bedrooms smelled very musty (the carpeting maybe?) And one bathroom isn't really sufficent for 5 or 6 people especially with the toilet in the same little space as the shower. Our dresser in the master bedroom had seen better days. Small things really in the big picture because we were out and about more than we were in the unit. The extra time in the unit was due to the fact that everyone needed to shower and there was only one shower. lol The entry way reaked of smoke but it was easy to see why - when we were loading our car, there were cleaning crews outside the doors smoking away and the door was propped open, not by us though. The resort itself was very nice with lots to do. There were soooo many things to see and do not to far from the resort that we couldn't do as many as we wanted to in a week so we may be going back sometime! Hope the units are updated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cold Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Spring Resort

Address: 460 North Ashland Road, Ashland, NH 03217
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cold Spring Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions of New Hampshire, Cold Spring Resort has been providing a welcome retreat for families since the mid 1970's. With 77 well-appointed 1, 2 and 3 bedroom townhouses meandering through a fragrant pine forest, overlooking the White Mountains and within a stone's throw of a cold spring, the resort is perfectly situated for quiet relaxation and cultural, recreational and invigorating exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cold Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cold Spring Hotel Ashland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cold Spring Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.