We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view-Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shibley's at the Pier

Shibley's at the Pier
164 Route 11D, Alton Bay, NH 03810
(603) 875-3636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Alton Bay
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great view-Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We took my 92 year old step-mother for lunch and they greeted her like royalty! Our window seat let us enjoy a wonderful view of Alton Bay while devouring mouth watering scallops! My shrimp and mango wrap was flavored just right and my husband's burger was cooked perfectly! Homemade blueberry buckle topped off the great experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laconia, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Owners should consider secret shoppers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Six of us went to Shibley's for an end of summer dinner. The wait staff was very attentive, kind and enjoyable. The meals were mixed reviews - unfortunately, the green bean casserole special of the day was dried out, tasteless and left unfinished by 3 out of 3. The butternut raviolis (all miniature 6 of them) were rubbery and/or hard - poorly done. The steaks were ordered medium and medium rare, but were presented as rare and well done and when asked to bring back what we'd ordered, they were both returned and over done. Given the problems with the meals, we were surprised that some offer to correct the situation was not offered. The owners might benefit by having trusted friends come in and honestly assess the food - presentation, quality, taste, etc. Given the pricing is on the high side, one expects to be presented with a high quality dinner - this didn't happen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food and Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went here with a group of 7 people, on a somewhat busy Wednesday afternoon in the summer. There were two other groups of people inside, both had younger children who were a bit noisy. The room got a bit noisy at only half capacity. Our server was prompt and attentive, bringing what we ordered with no mistakes. Everyone enjoyed their food. I got the haddock sandwich, and it was very good. There was a very sizable portion of fish and it was cooked nicely. The tartar sauce was also good. The waffle fries were perfectly crispy and there were a lot of them. Others at our table got a pan pizza, an American-style wrap, and burgers. Everyone had good things to say. The prices were reasonable. Stop in here for a good bite of food while in Alton Bay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not worth it!! Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went for birthday dinner. Waited 10 minutes for acknowledgement from waitstaff. Ordered ginger ale & glass of wine delivered over 5 minutes later. Was never asked if we had ?'s regarding menu. Waitstaff came back another 10 minutes after delivering first round of beverages. I asked if there were any dinner specials...yes! My husband changed his original dinner order after hearing the specials. I told her this was our first time here & asked for a seafood recommendation, which I ordered & was ok. Vegetables were frozen peas & purl onions...nothing special, salmon close to being overdone. When we received our 2nd round of beverages we received complimentary crackers & spread as if an after thought. After my husband was almost done with his plate he asked for bread to soak up the remaining sauce, which she deliver AFTER she cleared the table. The waitstaff seemed to have more time for a table of regulars than first timers. The dining room was not crowded 4 tables at best. When we were leaving the bus boy who was texting & leaning on the hostess station looked up & wished us a good evening. Really, probably would've had a better evening at McDonald's. We vacation in this area every summer & have always driven by & said someday we'll venture into Shibley's. Well wonder no more...first & last for us!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Super Service and kid friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were a party of eleven...six adults and five kids ranging in age from 8 to 4 mos. We had originally asked to sit on the pier, but upon arriving, it was a little cold and windy for the kids. The hostess graciously moved our entire party indoors! We started with the following wonderful appetizers: warm homemade potato chips, ahi and coconut shrimp. The kids loved the warm chips with a variety of toppings. The ahi melted in your mouth and the bonus was that you are able to order as many coconut shrimp as you wanted....the entrees we ordered were delicious. The swordfish with pesto was super, the panko with asiago cheese coated pork was terrific (one order was a little fatty), we also enjoyed surf and turf with Mongolian beef, trout and filet mignon. And then came desserts - totally decadent....Creame brûlée, Zango cheesecake (raspberry and strawberry), funnel fries and blueberry crisp rounded out the meal. We will probably make this an annual place for our family dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shibley's at the Pier also viewed

 

Been to Shibley's at the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shibley's at the Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.