We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2100 Arrowwood Lane Northwest, Alexandria, MN 56308   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alexandria
Red Lake Falls, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

It was my first time at Arrowwood Resort and our stay was absolutely AWESOME! The staff was very polite and inviting! Our room was clean and I love how there is SO much to do! I would definetly visit again! Next time we are hoping to come back when it is warmer so that we can utilize the Golf course and the outside pool ! :) thanks again for such a wonderful place!

Room Tip: We stayed in just a standard 2 queen bed room. We were on the bottom floor which we liked because yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, General Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Awesome comments! Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor! We share these with our staff, they love hearing the positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    67
    48
    30
    18
See reviews for
124
22
Solo
0
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The resort was clean and people were generally friendly. We had dinner at the Lake cafe which was subpar. The food took almost 45 miuntes and came out cold. The server didn't even bother to ask if it was okay but rather just grabbed the plate, dropped off the bill and told us she was anxious to get off and get home. Other than the dining piece overall was a decent place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, General Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of Arrowwood! Thank you for the "friendly and clean" comments! I sincerely apologize for the wait for food in the Lake Café and the service you received. I have addressed checking back with our guests with our staff. Thank you for bringing it to our attention!

p.s. We are pleased to announce the arrival of a new Executive Chef! We have been getting great comments about the amazing food! Please share your thoughts with us on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just returned from our two day stay at Arrowwood. 

Room: huge with a vaulted ceiling, lovely view and nicely decorated. However, as other guests have mentioned, there are some things that need attention: the paint on the bathroom door was badly chipped, and the doorknob could use a replacement. We were in one of the “updated” rooms, but the shades on one of the lamps was cracked. Just little things like that--noticeable, but it’s probably not going to ruin your trip. Our room was very clean. We had barely set down our bags when someone from the front desk called to see if we were satisfied with the room, which we appreciated. 



There was a plate of cheese and crackers on the floor outside the room next to ours when we checked in at 4 pm. 28 hours later, it was still sitting there. Every time we passed it, it just bugged me. I wanted to mention it to the front desk, but didn’t want to be *that* patron. Whatever. As my husband said, “It’s not hurting us”, and that’s true--just an eyesore. 



Speaking of hallways, more lighting needs to be installed. Far too dim. The water park is also poorly lit. Lazy River: too little heat and too much chlorine. The hot tub was great, but we were asked to leave after 10 minutes due to a broken water main.



Staff: Hit-or-miss. Amy at reservations was very helpful and professional. The gal who checked us in was also friendly and informative. We passed a couple housekeepers in the hallway who greeted us enthusiastically and told us to have a great day. A male lifeguard passed us in the hallway and actually excused himself, even though he wasn’t in our way at all! Impressive. The female lifeguards had major attitude (what do you expect from teenage girls, I guess). Our dinner waitress was a sweetheart, but the lunch waitress the following day shouldn’t be serving--she seems angry and burnt out. And there were only two other guests in the restaurant, so it wasn’t like she was overwhelmed. 



Food: The restaurant is definitely pricey, but on balance, the food was good. Not amazing, but if you’re starving and want a burger, it’s fine. Service is pretty slow, even with only a handful of other patrons in the restaurant. We enjoyed the lounge, but they charged us twice for our drinks and appetizers, which we didn’t notice until we arrived home. 



Would I recommend it? Depends on how picky you are. If you can overlook that it’s dated and run down in some areas and just enjoy it for what it is, then yes--especially if you have children who would enjoy the water park. It’s definitely a family-friendly resort. 


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, General Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the great comments and the very helpful suggestions. We are continually updating and improving the resort, and I've added your suggestions and comments to our list. I'm happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

The staff makes you feel welcome. Everyone from front desk, housekeeping to restaurant staff greeted us with hello and smiles. They were always helpful with any questions I had. The room was large and very clean. We enjoyed the waterpark-it's fun for the younger kids under age 12 is the best fit. The other indoor pool area was also nice and more quieter if you don't want to go to the waterpark. They have a kids activity center with games,toys, lots of different crafts, kids movie playing (plenty to do if was a rainy day) but we enjoyed walking around outdoors the nost. They have a playground for younger kids which was nice. We enjoyed some appetizers and played checkers in Rafters (nice area with comfy chairs and fabulous view of the lake). In the morning we had the breakfast buffet... The made to order omelet was very good and LOTS of fresh fruit. There was so much more that we enjoyed but too much to list. I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, General Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments about Arrowwood! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for two nights over spring break and had a great time. The kids loved the water park and the fun activities that they had for them to do. Sunday brunch was great. Can't wait to go back in the summer and be able to enjoy the outdoor activities such as golf and horseback riding.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, General Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
What a wonderful review! Thank you for the great feedback. Spring break is a great time to be at Arrowwood Resort, I'm glad you enjoyed the waterpark and the Sunday brunch.

We look forward to serving you again sometime in the summer, you will love the horseback riding and golf course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

it was one of the grandkids 4th birthday so we decided to take them to arrowwood on sat nite to sunday. we had an inland family room which was great for 4 adults + 2 kids. the waterpark was not up to our expectations, the youngest (2 yrs old) got so cold when getting out of the water his lips were almost blue had to leave and get him into the room to warm him up so that was the end of the waterpark for the rest of the time, ended up just sitting in room. too many adults in the way for the little ones to be able to get around the lazy river area they didnt care if you had a child on a raft or not just kept banging into you. not enough carts for the size of the hotel, i went down at 4am to make sure we were able to get one. when flushing the toilet you had to flush 2 - 3 times or nothing went down, bad!!! if we stayed again it would NOT be in the hotel. beds Very Very hard uncomforable

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, General Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of Arrowwood! We appreciate your comments and where we can improve our facilities and service. I'm pleased you enjoyed your room. I'm sorry you thought our hotel beds were too hard. We normally receive very positive comments about our beds. I also apologize if the children's activity pool was cool in the indoor waterpark. We try and keep the water temperature and air temperature very warm so it can be enjoyed. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Thank you again for your feedback! We hope you return to Arrowwood soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I hadn't gotten to take a honeymoon after we got married and are still planning one out so we decided to do somewhere fun for our first anniversary. She came with with this place. Just an hour and a half away from Fargo it was just far enough away to feel like a get away but close enough to not take too much of our time together getting to our destination. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a view out onto the golf course. We are in the case and the service was fast and professional the food was also good. The water park was fun even for us adults. The massages we got with our package were amazing. We had a great time and have recommended it to others since.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, General Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
I'm so happy you enjoyed spending your anniversary at Arrowwood! Thank you for choosing to to spend your special day with us! We are pleased you enjoyed your room, our food, the service and even the waterpark!

I'm glad you enjoyed the spa package! Thanks for recommending it to others!

We hope you spend every anniversary with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2100 Arrowwood Lane Northwest, Alexandria, MN 56308
Location: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrowwood Resort And Conference Center
Arrowwood Hotel Alexandria
Arrowwood Resort Alexandria
Alexandria Arrowwood Resort
Arrowwood a Radisson Resort Alexandria
Arrowwood Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.