We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Au Train
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage
Save
You added Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage to your Saves list
N6925 Forest Lake Road, Au Train, MI 49806   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Au Train B&B and Inns
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet & comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Our host was a wealth of knowledge, giving us great tips & advice. There are so many beautiful off the beaten track places to see & enjoy. The accommodations and breakfast were excellent. We felt like family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed the quiet, relaxing atmosphere of the Au Train Lake B&B. Susan was very helpful with ideas and tips to make our time enjoyable. This was our first trip to the UP and we loved it! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We returned to the Museum Cottage for another week-long vacation. The Museum Cottage is ideally located near hiking and biking trails, swimming in the Au Train River and Lake Superior, and the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. Offering comfortable space, a roomy kitchen, cable T.V., and wireless internet, the cottage is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed in the Paulson Room which was spacious, nicely appointed, and had a very nice view of the pond via large windows and a deck. The room was much like having a suite. Breakfasts were fantastic...Susan prepares gourmet breakfasts and serves them with fine presentation. Make sure to take time and savor the breakfasts. When we returned from outings Susan greeted us with trays of refreshing iced tea, fruits and nuts. She was also very helpful in making suggestions about local activities, sights, and restaurants. We used Au Train Lake B&B as home base while exploring Marquette, Munising, Grand Island, area waterfalls and Pictured Rocks. Overall the stay was very renewing. We recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

A great place to stay if you're considering exploring the UP. My wife and I stayed at the cottage. We found the owners kind, and a valuable resource for information on things to do. The location of the cottage/B&B was also just right for us. It made getting to Marquette, Munising and everything in between pretty easy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Although the room we stayed in was lovely, as was the area surrounding the B&B, we found the owner, Susan, to be an extremely poor hostess. She seemed unhappy that we inconvenienced her by coming to her B&B. At times, she was absolutely rude. The home made breakfasts were poor..... little taste although the fruit was fresh and good. We have stayed at many B&Bs through the years and have never encountered such a disgruntled owner. I would NOT recommend this B&B to anyone. We did not even have hand soap in the bathroom, nor was there a curtain on the bathroom window. I wonder if this was the same Susan that all the positive reviewers met!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

My wife and I spent four nights while visiting my wife's brother. We originally chose the B&B because it was close to where he lives, and I'm glad we did. Susan was a great hostess, and served some of the best gourmet breakfasts we've had in some time. The room was quiet, clean, and had a beautiful view of Paulson Pond. We'll be staying there again the next time we travel to the UP!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage

Address: N6925 Forest Lake Road, Au Train, MI 49806
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Au Train
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Au Train
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional B&B located between AuTrain Lake and Paulson Lake on the grounds of Paulson House, Michigan Historic Site 176, in north central Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Three rooms, each with private bath and decks, furnished for comfort, supremely restful beds, thick towels Views of the lakes, meadow and forest. Country gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.