We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not For Me” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   925 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not For Me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've been to two hotels in Ann Arbor. Didn't like either one of them. This one was the better of the two, but I would not recommend it. We stayed here because it's near the university. Before I go back there, I'm going to check out the hotels in Ypsilanti and see if they are any better. It's just 10 or 15 minutes away. The beds are not comfortable. The breakfast area serves bad food (I threw mine out). Just not happy here. And the price is not right. It feels more like a motel. The only good thing about it is its location to the university.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    101
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
93
37
13
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Has all I need in a hotel - decent clean room, good breakfast, newspaper, Internet access, even cookies at night. And a fitness room - except there are only two machines that are always occupied and no weights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! We strive to deliver what you expect and then strive to exceed your expectations! Our fresh baked cookies are always a welcome treat for our guests and we added a hot cocoa bar with chocolate chips, marshmallows and peppermint too! I also would like to add that we are in the midst of renovating a new fitness room. Our current room is still open, but our new fitness room will have added fitness pieces. Please visit us again soon to see the new room.

Thank you,
Michelle McClintock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, CO
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This is your standard corporate hotel, business oriented, functional. Great breakfast, although I left smelling like burnt toast from some careless diners. I knocked a point off the cleanliness factor for the clogged bath tub drain. I consider this an unacceptable and unpleasant issue. Otherwise this is a clean, very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnebago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

No heat in first room. Second room toilet overflowed into living space. We were not offered a different room. Staff placed garbage bags and towels over floor where it was wet. Tiles in pool ceiling were full of water and ready to burst.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I completely understand your frustration that you had during your stay and we do apologize. It is not acceptable on how the leak was handled and the appropriate employees were retrained on how to better handle this type of situation. As with all Hamptons, we stand by our 100% Guarantee, therefore you were not charged for your three night stay. Please accept my apologies again concerning your stay.

Thank you,
Michelle McClintock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed for one night. Nice room, a bit small for two people, especially the bathroom, but nicely appointed. Location is easy to find back with other hotels and easy to access campus. Plenty of parking. Hotel was fairly busy, but not overly noisy. Compared to some of the other hotel options, this one is a decent value and you get your typical hampton inn experience. No complaints. We did not eat breakfast, so i can comment on that. There are so many other high quality options, such as Zingermans, go eat there instead!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMcclintockGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you your business. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and hope you visit us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The weekend we stayed here was a football weekend in Ann Arbor. The hotel was packed to capacity. This location is south of campus and downtown Ann Arbor, and does require vehicle transportation. However, it is just a short walk away to The Briarwood Mall, and easy access off the interstate.

Check-in was friendly and efficient. There is no bellman as far as I could tell. The lobby was small but comfortable. And a nice touch was a glass dispenser of a fresh fruit water at the registration desk. Very nice after a long car drive.

The rooms are quite small but nicely decorated. All calm neutrals and an updated appearance. There are good bedside lamps for reading as well as a desk-unit quite suitable if one was traveling on business. Small closet and acceptable drawer storage.

I like that there was a card on the white bedding stated they guarantee the comforter is washed between each guest booking. A very nice amenities considering this isn't a high-end hotel. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows.

My only complaint is the very small bathroom. The sink, commode, and bath/shower tub are so close together it's uncomfortable. This is also not a user friendly space for make-up application, blow-drying hair, etc.; absolutely no way two people can use this at once.

I think the rate of $250 a night is VERY high considering the room size and location. (I've stayed at a lovely boutique hotel in the best area of downtown Chicago and paid the same price). However, perhaps the price was inflated as it was a the first fall football game at home. This hotel is strictly for function and not for luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I frequenty stay here for business. During the week, I'm mostly satisfied as the rooms are clean, the staff mostly friendly and a good selection for the breakfast buffet. Just right for business travels.
On weekends however I had multiple times the issue that large groups of kids/teens are staying at this hotel (ice hockey team, skaters etc) which make it impossible to find some peace or quite - both during the day and even worth at night. The accompaying parents couldn't care less with their 6-packs of beer at hand and the hotel staff tries but is unsuccessful to get them quite.
So overall - good under the week, don't recommend on the weekend.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with a fridge, as not every room has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South

Address: 925 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#10 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - South Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.