We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Facility, Good Staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2455 Carpenter Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean Facility, Good Staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I had a last second business trip to Ann Arbor, the meetings were to be held at the Ann Arbor Courtyard but their rooms were booked so I stayed at the Regent for two nights and I was pretty impressed with the place.

The rooms were modern and very clean, no complaints there. The gal that took care of our room did a great job, I totally forgot her name but she left notes each morning to let us know she'd been there. Good touch! I like my room super cold when I sleep (wife hates this) so I blasted the AC unit all night and it ran smooth and quiet. I've had a lot of issues with them making rattling and other noises before so this was very much appreciated.

The facility is well kept. They have a billiards room upstairs near the workout center. The pool area was very nice as well and offered a good view of the nicely gardened courtyard.

The hot breakfast that is included was pretty decent, eggs, sausage, etc. all tasted good on par with IHOP but hey it's free.

I would stay here again when I'm back in Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aarsales, Director of Sales at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and trying a locally owned independent hotel. We really enjoy when our guests "break free from the chains" (chain hotels that is) and try our hotel. We take the time to listen to our guests and provide them with an exceptional hotel and staff at a better value than the national chains. So thank you for staying with us and we are happy to hear you will stay with us again while visiting Ann Arbor!

Sincerely,
Aaron Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    87
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
128
53
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The rooms in the hotel are just like the pictures on their website and I agree with the major points that travelers have made in the past. The hotel has the structure of a Quality Inn or some other motel / small hotel but looks much more like an upscale hotel. They have nice carpeting and furniture, Jack Vettriano paintings that are framed throughout hallways, a lovely pool / fossball area, a small fitness center, clean rooms, and so on.

The location is your usual 'traveler's location' - off a major street, near a highway, and in a street with other smaller hotels, a Red Lobster, and so on. Not really a walking area but fine if you have a car, especially since it is close to downtown Ann Arbor (about 10 minutes by car).

The breakfast could use a slight improvement with a few more healthy options and the area is somewhat too small for the hotel when it is really busy, which it was when we were staying there. But those are really minor complaints in an overall great experience. We would definitely stay there again, especially for the great price that we had gotten.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from the elevators and got one in the '4' wing with a view to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aarsales, Director of Sales at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review and for staying with us while in the Ann Arbor Area. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and noticed our upscale amenities and decor. With the recent requests for an improved breakfast selection and rotating breakfast selection we are currently adding new items and rotating selections daily. Our healthy items include whole fruit, yogurt, healthy cereal options and oatmeal. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Aaron Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in July of this year. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The suite was a good size. It consisted of a pull out couch and one king size bed. The room itself was spacious enough and quiet.
The room rate came with Breakfast, which was good. The coffee, which I believe is local, is fantastic.
So, why not the excellent rating? Well, the pool was closed, which I understand can be uncontrollable. I asked for a crib (Pack'n'Play) and was charged $7. I know that is not a lot but of money but I am already paying a good amount to stay at this hotel on a Monday in Ann Arbor, not new York or Chicago. So the $7 kind of rubbed me the wrong way.

But overall a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aarsales, Director of Sales at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your last stay at The Regent. We are glad you enjoyed our one-bedroom suite which is our largest room in the hotel and is a great value for the Ann Arbor Area. We are sorry for the inconvenience of the pool being closed due to an unfortunate guest accident. We did work quickly to have it back open and safe for our guest in less than 24 hours. Glad to hear you enjoyed our locally bought Bear Claw coffee! We hope to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Aaron Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Staff was helpful--even a little too friendly at times. Rooms were clean, solid and pleasant. Pool looked delightful, unfortunately I didn't have time to use it. The conference facilities were fabulous and very functional. I did skip on the breakfast--just need a little more protein but ate at Bob Evans right next door. This is a good work hotel and very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review both the hotel and the new conference center. We are pleased to hear our staff was helpful and the conference room was very functional. We hope you stay with us again soon!

