We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Windmill Ridge to your Saves list
Windmill Ridge
Highway 93, Windmill Circle, PO Box 630, Alamo, NV 89001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for a few days while working the Pahranagat NWR. Cabins simple, roomy and clean. Had trouble with the air conditioning. Management went out of their way to correct. Restaurant on property was passable. Some menu items very good, others mediocre. Staff very down home and friendly. We felt welcome and accommodated. Hope to visit again. It did have a small cricket problem but heh, your in the country more or less.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center. Pick a cabin as far as possible from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
27
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice on our road trip. Both times had great service and comfortable. Restaurant is clean, affordable and really delicious. Dog friendly. Out in the middle of nowhere, yet that adds to the beauty. Bring a good bottle of wine and get your food to go because sitting on the little patio in front of your cabin is lovely. We enjoyed a rare desert rain storm.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times but the lady at the front desk is crazy. She has no costumer service skills. She told me that she was going to have another employee written up an god really mad at me. The place is mediocre for clean but and expensive for what you get. We will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a really nice place to stay. Individual cabins that are very clean and appear to be relatively new. Lots of room. The food is really like home cooking. I will definitely stay here again if I am back in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, Essex, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were excited to spend a couple of nights here as we started geo-caching the ET Highway. The girl at reception was nice enough and our room was ready early, a good start. But the room was tired and worn. Quilt on the bed ripped, toilet didn't flush properly, TV kept turning off by itself and could not turn the volume down. Too many cute cowboy relics and not enough essential things like table space, hooks to hang bathroom bag and hangers for clothes. The restaurant seemed ok but we were out early and the truck stop down the road was a better value and very welcoming. No wifi, but out in the middle of nowhere, it should be expected.

The biggest problem was the arrogant attitude of the caretaker. A member of our party in a different room wanted to use the ceiling fan at with the light off. But the cords were not long enough so the light and fan were either off or on. I asked the caretaker to take care of it. (The job is in the name.) He said, "If I can find another cord." Are you kidding me? When we returned it had not been taken care of. He simple ignored the request.

We should have stayed at A Cowboys Dream.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed over nite with my sister in cabin #18 and we loved this place. New cabins with porches for sitting out and enjoying the peace and quiet. We were not expecting this to be as good as it was. Came up from Henderson to view wildlife at Parahnagat Nalt Refuge. This is a wonderful outdoor experience just one and a half hours from Las Vegas. Its worth spending the nite here and enjoying the yummy restaurant!!!! I am a "foodie" and found this to be some of the best I have eaten out. Bakery there also with great cookies to snack on. Hotel is just 4 miles north of the refuge so its very convenient. Do yourself a favor and try this out. Nice getaway!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I wanted to try out our new Jeep on some of the back roads not far from Las Vegas. We chose the Windmill Ridge since it looked good and price was reasonable. We were not disappointed with the cabin. It was cute and very large. It was very clean. The only minor complaint was the TV. It was VERY small for the size of the room. But they did have DirecTV which was nice. Overall, a nice, pleasant stop in this small town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windmill Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Ridge

Address: Highway 93, Windmill Circle, PO Box 630, Alamo, NV 89001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Alamo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Alamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windmill Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Ridge Hotel Alamo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.