We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 University Drive, Auburn Hills, MI 48326   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #15 of 16 hotels in Auburn Hills
Pontiac, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Super 8!?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed at Homestead for one night even though I felt a bit apprehensive. PL accepted my bid of $25 (you get what you pay for).

Upon checking in I requested a room on the highest floor. Although the clerk was quick to say “no” he decided to check the computer and found me a room on the top floor.

I stayed at this hotel a couple years back and it was a pretty decent hotel but as I suspected the hotel has really gone down. The carpet & shower were filthy; the counter top had some cracks in it; the bed was comfortable but it had 2 of the saddest pillows on it that smelled of cigarettes. The closet door’s mirror was cracked.

I couldn’t wait to check OUT of this hotel and will probably never stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars more and stay some place else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    8
    9
    8
See reviews for
7
6
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This was my second trip to USA to Michigan. I chose this suites as many TCS employees stay there. The room I got was very good, big one. The room had 1 TV, TV guide on what channels will be coming. The Bed was a King size bed that I got so it was comfortable. It had good storage space, so i can pack my 2 suitcases with ease. The restroom was not the good one, it had some broken valves, temporarily fixed. Also the kitchen doors in Modular kitchen had some issues. Nevertheless I found this hotel convinent for my daily travel to my compamy. Delphi Corporation and Chrysler LLC were very nere. It had ample car parking. I got some M plate vehicles from my company and put it in the parling lot.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Even tho were only in the area for 1 night, we stayed here because it was close to our client. We had worked an overnight shift and were exhausted when we arrived so we checked in, pulled the curtains closed and collapsed into a deep sleep. Beds were awesome and the extra space we'd use if we stayed a longer time.

Discovering the BD's Mongolian Grill next door was a great find too. The whole area is very clean and there are plenty of service businesses in the area too.

We often use ESA for our longer stays, but will now seek out a Homestead Studio Suite as it is a step up in spaciousness and luxury finishes.

Room Tip: 105 was within EZ access to the rear door with plenty of parking right outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind River, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Couldn't have been better! Everything was wonderful!! It was so clean and quiet at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

I checked into this hotel yesterday. The clerk (earring in nose) gave me a room on the first floor. I told her I did not want to be on the first floor. She said they were full and that was all she had. There was another person standing behind her. I later called the hotel's reservation line and asked if they had five rooms available at the Homestead Studio Suites on University Drive in Auburn Hills. They said no problem.

As could be expected from a hotel where the front desk clerk lies in the presence of a co-worker, the hotel is a flea bag. There was hair in the shower, the towels are scratchy, the bed is not just very uncomfortable, it makes a loud noise when you sit on it. There are three hangers in the closet even though this is an extended stay hotel. The TV turns off after 90 minutes and the room stinks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Clean rooms, comfortable bed, full size refrigerator, microwave, everything that you need. Great price for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

My husband & I stayed here when we went to a show at The Palace. I would definitely stay here again. The staff was friendly, the hotel was clean, it was only a few miles from The Palace and was very inexpensive. The only downfall was that there was not a breakfast included but that was ok because of the fact that the hotel was inexpensive and there is a kitchen included (at least in our room) if you wanted to bring your own breakfast items.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive

Address: 3315 University Drive, Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 hotels in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Extended Stay, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Auburn Hills
Homestead Suites Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Homestead Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.