We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff terrible breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel - Austin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Super 8 Motel - Austin to your Saves list
Super 8 Motel - Austin
1401 14th Street NW, Austin, MN 55912   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Austin
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    12
    3
    11
See reviews for
8
8
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The owner/staff is very pleasant but the rooms are in very bad need of TLC. The curtains have little holes (maybe moth holes?) that light comes through. The bathroom tile/trim and caulking are terrible and it makes the bathroom feel very unclean. The towels are just horrible. It is a convenient place for me to stay when I visit friends in the area, but if I stay again I'd have to take my own towels. Sometimes it is really the little things that make a difference and there really aren't any here. The "breakfast" just lacked that little spark that can make a difference. With such good value and location it is a shame that this hotel feels a bit tired and lack luster. Again, the owner/staff are so friendly I hope they can upgrade a bit so that they continue to have a good property to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stopped here after a long day of driving and found the owner/manager to be very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Not impressed with the continental breakfast....frozen waffles sitting in the case with bagels and muffins, yogurt sitting in water with no ice. We skipped the breakfast and stopped somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

Body stains on the sheets and chair, mold in the bathroom and flooring peeling up - dirty.....No refunds were an option! Not a well lit area for motorcycles overnight - no washing/cleaning area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimini
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here by default because there was a MS bike ride passing through town and all the hotels were booked. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and pretty basic. Not something I'd expect to pay almost $80 a night for however. Free wifi, coffee and pastries in the morning, far from town. Overall not a bad experience, but given the choice would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

In addition to the filthy room conditions, don't think that if you make reservations online you will be able to change them, no. Last October I reserved one room for Christmas eve online. A week later a friend offered me her guestroom for that date so I called the "hotel" to cancel. There was no English speaking staff to assist me, but I knew enough Spanish to understand I was (rather rudely) being directed to the 800 number. I was informed by that staff that no reservations made online can be cancelled, even 60 days in advance!. It was only then that I noticed the reviews and decided that I didn't want to spend $68 being bitten by bugs and inhaling mold all night on Christmas Eve--a manger would have been better. My credit card was charged anyway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Checked into hotel. Son was exausted because of long drive and fell asleep on top of bedspread. Son woke up because "bugs crawling on him". Pulled back sheets to discover bugs crawling all over pillows and mattress. Checked out ASAP and went to the Holiday Inn...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel - Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel - Austin

Address: 1401 14th Street NW, Austin, MN 55912
Location: United States > Minnesota > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Motel - Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super Eight
Austin Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel - Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.