We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Featherstone Rd, Auburn Hills, MI 48326 (Formerly Auburn Hills Hotel & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Construction in front of the hotel made it a little difficult to get to, but once we were on the Hampton property, all was well--quiet, clean, and restful. The breakfast was hot and very delicious too.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always appreciated when our guests are willing to take the time to tell us about their stay. We work very hard to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable room and excellent service from all our team members. Reviews such as yours allow us insight into both what we are doing properly and what we can improve on. I am very pleased to report that as of the end of November the construction in front of our hotel is complete. We now have a brand new road to match our new hotel.
Thank you again for sharing with us about your stay and for being our guest. We hope to see you the next time you are in Auburn Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
10
6
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here several times while in town for business. It is close to Chrysler headquarters and good freeway access. Restaurants nearby are a bit sparse but if you can live with fast food it is not too bad. Their breakfast is as good as it gets for "complimentary". Price is fair and you pay a little extra to get higher-quality lodging.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We want to thank you for taking the time to share with us about your stay. It is a source of great pride when we hear that our guests are happy and comfortable with the hotel we are lucky enough to be a part of. I am glad you enjoyed breakfast and found our location convenient for your business travels. Thank you for staying with us and for telling us about your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you the next time your travels bring you to Auburn Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwin, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

"The 100% guarantee or you don't pay motto" is not true. I selected this hotel for leisure purposes. Although the rooms were standard, we looked forward to relaxing in the large hot tub. A hot tub is listed under amenities under hotel's official web site. And the website also shows photos of the pool and hot tub area. When making reservation a week prior I asked the hours of pool and hot tub. You get the idea. The hot tub was an expectation and reason for hotel selection. After checking in, we quickly made our way to the pool and hot tub area. Oh, wait...there is not hot tub. Since we werelooking forward to the hot tub all day, we decided to check out and stay at another hotel in area. I was absolutley not angry with the staff at the front desk. These wonderful people provided excellent customer service when we checked in. We reralized they have nothing to do with hotel website being inacurate. We maintained our sense of humor and simply wanted to leave. Although inconvienient, we knew the misunderstanding was only taking an hour or so out of our day. There are many hotels in the area and we simply wanted to check out ASAP to get to a hotel with hot tub. Simple, right? I was amazed that after explaining situation to the staff, they were not sure this reason or plan was acceptable. They needed to check into it becasue "we don't usually allow this". They tried to talk us out of leaving ("all of the hotels in the area are booked tonight" and "Even if you find a hotel with a hot tub, you will not get it for same price". When I explained I did confirm pool and hot tub when I made reservation, he was defensive and said "we do have a pool." He challenged me and demanded to know WHAT website I was looking at. I explained it was the hotel's offical website proudly claiming they recently remodled and updated everything. It listed hot tub as an ammenity with pictures. We didnt start off irritated with the staff at all. It was not their fault. We simply wanted to leave ASAP to get a hotel with a hot tub. They made us feel very unreasonable and seemed offended. Lesson learned: Always call hotel and specifically ask if ammenities listed are accurate if something is important to you. I realize now that asking about the pool and hot tub hours was too vague. By the way, theit heated pool was freezing. If it had it been warm like the second hotel we checked into (Crown Plaza), we may have stayed. The nearby Crown Plaza's warm pool and hot tub were absoultely wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I want to sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding and disappointment you incurred when you were visiting our hotel. We used to have a hot tub in our pool area which was recently removed to adhere to current standards. I assure you our website is being updated to reflect the current amenities we offer. We appreciate you bringing to our attention that our pools heater was not working properly; we have replaced our entire heating system with a brand new heater for our brand new pool. The inquiry regarding where you received the inaccurate information is a part of our ongoing effort to update and maintain all sites which may be publishing outdated amenities listings.
I am glad our team was hospitable during your abbreviated stay, we are familiar with the area and are knowledgeable of events or other factors which may cause limited availability at area hotels. The last thing we want is for a guest to be without a room for the night, even if you are not staying with us. I am glad you were not charged for your room per our 100% Hampton Guarantee. It is our policy to strictly follow the guarantee whenever a guest requests. Unfortunately updates to any site can take time to process and I am disappointed that this process caused you confusion and an inconvenience during your leisure stay.
I am glad you enjoyed your evening at one of our neighbor hotels, we are glad that you were able to find what you were looking for and hope to have the opportunity to demonstrate the quality and comfort we always work to provide our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was very clean with comfortable beds and pillows. Very professional and friendly staff. Front desk was very quick with check-in and check-out. Could hear some hallway noise but it didn't keep me awake at night. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to tell us about your stay at our hotel. Guest reviews are an important resource, being that they give us insight into how our guests see their stay with us. I am glad your room was comfortable and our team took good care of you. We know when traveling the faster you can get settled into your room the faster you begin to feel more at home, even when you may be many miles from it. I apologize for the noise, but I am glad it was not enough to disturb your sleep.
We look forward to having you as our guest again on your next trip to Auburn Hills. Thank you for staying with us and again for your reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We're at the point where we don't even bother looking for alternatives - why would we. Great Hotel, Clean everywhere, great people that know what Customer Service is all about, and all the amenities you can ask for. Predictable, great value, and Hampton keeps on delivering what we need all the every time.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for telling us about your stay at our hotel. We always appreciate feedback from our guests, it can be an excellent tool for us to see how we are doing. It is always a special source of pride for us when we are able to hear from someone who is familliar with Hampton Inns. Being a brand new hotel we are constantly looking to guests to share in their honest opinion how their stay with us was. We know that the one thing you wish you could bring with you when traveling is your home so we are happy that we are able to open up the doors to ours and have you as our guest. We are greatful that you gave us the opportunity to host you at our Hampton Inn, and we are so proud to have been able to give you the expierience that you have come to expect when staying with our hotels.
Thank you again for staying with us and for telling us how we did, we hope to have the chance to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every single thing about this hotel is outstanding from the staff to the rooms to the continental breakfast. The location is ideal! The rooms were nicely appointed, clean and spacious. The staff was friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. I loved this hotel and plan on returning year after year.

