We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for short visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   925 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK for short visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

I was hoping to stay at the Campus Inn but it was a football weekend so I would have had to book for 3 nights which I did not need. This hotel was much cheaper as a result. I was there for a conference at the university and it was a short taxi ride in to the central campus. The room was surprisingly nice for the price, and the bed very comfortable. The bath tub was small, and had hairs in it when I checked in. The first morning the automated wake up call did not work. The next morning (when I had a flight), both the automated call and the individual call (they said they would do this to be sure I wouldn't miss the flight) worked.

The business center allows you to check your emails free. The breakfast is really awful--plastic eggs and bacon, but the orange juice is ok. This is not the place to stay if you don't have a car and just want to walk around Ann Arbor in between your meetings. The lobby is so small that it is a real zoo in the morning. But they did try, I have to give them credit for that!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    110
    53
    20
    7
See reviews for
107
40
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DuBois, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Excellent location in a business park. We felt very safe and secure, and the location was very quiet. The hotel appears to have recently been renovated with the exception of the hallway carpet. The carpeting in the room appeared to be brand-new, very clean. Beds were very comfortable with multiple pillows to choose from. Bathroom does not have much room to lay-out toiletries but otherwise excellent, again very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was above standard hotel chain breakfasts as included hot items from which to choose. Only negative was the hallway carpet but then again, we weren't staying in the hallway, only passing thru. Hotel had a very clean, fresh smell.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We like Hampton Inns and chose this one for a quick trip. The front desk was beseiged at check-in time, but she got to us just as soon as she could. The workout room was not air-conditioned, which was a problem when the temperatures hit 80 degrees. But all in all, we had a pleasant stay with no other surprises.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

I stayed at the Hampton Inn South for two nights in late June, for a family reunion. The property is a solid Hampton Inn (and that's a good thing). You get just what you expect from a Hampton: nice rooms, pool (although the water was WAY too hot), and a decent breakfast. The rooms are a bit on the small side, compared to other Hamptons at which I've stayed, but still workable and pleasant. The breakfast staff was especially pleasant and patient (the hotel was jammed that weekend, and the breakfast area was very busy). Front desk staff was okay, although perhaps a bit harried. There was one oddity about the hotel: the only doorway from the lobby to the rooms was narrow, and a fire door that was supposed to be kept closed. It caused some bottlenecks of people coming and going. I'm not sure what they can do about that, though. I'd stay again if in Ann Arbor.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

We stayed in Ann Arbor for a wedding, where two of our three young children were ring bearer and flower girl. So, for the 3 nights were stayed, we came back pretty late with tired children. Each night we returned, our room was never cleaned, our garbage bins were never emptied, and our towels were never replaced. The final day we stayed, we left a housekeeping sign on the door outside to indicate we wanted our room cleaned. We saw housekeeping in our hallway, so assumed our room would be cleaned. That night we returned with the sign replaced inside the bathrrom door and nothing in our room was cleaned. So, a staff member had to enter our room to replace the sign and just ignored our room. The next morning upon check out, I complained to the front desk and I was reminded of Hampton Inn's 100% guarantee. I was told they'd have to look into how to refund my money (since I paid online advance payment) and they'd contact me. I waited 3 days and nothing...so I emailed them. Their first response said they couldn't give me 100% refund since I paid in advance (which said no refunds or cancellations) and only offered me one complimentary stay gift certificate. Also, it was implied that it was my fault I didn't tell them about my problem earlier. Should it really be the guest's job to remind them to clean our room?!?!? I replied firmly that 100% guarantee policy needed to upheld and the no refund policy was for no shows or early departures. Only then did they say that a refund check would be issued and would take 90 days! Added note: my husband told me later that when he was leaving our room to load our luggage, he saw a housekeeper cleaning the room across from us while watching the TV, and later saw her bringing breakfast from the guest complimentary buffet into the same room and closed the door to eat!!! Everyone else was nice, but it's hard to remain positive about a hotel that never cleans your room in 3 days! To make things worse, we had 3 kids and lots of diapers. We had to dump our own garbage once or twice. Overall, experience at the hotel was marred by the poor housekeeping staff and further insulted that it took some work to get their 100% guarantee policy in effect.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We used this Hampton for a family get-together. The rooms were very clean, the pool was warm and the hot tub was actually hot! (rather than just warm.) The breakfast staff went out of their way to do a great job. Sunday was the only day they don't serve eggs. When someone mentioned they would like eggs, the staff made them. It's a great hotel for the money.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park,KS
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
280 hotel reviews
Reviews in 212 cities Reviews in 212 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

They are in the process of remodeling this hotel, and the remodel looks good. Not to noisy. Good location, lots of eating places to eat. Hotel is clean and quiet.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South

Address: 925 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#8 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - South Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.