We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3285 Boardwalk, Ann Arbor, MI 48108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A fine budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

i am normally tend to stay at higher end hotels, but it was a home football weekend in ann arbor and booking several months in advance did not leave me with many choices. i luckily found this hotel that had two rooms for my group. it was nicely maintained and clean - two important things i look for in any hotel. and the breakfast was fantastic - i love a good self service waffle machine. the staff was very warm and welcoming. but i quickly realized why it was a budget hotel - the beds were just average. the sink was also not in the bathroom but in the main part of the room. i guess that is good for a group when you have one person spending way too much time on the toilet, but just a little odd. and the towels were just very average quality

would i stay here again if in ann arbor? yes. and that right there sums up my stay. it didnt blow my socks off, but it didnt have any major deficiencies.

Room Tip: i had a room on the third floor on the back of the building (the even rooms are on the back side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    37
    14
    9
See reviews for
40
28
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The pros: Price, very nice desk staff, whirlpool, ok breakfast

The cons: Sink in room, thin towels, cold eggs, same breakfast (scrambled eggs & pork sausage)both weekend days. We were out from 9:30 - 2:00, but our room was not serviced. And noise. This inn is apparently popular with travelling HS sports teams, meaning that we were subjected to the sounds of hallway hockey for 2 consecutive nights. Despite repeated requests to stop, the kids just moved from one floor to the next, where they could still be heard due to the thin walls. Where were the parents? Partying in the lobby, right above our room and taking drunken smoke breaks outside the main entrance - underneath our room. If you are sensitive to smoke or noise - avoid room 215. Management did move us (to a room on the 4th floor where the noisy fan cycled on and off all night), but it already was late at night, and we would rather have been asleep. Disclosure: no comp, but after we complained again in the morning, they gave us 1000 pts (1/6 of a night in the lowest quality Marriott hotel) on our Marriott Rewards account.

Bottom line: Stay here if price is your major determinant, but if you can spring for a few more bucks - move on.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms overlooking the main entrance, esp 215.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicia N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. We often do house sports teams and they can be a little noisy at times. We hope that service wise we did our best to take care of you while you were there. We hope if you return sometime in the future, you will give us another opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Not impressed at all. Bathrooms were gross and old and sheets smelled. Overall, terribly disappointed. While service was good the facility is just old and not kept very well. Certainly not the type of hotel the Brand is advertising. I hope that this hotel is updated very soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicia N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your response. I am happy to let you know that we are expecting a renovation in Feb of 2014 .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield 2 nights. The lobby and all is standard Fairfield, breakfast bar, and lobby eating/lounging area. The room was a king room. The bed was perfect for me, a little soft for my companion. I slept well. The room was nice enough. Walking down the hall, had a glimpse into a service area, with the door left open. The service area was in need of some serious maintenance. All in all, the stay was just fine, normal. Not as luxurious as the more pricey Marriott brands, but good enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicia N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your response and review. We will be renovating the hotel and hopefully the service area will be taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Close to the freeway and a very fast drive into downtown Ann Arbor (about 10 minutes or less depending). All the amenities and such that one would expect, nice staff. Very comfy bed! The breakfast was the usual in these types of places, and there was a little store in the lobby for anything extra. Didn't have time to use the pool, but it looked nice and people seemed to be enjoying it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicia N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are so glad you came to visit us. We hope to see your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

very clean and comfortable.staff outstanding from time i booked to time i left very helpful and pleasant.samantha very pleasant and personable.staff checked me in early with no problems.i will use every time in ann arbor and recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicia N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I will make sure to commend Sam on a job well done. We hope to see your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Business trip and honestly I prefer Courtyard Marriott due to the Starbucks, but this property had everything but that so I just stopped around the corner to the courtyard for my coffee! No problem!
It was about $20 per night cheaper so my colleague decided on this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicia N, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are so happy you decided to stay! Not to mention, breakfast is complimentary. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor

Address: 3285 Boardwalk, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated in 2015 the Ann Arbor Fairfield Inn has stylish designed rooms and lobby. Located conveniently 2 miles away from the University of Michigan. Briarwood Mall is only a short walk away with many shops and dining choices! Come visit our hotel and #stayamazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Fairfield Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.