We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Street Lodging

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Street Lodging
Save
You added Union Street Lodging to your Saves list
69 Union Street, PO Box 62, Austin, NV 89310   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Austin B&B and Inns
Los Osos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Welcome Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Unforgettable. For two days we felt like locals -- and there aren't many -- in Austin, Nevada. We were home, due to the comforts created by Dee and her husband Kip. We stayed in the Pony Express Room, which preserves the feel of the original boarding house from which this B&B has been resurrected, except for the very modern bathroom and very comfortable central heating. Great conversations in the 1860s living room upstairs with Dee and other "boarders", absolutely perfect and plentiful breakfasts, and all of the local information one needs in order to take advantage of this great, historic town and its surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Found this bed and breakfast while looking for a place to stay on Trip Advisor. We stayed one night and found the accommodations perfect. Our stay in the Pony Room, was comfortable, clean and filled with Pony Express nostalgia. Breakfast was great and the host was very friendly and knowledgable of the area and its history. Plan to stay there the next time we pass through this area.

Room Tip: Several rooms available so please talk to the Host to find one that meets your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Trip across Nevada in March 12' ended up being cut short due to a winter storm that was on our heels when we left Sparks. When we realized our altitude was going to increase the amount of snow we decided to try and wait it out here in Austin. Stopping at a hotel, only to be told they were full the hostess called around to see if she could find us a room. Due to all the work being done at a local mine, there was one room left and it was at this nice little B&B.

Breakfast was tasty, room was warm and comfy, shared bathroom was large and clean and the common room was pleasant with coffee service. Cost was a bit higher than we wanted to pay but what choice did we have for the circumstances. For the price you got a fresh made breakfast, many comforts associated with a B&B and wi-fi so it is worth it to stay here.

Thank you for saving us from turning back and making us feel at home in the 2 days we were there!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night in this very charming bed/breakfast. Dee and Kip, (hostesses) were knowledgable upon Ausitn, Nevada. Our personal time was extremely limited however the moments at Union Street were delightful. Next trip, we are staying minimum 4 days!! The Emma Nevada room, comfortable, shower great and breakfast was delicious! I walked the neighborhood in early morning. Super inclines for heart etc... Front porch extremely cozy for November season.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

My husband & I found this gem while motorcycling across Nevada. Clean, warm, cheerful, and full of marvelous history - this B&B was a sheer delight. We highly recommend & would stay here again. Host, Dee, is a joy and cooks a great breakfast too!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

On a positive note the hosts were hospitable and welcoming. When we arrived the owner had been working in her garden. It was disturbing to see she still had dirt under her fingernails when serving our breakfast. She was very unkempt in her appearance. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special. Our bed was comfortable but the entire house looked to need a thorough cleaning. The owners have put a tremendous amount of work in the building and landscaping which is still ongoing. Because of it they have a lot of trash surrounding the home. Unfortunately it wasn't just construction trash but also quite a lot of family trash. The view from our bedroom window was a dump. The owners are a busy couple, both working and with other projects in the works. I would suggest they finish one project before starting another.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

When my family and I planned our trip across Hwy 50 on motorcycles to the coast, we was very skeptical to stay in a small town clear in the middle of nowhere, the better of the 3 Motels had no rooms. The kind clerk recommended we call Dee at the Union St. Bed & Breakfast. From the time we arrived until the time we left our stay was wonderful.

We would defenitly stay there again...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Union Street Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Lodging

Address: 69 Union Street, PO Box 62, Austin, NV 89310
Location: United States > Nevada > Austin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Street Lodging is a fully remodeled home that was a boarding house in the 1870’s. It features 4 bedrooms, decorated with themes featuring important historic persons or things in Austin. A common room for the guest to relax in and a full breakfast served in dining room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Street Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.