We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday Inn in a weird town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 4th Street NW, Austin, MN 55912   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Austin
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Holiday Inn in a weird town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The HI in Austin MN is excellent! It's the nicest HI I've ever stayed in. Lobby & pool are beautiful, well-maintained. The Jacuzzi Suite is MOST comfortable for a long stay. Staff are wonderful. A calm oasis in an odd little place.

Room Tip: The back corner 2nd floor Jacuzzi Suite is quiet, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPImanager, Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear you had such a great stay with us. It is great to hear you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating - they work hard to provide each of our guests with the best customer service possible! We are also happy that you found our entire property to be well-maintained and our guest suites comfortable and relaxing. We appreciate the 5 star review and hope to see you in the future! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
30
15
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Racine, WI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Overall - an OK experience. After many hours on the road we chose to spend the night in Austin before continuing the trip. The Holiday Inn is located ideally for such a stop since it is right off I90. The facilities were clean but felt a little “used”.. If you are traveling with a group there is and area next to the pool which works as a place to hang out. When you reserve a room make sure you ask for a location as far from the Bar/Lounge as possible. The lounge music is loud enough that the entire front of the hotel shakes and it is even difficult to have a conversation when checking in. For an overnight stop this hotel is certainly adequate.

Room Tip: Avoid the lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn of Austin Minnesota. I am happy to hear that you chose to stop at our hotel on your long trip and found our location off of the interstate ideal. I am also happy to hear you found our hotel clean and recognized the sitting area next to our pool as a great location for small groups. I am sorry to hear that the Live music we provided in our lounge was a not what you were looking for. It is our goal to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and we will use your feedback to continue to do so. I will be sharing your feedback with all of our staff so we can continue to deliver the level of cleanliness you had experienced and work to maintain the sound level in our lobby by ensuring our lounge doors are kept closed.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback,
Tracy Benesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were part of a wedding party block and they were very accomidating in getting our rooms located near each other. Pool, bar, rooms,etc. were all clean and updated. Maids were some of the best I've encountered at Holiday Inns and they speak and understand English fluently! A little disappointed that there are no welcoming items for platinum priority club members.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn of Austin Minnesota. Feedback such as yours helps us to identify how we can exceed our guest expectations. I want to apologize that you did not receive your welcome gift. Our Priority Club members are very important to us and we will continue to focus on ensuring they are recognized with a gift. Also I happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you and that you found our hotel to be clean and up to date. I will be sharing your comments with our staff so we can continue to deliver the same level of cleanliness and service that you experienced

Thank you again for taking the time to offer your feedback,
Tracy Benesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We checked into the hotel on our road trip out west. We came to Austin for the SPAM museum and my husband was delighted to see SPAM on the breakfast menu!

We checked in and our room smelled like cigarette smoke. We mentioned this to the front desk and they moved us to the room next door. It smelled about 75% less like smoke but still had a distinct smoke smell for a family of non-smokers. Would still recommend the hotel just be sure you let the front desk know if you are dissatisfied with your room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn of Austin Minnesota. Feedback such as yours helps us to identify how we can exceed our guest expectations. I want to apologize that your room had an odor of smoke. As a non-smoking hotel we strive to ensure that all of our guest rooms remain smoke free, clean and fresh for all of our guests. I am happy to hear our front desk staff was able to accommodate you, that you enjoyed the SPAM museum, and that you saw we support our community and offer options for Spam on our menu.

Again, thank you again for taking the time to offer your feedback,
Tracy Benesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We drove to Minnesota to visit friends and stopped in Austin after driving almost 20 hours from SC. It was late and we pulled in without reservations. The front desk manager was welcoming and gave us a great rate; she even gave us a coupon to use at the Perkins across the parking lot for a late supper and another coupon to use in the hotel cafe for breakfast! There was a great bar and grill in the hotel as well--we didn't go in, but heard great music and it seemed very popular with the locals. The room was terrific--clean, comfortable and very up to date. Breakfast at the cafe was great--our coupon gave us up to $20 and there were lots of great choices on the menu. Wish we could have spent more time in Austin, but we had to keep forging north to Coon Rapids!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn of Austin Minnesota. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms, our renovated facilities, and the friendliness of our staff. I will be sharing your kind comments with our staff so that we can continue to deliver the level of service and cleanliness that you received. I hope we can see you again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to offer your kind comments,
Tracy Benesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We've stayed at this HI twice; once five years ago and again this month on our way back from Montana, and both times have not been disappointed. The hotel has a great location: literally right off the interstate. The rooms are a good size, were clean and have both a microwave and refrigerator. We were upgraded to a room with a pool view (the "window" of the room was a sliding glass door that opened up to a little patio over the indoor pool area), which was really convenient for the kids. The pool area is cute; there is a smaller kiddie pool and hot tub in addition to the main pool, and outside the pool area are tables with umbrellas (giving you the illusion that you're outside). I worried that it might be loud later on but the pool closed at 10pm so there wasn't any noise after that, so it was perfect. The restaurant that is adjacent to the hotel is more of a sports bar (they have a pool table, TVs and tons of sports memoribilia on the walls) and serve typical burgers and the like, but they do have room service if you'd rather not bring the kids into the restaurant (but I'm sure they're welcome). They did have a really good barbecue chicken sandwich though. The hotel was quiet, the breakfast (in the Bistro area by the pool) was decent (kids eat free with each paying adult) and they served Caribou coffee so in all a good night's stay! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn of Austin Minnesota. I want to thank you for returning to our hotel, remembering us from your stay 5 years ago, and for taking the time to share both your past and recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel and we look forward to having you stay with us again the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to offer your kind comments,
Tracy Benesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nice hotel, clean, quiet. We didn't arrive until nearly 10 pm after a long day of driving, and the hotel bar/restaurant accomodated a room service dinner order for us - good food. Austin is a nice town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback regarding your recent visit to Austin, MN and our Holiday Inn. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the Austin area, our hotel facilities, and that our food and beverage was able to accommodate you.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback,
Thank you,
Tracy Benesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center

Address: 1701 4th Street NW, Austin, MN 55912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Holiday Inn Hotel and Austin Conference Center, Minnesota. Home to Hormel Foods located just fifteen miles east of the intersection of I-90 and I-35. We have 118 rooms and suites, including several poolside rooms for easy access to the recreation area. Our hotel is just minutes away from the Hormel International Corporate Office, the Hormel Institute and the world-famous SPAM Museum!Our indoor recreation center has a large pool, whirlpool and kids' pool, as well as a new fitness room and putting green. Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout our building, as well as free wired and wireless Internet access in your guest room. We have something for both family and corporate travelers at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Austin Conference Center, MN. Come and enjoy a meal at the Harvest Buffet or take in some live entertainment in Torge's Live Sports Grill and Bar. Don t forget about the kids eat free program! The Holiday Inn Hotel and Austin Conference Center, MN also has 10,000 square feet of meeting space for receptions, corporate events or weekend retreats. Look forward to experiencing amazing service at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Austin Conference Center , MN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.