Thank you,
Aaron Taylor
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Recent renovations have made this facility "like new." Great customer service. We had a problem with the air conditioner, and they fixed it immediately. The pool/patio area was well done, and there was a nice lobby area on the second floor that had several pool tables and allowed a space for friends & family to get together. The entire facility was exceptionally clean. The complimentary breakfast was better than most with fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt, waffles, bacon, sausage and eggs, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about the hotel and our staff. We are sorry to hear about the air conditioning problem but glad it was fixed immediately. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Aaron Taylor
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I often attend family gatherings in Ann Arbor and sometimes stay at hotels when there aren't enough extra bedrooms or couches to crash on. This was my first time to stay at the Regent, and the hotel is pretty nice. The decor and furnishings of the rooms and lobby are indistinguishable from any other corporate hotel chain, but everything was new, clean and pleasant. The housekeeping staff was great - the room was spotlessly cleaned each day. The free wifi worked great; the free breakfast was fair (standard generic convenience type foods offered by hotels everywhere) although the local coffee they had was somewhat bland and disappointing to me. One unusual amenity at the hotel I really enjoyed was their courtyard rose garden, which the window of my room looked out onto. I discovered that it had very nice and comfortable lawn furniture and it was an unexpectedly nice space to hang out and relax for awhile. Although it's on the outskirts of Ann Arbor (and close to Ypsi), it's well located and there are restaurants very close by. I especially recommend the middle eastern Palm Restaurant just down the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We usually stay at a different hotel in Ann Arbor when we visit our daughter, but the Ann Arbor Regent was in a much more convenient location, so we decided to give it a shot. I called ahead to ask if our room would be ready for us, as we were going to be somewhat earlier than the check-in time. Linda at the front desk very politely told me they would take care of us as soon as we got there. She greeted us with a pleasant smile when we arrived and check-in was very smooth and hassle free.

The room we chose was a 1-bedroom suite with a king size bed. It was clean and comfortable, although I was surprised there was no stove available. While not a major issue, the previous hotel we stayed at offered the option to prepare food in the room should you choose to do that. Since it is a full suite, it is always nice to have a stove, as well as a few dishes and some silverware. There was no silverware, glasses or dishes in the suite.

The room was clean when we arrived and the housekeeping staff members we encountered were pleasant and accommodating. We asked for new towels and toiletries each day, which they provided quickly, and told them a thorough cleaning of the room was unnecessary, and they followed our wishes. Something I will mention that seemed unusual was the roll of toilet paper in the bathroom was half gone when we arrived, with the additional roll outside of the bathroom in the hall closet. While not something usually discussed in these forums, this is an item that is extremely important and I found it odd that the extra roll was outside the bathroom.

The pool and jacuzzi were very nice and the gazebo and garden area were beautiful. The breakfast was somewhat disappointing to us. The first day we were there, they had scrambled eggs, sausage, and breakfast potatoes. They next day it was the same. The 3rd day the sausage was missing and there were two pans of potatoes and the eggs. The last day of our stay, there was still no sausage and the pleasant woman working in the area told us the truck had not arrived to deliver them. Other choices in the breakfast area were dry cereal, yogurt, toast, bagels, muffins, pre-made waffles, juice and coffee. Again, the last location we stayed at had not only a full kitchen to enable you to cook in it, but a nice variety of breakfast items that changed every day. These included, bacon, sausage, omelets, pancakes, make-your-own waffles, fruit salad, ham slices, and other items too numerous to mention.

While this was a nice place, I'm not sure if I agree with the #1 rating. The staff members were great, no complaints there, but for the price of $144 per night, I was not overly impressed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for trying the Ann Arbor Regent this time and writing a review to let us know how we compare to the other hotels in Ann Arbor you have stayed. You are correct we do not have stoves in our rooms but all of our rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The one-bedroom suite is our nicest room as it has a full living room with a pullout sleeper sofa and 42" TV and includes french doors that lead into the bedroom area with a king size bed. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel the $144.00 rate was a excellent value for the suite and our hotel amenities. Most hotels in the Ann Arbor area charge close to that rate just for a standard guest room but that you for letting us know how we compare in the area.

Sincerely,
Aaron Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites

Address: 2455 Carpenter Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#2 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#3 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites is ideally located along the Ann Arbor / Ypsilanti border with easy access to US Highway 23, Interstate 94, and close proximity to the University of Michigan, Eastern Michigan University, and area hospitals. Whether you stay with us for pleasure or business, you’ll find the Ann Arbor Regent will always exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel And Suites
Quality Inn Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.