We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11 days in St Wolfgang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foersterhof Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Foersterhof Hotel to your Saves list
Foersterhof Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ried 14, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Immingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“11 days in St Wolfgang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The Forrsterhof Hotel is situated a little out of the town of St Wolfgang but this does not mean it isolated.
Its location in the quiet roads above the town enhances its appeal. There is a stream running next to the hotel and at the Schafberg cog railway not far away.
Hills surround the hotel and it is a reasonable slope from the town to the hotel.
Most rooms have balconies.
We travelled with Crystal on a half-board basis.
Food in the hotel was excellent with a good choice (especially at breakfast) and the service was brisk without being obtrusive. A buffet system was in operation which meant there was always something to choose.
The staff were very friendly and spoke very good English. Helena and Joseph in the dining room were especially approachable and appreciated a joke or two.
Our room (201) was at the side of the hotel and the aforementioned stream ran just below our balcony.
The only drawback to the hotel, and it is a minor niggle, is that there was no lounge as such and, therefore, nowhere to gather in the evening. However, there are seating areas but not in the conventional bar/lounge sense.If the weather is fine this is not a problem as there is a terrace outside the bar.
St Wolfgang itself is a delight and the surroundings could not be better. Walks and cycle tracks are well-signed and there are numerous opportunities for undertaking both.
Public transport is very easy to follow - a trip to Hallstatt involved a bus, a train and a boat but went without a hitch.
My wife and I have vowed to return to St Wolfgang in the future as we found the experience both uplifting and a pleasure.
Please do not hesitate to make contact if I can help with transport details, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front - better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
50
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great hotel in a great surrounding. From the beginning on the service was excellent. We had reserved a smoking room and immediately they informed us that this was a non-smoking hotel. They suggested to upgrade to a room with a balcony, where you could smoke.
During the whole stay, the staff was very pleasant and helpful.
The food in the restaurant was tasty and the breakfast buffee huge and included a wast variety of food, vegetables, fruit and cheeses.
Parking on site was included in th price.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, ask for a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We arrived at Wolfgang to hear that the train to the mountains were not open till Apr, and that the ski buses had stopped. We also heard that most restaurants were closed and the whole town looks dead.

We got lost initially and dragged our luggage a long way.

Finally, we found our hotel and found out that it was only a 8 minutes bus ride away. (1 hr 15 min bus ride on 150 from Salzburg main station, and then 546 change at Strobb for 15 minutes to get to the hotel bus stop).

The excellent service at the hotel made everything better. The room was simple, normal but the staff tried to think of activities for us with everything closed. We enjoyed the sauna facility which also included a whole bath room for you FOC. We had our dinner there, a 4 course meal cost EUR 21 and it was excellent. The service by the restaurant staff was fabulous, he made it sure you were very satisfied and happy.

My bf proposed to me there and the hotel helped to arrange a bouquet of flowers for him as well. The hotel also had a private beach about 10 minutes away from the hotel. You can swim there in summer. The hotel also checked for us and we went to a nearby cable car place to take the cable car up to Zwolferhorn mountain by bus 150 again.

However, i would say don't go in winter (we went in march) or at least check if anything is open. It is really a dead town and without the excellent service by this hotel and my pleasant surprise proposal, it would be really boring. However, St gillen's which is nearer to Salzburg might be more fun than Wolfgang which is further. But the view of the mountains and lake is simply breathtaking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

great hotel, staff very pleasant,great food,recommend it to anyone staying at this fantastic resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed 1 week at the Foersterhof and really enjoyed the experience the evening buffet was excellent with a lot of choice. Our thanks to Andy for first class service

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Forsterhof for a week in early July and had a wonderful, relaxing and peaceful holiday.
We were at the front of the hotel in the hotel's only twin room, which was a good size with modest but comfortable decor and a good size balcony. We had a pleasant view of the mountains and surrounding trees, and although we were on the road side, it was very quiet and peaceful.
The hotel itself was very clean, and we found the management most polite and helpful, and they all had very good English. The waiting on staff were very friendly and helpful, and although I agree with some of the reviews questioning the labelling of the buffet, the head chef was incredibly accomodating with my food allergy and made me delicious, fresh 'nut free' meals.
The hotel is set about 4minutes away from the lake, and although it doesn't have a direct view, the hotel has a very nice lakeside lounging area, which was always quiet when we went. The village centre is about 5minutes walk, and there are local buses, which are very easy to use going to Salzburg.
There is no doubt that St Wolfgang is stunning, with lots of little cafes/restaurants and shops to browse and it has retained a lovely, traditional feeling with lots of character. The scenery can't beaten, absolutely beautiful.
We went to the village square on a Wednesday evening to hear the local brass band, which was very enjoyable and nice to see all of the locals supporting it aswell as tourists. The funicular mountain railway is a must on a good, clear day, but be warned it is expensive, but the views of the surrounding area are spectacular.
We had a wondeful holiday and I would recommend the Forsterhof to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We just returned from a family holiday at the Forsterhof. We had a family room which was very clean and comfortable on the 3rd floor.
The hotel is in nice condition throughout with a friendlty traditional feel. We had half board ,large buffet style breakfasts and dinners which the children really enjoyed.I couldnt find any faults with this place,even had a pool table and table football which made for a regular after dinner game.
Loads of parking facilities and a 5 minute walk to the town and the private beach garden with lots of loungers umbrellas and table tennis. The lake was bracing but most people enjoyed a dip .
We had a hire car which i would recommend for seeing different places.
Highlights for us were lake trips to St Gilgen (nice restaurants/mini golf etc) Strobl summer toboggan run ( a must for kids !) and a trip to Bad Ishll in a 1960s oldtimer bus which you can find details at tourist info.
St wolfgang is a nice base with plenty of bars /eating places
There were quite a few brits in the hotel so the kids had people to play with . The waiters and staff were all very nice and helpful.Dont believe any adverse reports!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foersterhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foersterhof Hotel

Address: Ried 14, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Foersterhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Foersterhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forsterhof Hotel St Wolfgang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foersterhof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.