We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   821 Plaza St, Albert Lea, MN 56007   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Albert Lea
Watervliet, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very clean. Very friendly staff. Quiet rooms, flat screen TV. Appeared to be newly updated. Within walking distance of Applebees. Has Kurig coffee makers in the room! Breakfast was good with a nice area. Easy on and easy off the highway with gas stations close by. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsternhagen, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments on our hotel. We strive everyday to make your stay a great one, and we are so pleased when you are pleased. I think our breakfast is the best around, and yet we are always improving on it. Be sure you stop again and see what else we might be changing in the future. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Julie Sternhagen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    39
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
40
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Room was very comfortable and nicely decorated with a king bed, flat screen TV, large desk, a very clean bathroom and Keurig coffee maker. Hot/cold breakfast has a nice variety.Coffee and cookies in the lobby area are a nice touch also. Restaurant and grocery store are close by. Would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsternhagen, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the nice review of our hotel. We try very hard to make our hotel the best it can be and it's wonderful when our guests notice the effort and then take time out of your busy life to write us a review. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.
Julie Sternhagen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, TN
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Staff was courteous, complimentary breakfast was great with eggs, sausage, biscuit, gravy, yogurt, fruit, etc. Had a little trouble staying on the wireless internet on my laptop, but there was a computer in the lobby with printer; worked fine. The room had good furniture and decorations, large new TV, and a Keurig coffeemaker which was great. The bathtub was spotless. Best Western has always been the preferred place for us to stay when we travel and this one did not let us down. Restaurants and supermarket were within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsternhagen, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for writting such a nice review of our hotel. You hit on all the things that we strive so hard to provide our guests everyday. Clean rooms, good coffee, great breakfast, and a helpful, courteous staff to help you enjoy your stay. Please come to stay and be our guest again. We'd love to have you. Julie Sternhagen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very, very friendly receptionist when we got there and a very nice room. My girlfriend and I stayed there for a night as a half way point between the Badlands and Chicago. It was nice that in the middle of nowhere (at least to city girls!) we experience zero prejudice for getting a room with just one king for the two of us. Always nice!
The room itself was very clean (as was the bathroom) and had a huge flat screen TV and mini fridge. The full breakfast that was provided in the lobby area in the morning was good - lots of options!
Nicest hotel I've stayed at for a while. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsternhagen, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. We invite you back to stay with us anytime, and hope to always provide you with superior service. Julie Sternhagen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Pet friendly hotel with easy I-90 access. The bed was very comfortable. The room was clean. Staff was pleasant. Breakfast was decent...and free. Easy stay while passing through the area. The in-room coffee was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsternhagen, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your review. You mentioned most of the things we are really proud of in our hotel. Our pet-friendly rooms are just as nice and clean as any other room in our hotel. Our breakfast is something that we keep improving by offering malted waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy, hot & cold cereal, fresh fruit, and lots more. We recently added Keurig coffee makers in our guest rooms and feature 4-seasons coffee, our local coffee company. I invite you to come and visit us again, we'd love to have you!
Julie Sternhagen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed there during a cross country road trip and were pleased with the room, the furnishings, the quiet, and the cleanliness. The free breakfast was pretty good, with fresh fruit as well as other items.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsternhagen, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank You for the nice review of our hotel. We really appreciate you taking the time to do that, and for staying with us as our guest. We believe that we serve the BEST breakfast around. We are always adding items and trying to make it even better. We invite you to stay with us again when in the area. Thanks again,
Julie Sternhagen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just a nice clean hotel with a better continental breakfast than most. Great value.
Poor pillows like most so we bring our own. Large breakfast area.
Only complaint would be it has thin walls. We had a adjoining room door and could hear any conversation. Maybe try a upper floor or room without a adjoining door.

Room Tip: No adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsternhagen, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank You for your review of our hotel. I too, always take my own pillows when staying at a hotel, but I'm wondering if you tried ours? We have wonderful pillows, and get compliments on them almost daily, even requests to purchase them. When you stay next time, please give them a try. We look forward to your return.
Julie Sternhagen, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel

Address: 821 Plaza St, Albert Lea, MN 56007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Albert Lea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Albert Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property has just had a complete upgrade.. 37" flat screen TVs, all new furniture, all new granite in bathrooms, all new bedding and drapes, it is awesome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Albert Lea
Albert Lea Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.