We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's nice when a hotel gets it right.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2214 East Main Street, Albert Lea, MN 56007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Albert Lea
Mason City, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It's nice when a hotel gets it right.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I've stayed here almost ten times in the past three months and I've been pleased every time. The rooms are clean and in very good condition. The fitness room is on the smaller side but has enough to get a decent workout while away from the gym. High speed free wi-fi has never failed to provide video streaming and VPN when I need it. The people here are helpful, like when the desk attendant helped me jump-start my car at the end of his shift. If you're looking in the Albert Lea area, I don't think you could be disappointed. And, I was calling around for rates for an extended stay and this hotel had the best price and was most flexible, which is how I came to stay here the first time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! It's alwasy nice to have you stay with us when your in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
12
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

While encountering a Minnesota snow storm, I decided to stay at this property. Upon check-in, the staff was extremely Helpful and seemed genuinely concerned about the weather and making sure I received the type of room I wanted. The property was very clean, lobby, room and breakfast area alike. Two exits south of the Interstate 90 exit I found it to be an oasis in the middle of a snow storm.

Room Tip: The third floor was nice a quiet. The property is located a few blocks off of interstate 35 so there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am grateful that you did get off the roads and stayed with us! Thank you for your kind words and please stop in again when your in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SI NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for the last few years when we are in Albert Lea for business. The hotel is clean, room very comfortable, staff courteous and breakfast included. Gym small but fills my needs. Will keep going back each fall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! I'm so glad that you enjoy your time while here and we look forward to your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta de Mita, Mexico
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here on our drive from northern MN to Galena. The property is conveniently located, is clean, spacious rooms, good breakfast. They charged a fee for our little dog. I recommend it. Even though they had a full house (tour bus), they met our needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was very impressed with our clean and newly decorated room. The layout of the room left space to work with, and the kitchenette had everything we needed but didn't take up much room. The bed was comfortable and our 2 kids slept in the adjacent sitting room. The hotel was busy as there was a water event in town so the breakfast room was packed but the servers kept up with replenishing the food. I would gladly stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you also for your kind words about your stay! I'm so glad that you and your family enjoyed your accommodations and invite you back to stay with us again when your in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here twice in the last month. The staff was very helpful, double queen room was larger than other Country Inns. The motel upgraded us to a queen suite at thier own loss when Club Carlson messed up our reservation. Pool is open to 11pm (12 for adults). Nice exercise room. We got the last available room but the motel was not noisy. Good pizza recommendations. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The queen suite had the exercise room on one side & elevator on the other, so it was quiet. Righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! It was our pleasure to upgrade you to one of our queen suites! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Can't beat the Country Inn in Albert Lea. We've stayed there around a dozen times and have not been disappointed. Actually, we enjoy seeing the friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are also looking fresh and clean. Breakfast buffet changes a bit each day. Loved the oatmeal fixin's.

Like other reviews, check out Jake's Pizza on Clark. It's definitely a local favorite with a unique taste. You can get the other chain Pizza anyday.

One issue, the door lock did not work. We talked to the staff and they gave us a room directly across the hall. Nice not to have to haul our stuff down the hall or to another floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Country Inn & Suites in Albert Lea. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea

Address: 2214 East Main Street, Albert Lea, MN 56007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Albert Lea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Albert Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Albert Lea
Albert Lea Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.