We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal Hampton Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   925 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #11 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Normal Hampton Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Excellent location, not exactly in the city's heart. A couple minutes away from the park and ride bus stop. Clean rooms, good breakfast, some parking space. Very close to the Briarwood Mall.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    65
    40
    12
    7
See reviews for
64
22
9
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband & I reserved a room at this hotel for Jan 18-21st. The room was adequate, though a bit noisy with a youth hockey team loud in the halls. During the night of the 19th, there was a power outage and we were not able to see to take a shower in the morning. It was very cold in the room. We were told to expect power restoration by 3:00 pm and there obviously was no breakfast. We went to lunch and returned to still no power. The assistant manager offered to refund our money for the 19th and 20th if we would like to choose to stay in another hotel nearby that had power. We opted for this and moved to another hotel. As of March 2nd we have not received the promised refund for the 2 nights and after leaving 4 messages for the managers at Hampton Inn, we still have not received a return call. This calls for a question of Hampton Inn staff integrity! All in all, not a pleasant experience at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - South.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Clean and comfortable King room with a very pleasant staff. We enjoyed our brief stay. Upon check in, the front desk clerk informed me that their were several youth hockey teams staying at the hotel...not thrilled to hear that news! She told me several times to call the desk if the noise level was too much and that they would take care of it. I appreciated her offer and did come close to calling but things quieted at a decent hour. Breakfast was crowded due to the hockey families but the selection of food was excellent and the staff worked hard to keep it adequately supplied.
We will stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

From check in to check out, the staff was very friendly.

The hotel was slightly dated/worn, but this is really hardly worth mentioning since it was really not bad at all. The location of the hotel was directly across the street from a business meeting location which was really nice since it snowed during the night and the roads were slick.

The room was very comfortable even though the bathroom was on the small side. The bedding was nice except I missed a top sheet, instead all I had was a duvet which meant I needed to turn down the room temperature a little to remain at a comfortable temperature with it on.

The breakfast included "eggs" and "bacon"; however, both of these seemed highly processed and weren't very tasty. The eggs were pale yellow flat disks with little flavor. The bagel/cream cheese and orange juice were good.

I was a bit disappointed that the fitness room was closed for remodeling. The pool and Jacuzzi looked nice and in a warm, very humid room - I didn't use these, but they looked pretty nice.

All-in-all, I wouldn't have any issues staying again for business but I'd probably look around some more for pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and that our property to be conveniently located, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Our new fitness room is now up and operating and I apologize that it was under remodeling while you were here. We do have a relationship with a gym across the street from the hotel that offers a wonderful selection of fitness equipement called One on One Fitness. Please be sure to inquire the next time you are in town.

Thank you
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've been to two hotels in Ann Arbor. Didn't like either one of them. This one was the better of the two, but I would not recommend it. We stayed here because it's near the university. Before I go back there, I'm going to check out the hotels in Ypsilanti and see if they are any better. It's just 10 or 15 minutes away. The beds are not comfortable. The breakfast area serves bad food (I threw mine out). Just not happy here. And the price is not right. It feels more like a motel. The only good thing about it is its location to the university.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Has all I need in a hotel - decent clean room, good breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, even cookies at night. And a fitness room - except there are only two machines that are always occupied and no weights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! We strive to deliver what you expect and then strive to exceed your expectations! Our fresh baked cookies are always a welcome treat for our guests and we added a hot cocoa bar with chocolate chips, marshmallows and peppermint too! I also would like to add that we are in the midst of renovating a new fitness room. Our current room is still open, but our new fitness room will have added fitness pieces. Please visit us again soon to see the new room.

Thank you,
Michelle McClintock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for years and have to say for the price, this is a hard hotel to beat. For starters, the wifi here is excellent. The room while simple has a big comfortable bed and excellent cable TV. The breakfast is simple and lacking in taste, however, you can't beat the overall price of the room. Finally, the gym down the street from the hotel is beyond compare; it is impressive and has made me think hard about possibly giving this hotel an excellent ranking.

The hotel is conveniently located next to the interstate. Will be returning here soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - South Hotel Ann Arbor
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - South Hotel
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn
Address: 925 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#13 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.