We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77820 East Main Street, Albert Lea, MN 56007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Albert Lea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our GPS had trouble finding this location. I don't know why since it's very easy to get to right off of I-35. The hotel was clean and a good, quiet place to spend the night. We had traveled alot of miles that day and was pretty road weary. We were a little concerned that all the truck stops around the hotel would make it unpleasant but we never heard a truck after we got in our room. The breakfast was very basic, like most of the hotels that offer free breakfast. I will compliment the staff on the fact that there was an attendant keeping the breakfast area clean at all times.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We are so sorry that the GPS system could not find our hotel for you. We are noticing that even after being open for a year there are still many systems and websites that are unable to find us. We will continue to work with them so others do not run into the same problems. Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
12
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Minnesota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a great stay the bed was so comfortable, the room was very clean and the motel must be new, since you can still smell the new smell in the stairs. Our GPS had problems finding the motel to, so the best thing to do is set it for the Loves travel stop, since the motel is just next door. We were happy it was far enough from the freeway that you hear no traffic noise and that is a big plus for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We have now been open for about one year and really hope to keep the property looking and feeling new for many years to come. Thank you for taking the time from your day to give your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express (Albert Lea I-35) is a nice place to stay if you want to avoid a more grueling Chicago or Milwaukee to Rapid City trip in one day. Albert Lea is a good start that allows one to get to Rapid City on day 2, with reasonable stops in Mitchell South Dakota for the World's only Corn Palace and the Badlands loop/Wall drug, without feeling overly burnt out from driving.

This hotel offers a reasonable breakfast (included) and a small but nice pool and exercise room. Our room was clean and the staff particularly friendly - especially the woman who hustled to keep the breakfast items fresh.

While not right off of I 90, the hotel is a very short distance from the I 35 exit towards Des Moines. I would not hesitate to make this hotel your go to place on your way to the wild west.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for recommending our hotel to others. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was able to accommodate. If in our area again we hope that you will stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The HIE was fresh and new, it is so new our gps had trouble finding it. Everything was up to HIE standards. The breakfast room staff was exceptional in keeping the hot foods fresh. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Best of all, the bed was comfortable. The HIE is a great choice for a tired traveler.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. The team in breakfast has been working really hard to ensure that the breakfast bar is continuously stocked and that food stays hot. We are hoping that soon we will be loaded in all GPS systems, this does seem to be one of the biggest downfalls to finding us. We hope that if in our area again you will be our guest, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

So, while this hotel is newish, the lack of care and rude staff overtake any positive attributes. When we got up to our room, the first thing we noticed was the unvacuumed carpet complete with Miller 64 beer bottle cap. There were crumbs between the beds. Made me wonder what else had been neglected. Although we reserved a double queen bed room for our family of 4, there were only towels for 3. Went down to front desk to retrieve towels and requested 4 sets for our next night along with a carpet vacuuming. The receptionist assured me she had it notated, so fine. Of course, we came back to our room to find no vacuuming and only 3 sets of towels. I went back down to the desk, and the same girl who told me she had it handled avoided eye contact while her co-worker fetched the towels and a bar of soap since the maid threw out both bars and only left one. When i remarked that it was strange that the larger suites only get 3 sets of towels, the receptionist gave me an attitude. Really? Wouldn't it be easier to put extra towels in the room like every other hotel i go to instead of having a guest schlep to the front desk to receive necessities? The hallways were also unvacuumed. To top things off, there was a strong sulfur odor emanating from the faucets. I used bottled water to brush my teeth , because, i don't know, stinky water turns my stomach. Who runs this place? I don't care if the place opened yesterday! I won't be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am so sorry for all the inconveniences you encountered during your stay, this is completely unacceptable. Please know all your comments and feedback will be taken to heart and improved on. In regards to the unfriendliness of the front desk staff I have spoken with each team member, they will all be going through a retraining, although not typical behavior of our team I do not want another guest to encounter the same. Your remarks about having additional towels in the suites is very valid and something that we will most definitely be looking into, I think that you are correct, especially on weekends to have additional towels in the room. I understand that you do not plan on staying again but I hope you would reconsider. I would love the opportunity along with our team to give you the experience you should have had the first time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped here on our way home from a long road trip, and we were pleased they had a room for us. The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was pretty good. BUT: there was only one lamp in the whole room, between the beds. There was no lamp on the desk, nor any overhead lights. Also, the water in the bathroom had a strong sulfa odor, which the Front Desk said they were trying to fix. There were no restaurants around, but we ordered pizza from a local place (Jake's), and it was actually very good. My other complaint was that the only ice/vending area in the entire 3-story hotel was on the ground floor.
Despite the little complaints we had, it was a fine place for just an overnight stopover.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We have been working on putting in a filtration system to get rid of the sulfur smell in the water. We know that although it is not harmful it is overwhelming at times and definitely unpleasant. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Kansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Although they were motorcycle friendly and the gal running the kitchen was a real sweetheart at breakfast time, we were not impressed w/ this hotel at all. The elevator is very small; pop machines didn't work, remote control to the tv didn't work (was offered batteries to fix it but that didn't fix it), no place to hang towels so you have to lay them on the toilet tank and the water had a terrible smell to it. There's two very large truck stops near by but unless you want to eat truck stop fast food, there are no restaurants w/in walking distance. I find it discouraging that they get away w/ the rates that we were charged.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager4712, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I am so sorry that you ran into several issues while staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. I will be looking into each one of the issues you had brought up; you should be able to get a drink from the vending and use the tv without difficulty. I know that we are not in the heart of Albert Lea where restaurants are close by but there are many delivery options for your convenience. I want to thank you for all your feedback, we take all comments as a learning experience and try to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35

Address: 77820 East Main Street, Albert Lea, MN 56007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Albert Lea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Albert Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.