We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Detroit Auburn Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Detroit Auburn Hills to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Detroit Auburn Hills
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1294 N Opdyke Road, Auburn Hills, MI 48326   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Hudsonville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night to attend the State Wrestling Finals at The Palace. The staff was nice but the property was not that great. I paid $117 for a two queen room. I stayed in room 311. The window drapes had cigarette burns in them?? Really? They did not catch this during a room inspection? The wallpaper behind the television was also bubbled and coming off. The bathtub was stained and the white was coming off. The tub faucet was leaking and the floor was not clean. The room refrigerator was loud as was the heater. Another thing that irked me was the elevator. There was one of those yellow "slippery floor" signs draped over the inside elevator hand railing. It stayed there for two days. Very unsightly and not professional. I had to stay in the area again I would not stay here. Try staying at the Hyatt Place across the street. Friends stayed there and had a better experience. Or try staying closer to Great Lakes Crossings Mall. The hotels there looked cleaner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    27
    25
    15
See reviews for
21
15
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It was relatively clean, did find a dental pick on the window sill. Stayed overnight, did not stay for the breakfast. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I would stay there again, however, if I was staying more than one night, I might stay someone with more ammenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here one night for a quick business trip. This hotel is just OK. There are much better places to stay in the Aurburn Hills area. It is a little dated. Perfectly adequate but I would look elsehwere. The Marriot on Centerpoint Pkwy would be a better choice. I have stayed there many times. It's is top notch and a good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. Our room was clean, front desk people were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is typical Fairfield Inn type. This hotel can difficult to find. It is located behind Wendy's. If you see Wendy's, there is a driveway next to Wendy's, follow the drive way to Fairfield.Inn in the back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, IL
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is by far the worst Marriott I have yet to come across. The rooms.. Beyond outdated. I heard everything from the room that is behind us... or so it seemed. The bathrooms are the size of a small closet and don't even think about sleeping on the side that faces 75. The best thing about the hotel besides the free breakfast is the Courtyard with an amazing staff next door! The extra $20 is worth it.

Room Tip: Just walk next door to the courtyard. There amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I think this place was an old motel that they converted to a Fairfield. The lobby was nice, staff was friendly but everything else screamed motel. The room felt dirty. Just wasn't what I expect when staying at a Marriott property (I stay at a lot of them). I travel too much to stay in places I'm not comfortable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I couldn't have been happier with my stay! Every staff member I encountered was beyond friendly. I was looking for local attractions and restaurants and I was given very good directions. The FREE breakfast was a perfect start to my day. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I'd stay again and recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay while away from home!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Detroit Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Detroit Auburn Hills

Address: 1294 N Opdyke Road, Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Location: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Detroit Auburn Hills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Detroit Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Detroit Auburn Hills Hotel Auburn Hills
Fairfield Inn Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Auburn Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Detroit Auburn Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.