We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time or lots of money!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lelli's Restaurant

Lelli's Restaurant
885 N Opdyke Rd, Auburn Hills, MI 48326-2639
(248) 373-4440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 119 Restaurants in Auburn Hills
Price range: $0 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or lots of money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

What a disappointment. This was our second time @ the Auburn Hillls location, we had been to the original in Detroit many times & always loved it. The lobby was stacked with chairs & bucket with a mop sticking out of it! Not what I want to see when entering a restaurant that charges $45-$60 per plate! The decor is old run down & tacky. We waited 10 minutes before anyone even came over to take a drink order. The food was good but took way too long in between dishes. The service was so under parr I was almost embarrassed that I had suggested to my family to celebrate my husbands birthday dinner there! We won;t be going back! Way too many other wonderful restaurants like Mario's in Detroit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    35
    24
    16
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

food and service were excellent. Decor is a bit dated but that was part of the experience.
we went back a 2nd night.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Buenissimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I ate here Thursday evening at 6:30, using a Groupon coupon. Not too busy, and we had excellent service from Derek. We both had the 6 oz. filet mignon, and it was to die for!!! Cooked medium rare and so tender we could almost cut it with a fork. Their dinner rolls are served hot and have a crunchy crust and chewy inside. I normally do not eat bread at restaurants, but this was too good to resist. We were so full that we could not eat the spumoni. I think Lelli's has now become our go-to restaurant for special occasions. Well worth it!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Valentine's debacle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The fact that "Kate S." below only has 1 review leads me to believe she may have ulterior motives for her Valentine's review.
Anyway, my wife and I also had reservations for Valentine's Day. BIG MISTAKE. As mentioned below, Lelli's is normally a laid-back, 2-hours to eat your meal, take your time kind of place, and it's an Italian favorite of ours. The filet, as EVERYONE has mentioned, is phenomenal. The price is also pretty phenomenal, but I understand in this world you get what you pay for. Valentine's night was NUTS at this place. Our salads were thrown together, and the pasta, which is ALWAYS perfect, was under-cooked. The manager did stop by and apologize for everything (even before we complained), and was sincere about it.
For those people who waited forever on Valentine's day, I'd suggest giving it one more chance. The valet was parking cars 1/4 mile away, and the staff was obviously swamped. We won't go back on a holiday again, but we will definitely go back. When you taste the crust on the filet or the strip, you'll understand why.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of our first dates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good Italian. This is the first place I took my husband as 'my treat' when we were dating. The food and service were good. The place is a little run-down and could use a face-lift.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lelli's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lelli's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lelli's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.