We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   810 Happy Trails Ln., Albert Lea, MN 56007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Albert Lea
Kansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We don't normally stay at Choice Hotels, so we were not looking forward to this stop. We arrived at the hotel around 5 PM, no cars in the parking lot and the hotel appeared empty. The woman at the front desk was friendly, found our reservation immediately, provided the password for free internet, offered a free newspaper - and we were off to our room on the third floor. Immediately on opening the room door we smelled a beautiful scent and noticed how cool (cold) the room was - we were very happy! We explored the room and found it clean and a nice size. I told my husband the only complaint I had - he interrupted me to say "the dirty bottom of the bathtub" - and he was correct. I love to take baths, but would not sit down in that tub. It was not a deal breaker for me as we were only at that hotel one night, I did not complain to the front desk.

After unpacking we took off to explore Albert Lea and have supper. We had such a nice evening, what a great little town. When we returned to the hotel we noticed the parking lot was completely full and people were everywhere. We took an stroll around the hotel property, there was what appeared to be a nice inside swimming pool, nobody was using it. We did notice all the trucks outside, but noise was never an issue for us, as a matter of fact, when we got up at 7:30 the next morning we discovered most of the trucks and travelers had already checked out and we had not heard anything.

Breakfast was provided at the hotel, typical ready made hotel breakfast: scrambled eggs, bacon, bread choices, juice, coffee, a waffle maker, etc. There was plenty to pick from and it was fine. I was worried about being able to find a seat in the breakfast room, but no problem, as I said, it appeared most people that day had checked out early.

When we checked out I asked the desk clerk about the scent we smelled when we first opened our door to the room, she said after the rooms are cleaned the last thing they do is spray the room - I had never experienced this before and really enjoyed it. It turned out to be a very restful stay for us and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    54
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
55
51
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsley, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was right in the middle of a truck stop. The bed spread had an unknown stain and when we opened up the bed there was what appeared to be a dried blood stain, black mascara and a couple of black hairs. The friendly desk clerk moved us to another room which did have clean sheets but this room smelled dirty and had mystery stains on the carpet, I will be hard pressed to convince my wife to ever stay in another Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: back of hotel overlooks huge truck stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertLeaComfortinn, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are so sorry that you found a bed in poor condition! I assure you that we find this completely unacceptable. We have taken care of the situation.
It was our pleasure to have you here and also our pleasure to make sure that you were completely satisfied with your stay.
Being ranked in the top 10% of all Comfort Inns nation wide is something that we are very proud of.. Its guests like you that make us happy to come to work each day.
We know that you have many choices as to where to spend your travel dollar and truly appreciate that you chose us and would really like another chance to serve.

Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hurts to say this, but there shouldn't be a motel on this site. They did almost everything right--clean, everything works, and the young woman at the desk seemed ready to wash and wax our car on request.

But we got in late, it was a hot and humid night, and the A/C was on full. About 11 PM it finally kicked off, and we realized to our amazement that what we thought was the roar of the fan was actually coming from outside.

On opening the drapes I discovered that there was a huge truck parking center just on the other side of a wooden fence. Seventy to eighty big rigs were idling all night, and at various times individual trucks would do truck stuff, banging doors, rearranging stakes, running up the engine. Since this isn't my first time at the rodeo, we got through the night with ear plugs; wasn't quite worth packing everything back up and yelling at the desk clerk.

Nope. Not at $120 a night. Unless you're all wrapped up in the romance of the open road, walk on by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed at this location while going back to omaha from rochester. Right off the interstate for easy access. Morning breakfast was excellent and rooms look like fully renewed. Great restaurant next door made our trip better. Didn't try their pool or fitness center as we were too tired, but they look well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Long trip back from Yellowstone to Milwaukee and picked Albert Lea to stay. Perfect choice! Great service, very clean, great breakfast, and with a HUGE travel center next door - an Iron Skillet and buffet to die for, plus a travel center with everything you could think of for you, the kids, the car, etc. A one stop dream on the road. AND, pet-friendly!

Room Tip: First floor, double queen, especially if you have pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

this is one of the friendest hotels i stay in, they get you in a room as fast as possible, more then willing to help with your needs to find local eatery and things to do in the area. Its close to interstate 35 and they have plenty of parking even for trucks pulling trailers

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Though freshly painted, rooms are a bit dark for my taste. The hotel is clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast choice was great and the pool has extended hours. This is a fine choice for a hotel near the interstate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 810 Happy Trails Ln., Albert Lea, MN 56007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Albert Lea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Albert Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Albert Lea
Albert Lea Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.