We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food every time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Current Restaurant and Bar

Current Restaurant and Bar
3291 St. Croix Tr. S., Afton, MN 55001
(651) 436-8883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Current Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4 restaurants in Afton
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cty Road 21
Description: CURRENT's menu is fresh, lively and healthy... along with a few items for splurging! We support locally owned, independently operated farms and businesses whenever possible. CURRENT brings to you 100% natural or free range raised products only from farms using best practices and we strive to offer natural, organic and local produce and ingredients whenever possible. Our culinary team has a passion for scratch cooking and uses only the highest quality of fresh ingredients available. CURRENT cares about it's community and footprint and gives back a portion of proceeds to others in need in our community and around the world.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We LOVE current and have gone with just 2 of us, and with groups with up to 9 people. The food and service is fantastic. Favorites are Chicken Drops, Burgers, Thai Chicken Flat Bread, Apple and Apricot salad with 5 herb dressing is a must every time. On Mondays they have $5 burgers and fries which is a great deal! This is a great place to go with friends. It is in the heart of downtown Afton. Worth driving if you do not live close. If you are out with friends, and want to be together longer, walk over to Swirl My Wine for a glass of wine by the fireplace.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    16
    10
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Addition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I went to the Current Restaurant and Bar for my birthday a couple of weeks ago and we were pleasantly surprised by this place. The atmosphere is fun and energetic with large groups and couples. The food we had was amazing! Our waitress was wonderful and really knew the menu which was nice. We ordered the Roast Horseradish flatbread which was crispy and tangy because of the Gorgonzola cheese. And we could not decide between the Current burger and the Ultimate burger, but our waitress told us to definitely order the Ultimate burger and we did. Wow! That burger was amazing, a ground beef topped with shredded pork? YUM!! The queso and salsa verde were nice toppings to the burger too.The food was fresh and a little out of the ordinary that your typical bar food. The presentation of the food is unique and fun.
Another bonus you can buy a bottle of wine at Swirl and bring it over to the Current for a $5 corkage fee. We bought a special bottle over and enjoyed it with out meal.
Current Restaurant and Bar is a wonderful addition to the Afton Inn. We are anxious to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh local good for a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you're looking for great food at a great price, Current is the place to go. The menu is a combination of specialty foods (flatbreads, burgers, ribs, tacos, steak, etc.) all made to perfection. These aren't your average food. They're fresh and just a little different than the rest. Our favorites are the turkey burger with green apple and lingenberry sauce and sweet potato fries. The edamame is fabulous with the special sauce. The chef just introduced a roast beef, horseradish and Gorgonzola flatbread as well as an apple dumpling dessert. All were fabulous and at a very reasonable price. In the summer we pull our boat up to the public dock and eat lunch or dinner here. We love it!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great meals, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

While staying at the Afton House Inn for my 50th birthday weekend getaway, my wife and I had two meals in the Current Restaurant and Bar. We had a great Saturday night dinner and then had a late Sunday brunch before checking out. Both meals were wonderfully prepared and the waitresses that we had both Saturday night and Sunday morning were helpful, pleasant, and attentive.

For Friday's dinner we sampled one of the restaurant's signature flatbreads (roast beef & horseradish with onions) as an appetizer and then both had steak dishes for our main course. My wife had the Bison steak and salad and I had the "Baseball" steak (10-oz. tenderloin with mashed potatoes and fresh green beans). Portion sizes were generous and the food was prepared expertly. I can't say enough about how helpful our waitress was with recommendations and a great knowledge regarding the menu items. She was also very pleasant and fun to chat with when she had a moment.

The Sunday brunch menu offered a number of great items that made the choice difficult. There was an eggs benedict dish that was served on a mini-waffle instead of an english muffin. There was biscuits and gravy. And there was Rumchata French Toast. We went with a breakfast flatbread (eggs, cheese, bacon, and tomatoes) and the Short rib/fingerling potatoes hash. Both of our selections were great beyond words. And again, our waitress was very helpful and pleasant despite there being a large group that she was also serving.

Prices for both the dinner menu and the brunch menu were very reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We didn't know too much about this restaurant before going so didn't have any specific expectations. We went to this restaurant to celebrate our anniversary, the atmosphere was very nice, close to the river, small and intimate setting. It was very quiet when we got there, however, within 30 minutes a wedding party entered the small quarters (from the attached hotel) and it was crazy. We could hardly talk to each other, while this isn't really a detriment to the restaurant, it did put a damper on our evening.

The food was excellent, however, the waitress misunderstood our order and brought my husband the wrong entree. He then had to wait while his order was made and I ate my anniversary dinner alone. Maybe it would have helped if she had written it down or possibly repeated what she thought she heard. All in all it was a good experience, and the food was very tasty and presented well. We will go back but maybe not on a Saturday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Current Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Current Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Current Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.