We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor eating out experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bugaboo Bay

Bugaboo Bay
2800 North Nokomis, Alexandria, MN 56308-8674
320-763-8777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 62 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wadena, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor eating out experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The experience at Bugaboo Bay was very poor due to the staff not making an effort to tell us we had to wait 60 minutes past are seating time as orders were not getting handled well on a medium to slow day. The waitress failed to communicate to us what was going on and we were finally asked by a new worker what was up as we had some concerned looks on our faces for the long delay. The manager offered us 50% off for trouble, and were grateful for that. Food was fine once came. Just a dissappointment as service is high on the eating out experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    20
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, Minnesota
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Love the theme...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We love the Caribbean, and so the decor theme in this restaurant really appealed to us. The food was good; very large portions. The young waiter was attentive, although not overly warm and was unable to answer questions about the menu and drink selections. The restaurant could use a good cleaning, the carpeting looked like it had seen better days and the table and chairs were very sticky. It would be fun to return in the summer and enjoy the lake view while sitting outside!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“so disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had been to Bugaboo Bay in 2005(ish) and the food was Awesome! Visiting the area again last summer and decided to have dinner there. Really hate to say it, but the food was really, really bad. We picked from the waitresses list of favorites: the Cuban Chicken Sandwich, and my boyfriend had Cajun Alfredo. Sandwich was soggy, and seemed of "McDonalds" quality, the alfredo was worse, the roux wasn't cooked properly so it was full of flour lumps and the. I'm sure with the right person doing the cooking they could both be wonderful dishes, but it was a busy Saturday night, so one would think they'd have their A-game? I doubt I would ever try again:/

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Each time we've visited Alexandria, we've eaten at Bugaboo Bay. We tend to go when it's not been busy, so it was a quiet place. But, we've heard it's a great place to hang out to watch sports events. The large aquarium is a great alternative to watching the games. The food is delicious, especially the walleye and chicken fettucini. Serving sizes are large. Service is quick & cheerful. Extra's and substitutions are charged, but they'll do extra things not on the menu. One thing we found odd... no sides came with the pasta dishes... not even salads. Whereas, the walleye, you get salad, vegetables, and potato. Closed on Mondays.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

it's ok, nothing spectacular but we would try it again. Brought my 2 oldest boys and they really liked the meals they had 15 and 20 years old. Mine was fine, nothing wrong but nothing to write home about either. Use to be really loud and annoying there but they have changed it so you can actually have a conversation now

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bugaboo Bay also viewed

 

Been to Bugaboo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bugaboo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.