We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way under utilized” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ash Meadows National Wildlife Refuge

Ash Meadows National Wildlife Refuge
610 E. Spring Meadows Rd, Amargosa Valley, NV 89020
(775) 372-5435
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A favorite spot for landscape and wildlife photographers, this refuge provides recreational facilities such as boating, hiking, camping and viewing historical sites.
Escondido
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Way under utilized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

See the pup fish in 3 locations. Do birding, during the migratory periods. See the 20 unique plants, only here. Great attendent from the Parks Service. She really was helpful, listened to what we wanted to do, and delivered. this was a planned stop for us on a 10 day desert journey+

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marina, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Hidden Oasis in the Desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

A nice side trip. Near Long Street Hotel & Casino, Amargosa Opera House, and just 22 miles West of Pahrump Nevada. The natural springs are amazing. You don't expect to see the concentration of wildlife in such a small area. Be sure to see the Longstreet stone cabin.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not planned but a great stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Ash Meadows is amazing. They have elevated boardwalks so yoy can walk and view thw crystal clear springs and you are able to see the beautiful but tiny colorful pup fish. The only place in the world it lives. Also see wildlife. What a great stop and I have told everyone I know here in Charlotte all about it. The ranger at the ranger station was great and her knowledge spoke volumes.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Ash Meadows - A Surprising Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Ash Meadows is often bypassed in the tourist rush to get to Death Valley. Too bad, since it's worth the time. Lots of leisurely walks along the surprising water ways. This is a bird-watchers paradise and we plan to go back, planning visits at dawn and at dusk. We also saw coyote and we're not entirely sure why we find that exciting.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ash Meadows National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Been to Ash Meadows National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ash Meadows National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.