We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced. Very clean and modern. Friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Ann Arbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Ann Arbor to your Saves list
Courtyard Ann Arbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3205 Boardwalk, Ann Arbor, MI 48108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced. Very clean and modern. Friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

In a cluster of hotels near I-94, you will find this clean modern Courtyard by Marriott. Indoor pool, free WiFi. Recommended hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    76
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
49
17
9
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Clean, well-located hotel. Excellent staff--friendly & helpful. Higgly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I was suprised at how nice this hotel was. Great value for the money. Clean, modern and comfortable. The hotel catered our lunch at the meeting I was at and it was very good. Well located -close to the mall amd U of M. This will be my first choice for an Ann Arbor stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Spent one night at the Ann Arbor Courtyard Marriott to attend a business meeting nearby the next day. Lobby and courtyard are lovely. I had an extended king (suite) that had a living room area with flat screen tv, fridge, couch, chair and desk. Bedroom had large king bed and another flat screen tv. Decor modern, nice and colorful. My only complaint is the fan in the bathroom. I stay in a lot of hotels and I have never heard a bathroom fan so loud! Unfortunately, anytime you turn on the bathroom light the fan comes on too. I was surprised that I did not see other reviews mention this so maybe it was just in the room I had (223).
Overall good choice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Hill, MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great stay! Clean, new, & great for groups. Lobby area great for congregating. Traveled with large group for wedding, always able to sit together in the lobby and chat.

Gym - two treadmills, one elliptical, one bike, and some free weights. Not huge.

Indoor pool and hot tub. (No outdoor pool, but they did have an outdoor sitting area.)

Breakfast - there is free coffee in the lobby, AND a Starbucks counter (er, breakfast counter which served Starbucks). "Starbucks" counter also served omelets, oatmeal - good simple breakfasts.

Would recommend to a friend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We spent 7 nights here in a handicap accessible room that was lovely. The room had 2 queen beds, a good-size LCD TV, coffee maker, fridge, and good working desk. The bathroom was clean and the bath featured a "bench" that could be put down to lay across the length of the tub to sit on and shower. My mother used this and thought it a great arrangement.

As other reviewers have said, the lobby is elegant -- the furnishings throughout the hotel are tasteful, elegant, and new. The hotel gym was small, but had nice equipment. There are computers in the lobby that you can use to print out boarding passes -- a nice touch. Wifi was free. There is a small shop, "The Market" next to the reception area that has food items and other necessities and seems to be open 24 hrs/day.

A key reason for a hotel stay is to sleep. Unfortunately, we found this difficult given the amazingly worn-out mattresses. We couldn't sit on the beds as the edges gave way completely. The front desk staff were very nice, but none was able to resolve the mattress situation. We spoke with the front desk after our first night in the room and were told that they could put a board under the (worst) mattress. This did not happen. We spoke to another person the next day and she told me that the person who told us that they had boards to put under the mattress didn't work there... very confusing given that this person had been behind the front desk. We were also told that although they didn't have boards, they could swap out the mattresses as they had some empty rooms. That never happened. We finally gave up.

Another issue was that twice during our 7 day stay, the water was turned off with less than one hour's notice. We were notified by a phone call to the room. There were no posted messages in the elevator and no flyers put under doors. People coming back to the hotel or from the gym would not have known that they would have no water in their room for an hour or so.

Finally, the cleaning crew uses an air freshener that has a strong smell. Since the windows do not open to air out the room, we requested that the air freshener not be used. Despite requesting this at the front desk (they said they passed on the request to housekeeping), and to a housekeeping person on our floor, the air freshener was used all but one or two days.

Despite these negatives, the hotel is a good value and I would stay here again, but would first check out the beds.

The hotel is located just off the I-94 highway and close to Briarwood, a shopping mall, fast food restaurants, and Damon's, a sports bar/grill. The hotel is not in a walking neighborhood, but it is conveniently located within a few miles of downtown Ann Arbor and the U of Michigan.

Room Tip: Check out the beds! If you're allergic or don't like perfume, try requesting no air fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This Marriott has been recently remodeled. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms all have new, contemporay furniture and finishes. The room I had included a king bed and separate sitting area, flat screen TVs, adequately sized bathroom and was quiet.
The bed and bedding was comfortable. The bathroom does not have any make-up mirror though.
Overall one of the nicest, newest rooms I have been in for a while--unless you go to a much more expensive hotel.
The neighborhood is near office complexes, the mall (the mall however is quite dated and nothing special), and I-94.
The lobby cafe has Starbucks which they do well and limited menu.
The only aspect of the hotel I did not like was the elevators--they are few and far in between. One single elevator at each end of the very long hallways. It is always a hike.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ann Arbor

Address: 3205 Boardwalk, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#11 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully designed and smoke-free, the Courtyard Ann Arbor hotel impresses savvy business travelers with its innovative facilities and delights leisure travelers with its superior amenities. As one of the preferred University of Michigan hotels, the Courtyard Ann Arbor is conveniently located near research parks and the University of Michigan's campus, hospitals and medical centers. Now serving Starbucks coffee in the NEW Bistro Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Courtyard
Ann Arbor Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Ann Arbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.