We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best food ever-pretty mediocre” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Tap House

Valley Tap House
14889 Florence Trail, Apple Valley, MN 55124
(952) 431-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 66 Restaurants in Apple Valley
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
twin cities minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not the best food ever-pretty mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Service was excellent, but food was nothing to write about. We tried it because we had a Groupon. The waitress was great making menu suggestions, but we won't return. More of a bar type establishment. We are not big into drinking.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    12
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love the happy hour, and they have a party room for groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We eat here often for a quick meal after work, happy hours make it a great proposition, quick and not too pricey. Service is always good. Beers change with the seasons, so ask what is new. We also had some club get together here. They do a good job of delivering lots of individual orders together.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best beer selection south of the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

With an amazing midday/late night happy hour of $3 for ANY beer on tap, $5 (large) burgers/(medium sized?) pizzas.
Related to the Lyndale Taphouse in Uptown Minneapolis, only a little better in my opinion.

I've been there quite a great deal of times, and the food is great three quarters of the time (my experiences are only after 10 PM) The Lamb Burger is my favorite thing on the menu, and the Cajun Shrimp Pizza is fantastic as well. Stay away from the Blistered Hipster, it will ruin your day after. The fries have always been terrible.

My experience with the service is unfair to judge the dinner hour service, since I've dealt mainly with bartenders and such late at night, which has it's good nights and bad nights.

Music at night is almost always terrible now with this DJ BLISS. Otherwise it's usually top 50 music with the occasional night of radio rock

Nice patio, awful chairs and tables though. Outdoor bar is nice in the summer, outdoor fireplace is nice for smokers in the winter.

Ultimately, I'm a beer snob, and I continue to go for the great micro brews on tap for cheap.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you enjoy over loud music at 7pm make sure you sit in the bar. The dining seating looked a little bit more pleasant. The service was ok. The food was in good portions and tasty. The Cuban is a great one to try. The beer selection seemed suitable. Their was a wait time of 15 min. Parking in the lot. Just curious to how long before the building changes again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Manager has a bad attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had heard good things about the Valley Tap House. The atmosphere is fun. It is kind of like the inside of a very upscale barn. We tried to get reservations and were told we couldn't get them with no reason offered. We went anyway assuming they didn't take reservations.
The restaurant was busy and we were told it would take an hour. That was fine. We got our beeper and headed to the bar. Trying to get a drink we were chased away from a spot by some rude people but managed to get drinks from a prompt and friendly bar tender.
After over an hour had passed we started inquiring about seating and were repeatedly told that we would be up soon. After two hours had passed we were told we were up next and were even told what table we would get. To our surprise a few minutes later they seated another party at the table we were told we would get. When we asked what was up we were told the other table had reservations. Now we had had enough. The assistant manager addressed us and made excuses instead of apologies. He said "It is Friday night, what do you expect."
We left and probably will not be back until new owners take over the spot. Too bad, I like the idea of an independent restaurant but this place was a major disappointment. We ended up getting very good service and OK food at a chain restaurant next door.
The assistant manager should get the boot. His attitude is going to chase a lot of customers away for good. Also if it is going to be two hours they should be honest. If they told me two hours and seated me in an hour and a half I would be happy, the other way around makes for a bad experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Tap House also viewed

 
Apple Valley, MN
Apple Valley, MN
 

Been to Valley Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Tap House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.