We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite NH Lakes get-away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Side Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Side Inn
Save
You added Bay Side Inn to your Saves list
Route 11 D, Alton Bay, NH 03810   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Alton Bay B&B and Inns
Boston
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favorite NH Lakes get-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just booked my 4th stay at Bay Side Inn for a week in August. Already smiling just thinking about the relaxing time we'll have. This lovely spot is right on the water in a quiet location. Great for a couple or a family. It's clean and well maintained. The owners are friendly and so are other guests. Last year we rented one of their motor boats for the day - fun! The outside pavilion with fireplace and BYOB bar area is an excellent spot to hang out, cook dinner on their large grill, enjoy a few drinks during the evening. Fun even if it rains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our family- 2 adults and 3 school-age children- stayed two nights over Labor Day Weekend. They were able to accommodate us in one of the two-bedroom efficiency units. This worked well for us although- as they explained fully before I booked it- one child slept on a kind of "window seat" area in the living room so this wouldn't work if you have older kids or extra adults. We didn't really use it but there was a full kitchen w/sink, fridge, small stove/oven and microwave. The decor was kind of typical lakes region and some of the furniture in the unit had seen better days but the beds were comfortable and the unit had a/c. The Inn has a beautiful view of the lake and is located in a quiet spot. There is a great outdoor area by the lake-no beach but grass and docks/decks with lots of chairs and a pavilion with a fireplace, bbq and even a t.v. The kids loved the raft and water trampoline. Coffee, juice, cereal and english muffins were available in the morning and the owners/staff were very nice. We would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monadnock Region, NH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

These were my wife's words when we passed here. My wife needed a relaxing, quick getaway and when our friends who live nearby invited us up for dinner and blueberry picking the night before, we decided on a Winnipesaukee trip. We drove around the South side of the lake looking for a place with cabins on the water and in a quiet area. Nothing seemed to fit the bill or didn't look . . cared for.

When we passed here, we knew right away it was what we wanted despite the lack of cabins. Off the main drags, away from the crowds, away from the Weir's beach scene. . perfect. For me, the deal was sealed when I spotted the outdoor pavilion with the bar, fireplace, rockers and tables. "I know where I'm having my Scotch and cigar tonight!" I thought to myself.

When we checked in, our room was pleasant. Nothing fancy or something to write home about, but CLEAN, freshly painted (and I think recently tiled - the bath had nice tile) and quaint. But unlike many people, we don't hang out in our room much, particularly when going to a lake or ocean destination. Nice to have a balcony facing the lake! The balcony furniture looked newer as well. We ended up, however sitting in the Adirondack chairs at the end of the docks, having our gin and tonics until we realized sitting in this lovely spot and enjoying the scenery and boaters wasn't going to provide dinner.

When we returned, we made our way to the pavilion and sat in the rockers and enjoyed the dead calm night, water (and I, my whisky and cigar). Perfect end to our day.

In the AM, they have coffee, tea, juice, a couple cold cereals and english muffins out. Spartan, yes, but having a little something was appreciated and we didn't have to go off trying to find something else that early in the morning.

Clean rooms, great lake and surrounding views, outdoor ambiance, and peaceful location. Perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We pulled into this little charming resort late in the afternoon just before sunset. We were charmed by the greeting by the family pet dog, with a tennis ball in mouth and the owners making us feel welcome. The price was very good. We paid the same rate to stay at a very disappointing Red Roof Inn a few days earlier that was horrible. Our room was cozy, nothing really fancy but really nothing mattered when the view from our balcony was worth every penny. The bed comfortable. The room very clean. Nice bathroom. Not a big TV but again, not why we were there. If you are you may be disappointed by that. We liked the place so much we thought about staying a second night but woke up to pouring rain. We decided to move on and headed north.

I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We booked here as it looked to be in an excellent location and the descriptions we read lead us to believe the accommodation was above the norm expected from the area. How wrong we were. We arrived during a tremendous thunderstorm to find the car park under at least 3 inches of water and a waterfall from the guttering. Never mind, we thought, that is not the fault of the owners. However, on arriving in our room we found it had a most unpleasant musty odour, the room was extremely basic at best, the carpet grubby, the furniture old and worn. The door out onto our balcony and window were filthy and there was rubbish left on the balcony from previous occupants. The bathroom was disgusting with the wooden surrounds chipped and flaking, the tiles were dirty and the washbasin shelf had old cup rings on. The room looked like a connected trailer compartment with taped seams around the walls. The walls were so thin, we could hear the occupants of the next room coughing, talking and even using the bathroom which was most unpleasant. There was no breakfast on offer at all but they did have juice and coffee available in the mornings. The location of this motel was lovely and right on the water's edge, there were several moorings for boats. When we enquired about hiring a boat we were told there weren't any available and the ones already moored belonged to other people staying there. We asked several questions regarding the location of places to eat, how to get to the Mnt Washington boat ride etc but were put off with 'I'll tell you about it in the morning' what was wrong with while we were stood there? We were grudgingly told to 'put our heads round the door of the lounge to have a quick peek' but with no invitation to make use of the facility. We were made to feel like we had intruded on the receptionist's personal time rather than being welcomed during our checking-in process.
This should have been a wonderful location to stay, it had the views, the access to the lake etc but the accommodation needed raising to the ground and something beffitting its position building instead. We really did not want to stay here at all and tried to find alternative accommodation in the area to move to straight away but despite looking we couldn't find anywhere else close by. Needless to say we left the area (and the state) the next morning. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Side Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Side Inn

Address: Route 11 D, Alton Bay, NH 03810
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Alton Bay
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alton Bay
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Side Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.