We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for a suite, good place for family with an infant or toddler.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Waymarket Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Columbia, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value for a suite, good place for family with an infant or toddler.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

We were very pleased with our recent week-long stay at this Candlewood location. The suite layout allowed us to put our 2-year-old to bed in a separate room from us, his parents, so we could stay up later than 8 PM! The price was good for this much space, plus a full kitchen including dishwasher. DVD player too, good for the little one. (The front desk has a small selection of videos to borrow). Sure the suites are a bit antiseptic looking but all the amenities you need and clean as well. Location superb, as you can walk next door to a small shopping center with a Panera's (good for breakfast) and a Moe's. Across the road is a fantastic huge Whole Foods market, as well as Old Country Buffet. Many more restaurants are a 3-to-5 minute drive away. Even the heart of Ann Arbor is only about 10-15 minutes by car. Hotel is right off I-94 but soundproofing of windows was very good, could hardly hear any rumble at all.

The rather odd sickly-sweet smell alluded to in another review here was present in our room upon check-in...our guess was some kind of disinfectant they use upon cleaning. We got used to it within a couple of minutes, and by the second or third day it was hardly noticeable even upon first entering the room. Probably if one opened the windows fully, one could get rid of this smell even quicker. Only other small "complaint" was no wi-fi, only internet via the cable attachment at the work desk, so no surfing in bed possible. An outstanding value, staff was friendly. We would recommend this to families like ours in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
11
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Stayed there for a U of Michigan grad school event and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very large and clean. I was surprised to get so much space for the value. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Nork
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Stayed w/ wife and college-aged daughter ( pretty comfy pull out sofa) for three nights. Ended up on the ground floor which was ok but a little weird - right next to the parking lot.

Everything was a little shabby, but reasonably clean. The location was decent; close to shopping and chain restaurants, a Whole Foods right down the street, easy off 94, and only 10 minutes to downtown and U of Mich.

I might look for something newer next time, but no real complaints.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I was a little disappointed about the appearance. I agree with the review about the filthy carpet in the elevation. There was also a slight smell in our room. It wasn't really offensive, just a smell, possibly a little musty. We had a one bedroom suite. It was comfortable and clean. The hotel was quiet. The bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly. I liked the free laundry facilities and the shop that is operated on the honor system. The shop had a nice supply of snacks and quick foods. The prices were really not too bad. With a little clean-up, I would give this facility 4 stars. As it stands now, a neutral rating is about all I can give it.

  • Liked — I liked the full kitchen and friendly staff
  • Disliked — The slightly worn look
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster, pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We drove home all night last night rather than stay another night. We certainly were not expecting fancy, but the filthy carpet in the elevator should have served as a warning....A property can be worn, but clean. As soon as we got off the elevator, the cigarette smoke filled hall was upon us. Having booked a non-smoking room we thought "oh no", but we arrived at our room that said non-smoking. Smoke was the least of the problems--we opened the door and a slightly rotten, sour milk smell was upon us. Being tired and with three little kids, we thought we would deal and went to bed. I did open the freezer to put an ice pack in and was blasted by the most horrible smell ever--rotting meat/saurkraut/mystery, who knows. I went down to the desk where someone gave me a pink bathroom cleaner to wipe it out. It didn't look dirty but the smell was impossible to get rid of. It permeated the room, our pillows, everything. It caused a migrane, asthma weezing and stuffy noses and the thought of staying another night was more than we could bear--they were very nice and didn't charge us for another night.
One note--a crew of men were ripping out filthy carpet and hauling out the same furniture that was in our room while we were there. Maybe with a renovation, the smell will improve? In the meantime, avoid it.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

First, let me say I have traveled for years and stayed at low end motels and high end hotels. I have learned that there are two types of travelers - those that expect perfection and are unhappy with anything that falls short of it, and those that understand that nothing in life is perfect and can adjust to life's unexpected challenges. I fall into the latter group.

I was in Ann Arbor for 4 nights looking for a condo to purchase for my son who will be attending the U of M over the next 5 years. My son also was attending a wedding. Here are the major pluses that we found at the Candlewood Suites.

1) Location - right down the block from a major local mall, just minutes from Highway 94, 10 minutes from the U of M and dozens and dozens of restaurants.

2) Room amenities - Kitchenette with a coffee maker, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, full-sized refrigerator with ice maker, an kitchen utensils, cups, and plates, and even a pot to cook or boil something in.

3) Desk and Internet feed.

4) Color tv with free multiple HBO channels

5) Combo resource room with mini-store that had all of the basic toiletries and groceries and frozen products you could buy on the "honor system".

6) Free washers and dryers which I ended up using to spare my wife back home from having to do a ton of dirty laundry upon my return.

7) Fitness Center with two treadmills, an exercise, eliptical machine, crunch bench and multi-station weight machine, with tv hooked up to cable.

8) Helpful and friendly staff

9) Top value for the money - through the "Priority Club" I was able to get a room with all of the above with two twin beds for $79 a night.

10) The room had a full sized ironing board and iron and a hair dryer in the bathroom.

Negatives - none of which affected my high opinion of the hotel, but again remember it's a matter of expectations and attitude.

1) Our room had a distinct odor to it like cheesecake - two minutes inside and we didn't notice it.

2) During a stay less than 7 days there is no maid service, however if you want fresh towels you just take your old ones to the front desk and they'll replace them for you. We liked no maid service because it allowed us to leave our stuff where it was and not be in anyone's way.

Super PLUS! - I had left my pillow from home in the room. I called the hotel the next day and they shipped it to me and I had it two days later! How can you beat that?

I will definitely return to the Candlewood Suites whenever I visit my son.

  • Liked — All of the amenities like the kitchenette, mini-store, free laundry, and fitness center
  • Disliked — the cheesecake smell of the room - but it didn't spoil it for us
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

This is a nice, clean hotel. It's got a good location--close to the mall and restaurants.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor

Address: 701 Waymarket Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.The Candlewood Suites Detroit Ann Arbor is nestled in the city of Ann Arbor, the home of the Ann Arbor Art Festival. The hotel is located only 40 miles west of Detroit and close to I-94. Only a hop, skip and jump away you may visit the University of Michigan, Cabela's and Lake Forest Golf Course. Concordia and Eastern Michigan Universities are 10 minutes away. Shop until you drop at Briarwood Mall within mile and enjoy 10 excellent restaurants & Whole Foods Market directly across the street. The moment you enter the hotel you will enjoy the warm comforts of home. Everything from an executive desk to home entertainment helps guests work smart and relax. With two separate phone lines and free high-speed Internet access, you can relax and enjoy the amenities we have to offer. Each room offers a full kitchen, DVD/VCR, and a CD player. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard to purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. You may also borrow from our video & CD library. If you here for the night or a month, take advantage of our comforts. Complimentary on-site fitness and laundry facility are always available. Domino's World Headquarters, VA Hospital, General Motors, Henry Ford Museum and Purple Rose Theatre are all in proximity. This is life on the road at its best.Pet friendly restrictions and fees apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Candlewood Suites Ann Arbor
Candlewood Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.