Room Tip: First floor is the best place to stay! You don't have to be bothered with an elevator. Quick acc...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent! Their message is very clean and noticeable in all rooms. It is apparent that they are dedicated to a green environment.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We work every day to cultivate a clean and comfortable place to stay. We are also very focused on providing excellent guest service and making ourselves available to provide assistance in any situation. As much as we wish we could, it is impossible for us to see ourselves as our guests see us. This is why reviews like yours are a key part in knowing how we are doing, and why we are so proud when we are told so many kind observations from your stay.
Thank you again for being our guest and for telling us about your stay, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Auburn Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is modern, very clean, and staff were friendly and helpful. My only suggestion would be to have more signage on the road to direct out of town visitors to the hotel. Once I left the interstate, I knew to turn right, but after that, I ended lost because I wasn't sure where to go.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I am glad you enjoyed staying with us. It is wonderful to hear that the staff took good care of you once you arrived. I do apologize for the difficulty you experienced with finding our hotel from the interstate. Being a brand new Hampton Inn we are working to ensure as many guests know we are here as we can and we appreciate you letting us know what we need to do to improve our visibility. Thank you for your honest review and for being our guests, we hope your travels bring you back our way soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South

Address: 2200 Featherstone Rd, Auburn Hills, MI 48326 (Formerly Auburn Hills Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auburn Hills
#3 Family Hotel in Auburn Hills
#3 Green Hotel in Auburn Hills
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable and modern hotel in Auburn Hills, Michigan. Welcome to the Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South - the closest hotel to the Silverdome stadium in Pontiac, MI. Centrally located in the Chrysler Headquarters, west of I-75 and south of Featherstone Drive, our stylish Auburn Hills hotel offers easy access to fantastic shopping opportunities at The Somerset Collection and Great Lakes Crossing Outlets and sports and entertainment at the nearby Palace of Auburn Hills. Oakland University, Oakland Community College, Baker College and the Thomas M. Cooley Law School are just two miles from our welcoming hotel in Auburn Hills, MI. Our spacious guest rooms at this hotel in Auburn Hills, MI, feature a refrigerator, a microwave, free WiFi and a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Enjoy Hampton's free hot breakfast featuring hot and cold favorites including fresh-baked waffles and hearty oatmeal with toppings. If you're in a hurry, grab a free Hampton On the Run™ Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday. Print documents and surf the web in the free 24-hour business center and hold a meeting for up to 12 people in this Auburn Hills, MI hotel's flexible boardroom. After a busy day, relax in the heated indoor swimming pool or energize with the latest equipment in the free fitness center. Enjoy free tea and coffee 24-hours a day in the modern lobby, and consult the front desk staff about what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Auburn Hills Hotel Auburn Hills
Wingate Auburn Hills
Wingate Hotel Auburn Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.