We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience - good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 Boardwalk, Ann Arbor, MI 48108 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton - Ann Arbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mixed experience - good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The good: great beds, friendly restaurant staff and good food, nice pool (inside and outside), laundry room, "social computer lounge" in the lobby with a printer.
The bad: problems when checking in - check in staff was very unhelpful when confronted with a booking problem that was partially their fault. Some power points in the room didn't work. The pool was great for kids, but wouldn't be suitable to lap swimming at all (it's round and quite small). We were on the ground floor pool side and there were some noisy families around the pool outside until quite late. We had a family room with two double beds and there were only 3 towels in the room when we got in - felt a bit stingy! There is nowhere to change or shower around the pools at all.
Overall though it's a nicely run hotel and the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear LondonWorkingMum,

Thanks so much for your business and taking the time to share your experiences with us. Comments like yours allow us the opportunity to improve our product and service quality on a continuum.

I sincerely appreciate your objective feedback and apologize for the lack of help provided by my front desk team upon arrival as well as the issues you encountered throughout. I can assure you we take our roles very seriously and will address and correct the oversights.

We collectively hope you will afford us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back to Ann Arbor in the future. If I may be of service in the meantime, please let me know.

Hospitably yours,
Steve-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    70
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
70
26
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lived up to the Sheraton name! Nice big rooms, beds were very comfortable and the furnishings tasteful and elegant. Didn't get to use the fitness room, but my son liked it. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear gprr,

Thanks for your business, kind words and recommendation - we appreciate it very much.

We hope to see you and serve you again soon. If I can be of service in the meantime, please call on me.

Best-
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 25 years ago, so I was really surprised to find how well this property was retrofitted recently. You would think it was just built last year! Everything in the public areas and in the hotel rooms is fresh and modern and very appealing. My son & I stayed here for 5 nights over Labor Day weekend for golf and a Michigan football game and we really enjoyed our stay. Agree with other reviewers that the beds are super comfy. Although small, the bathroom is nice also including the mirror with embedded lighting. Great workout facility and indoor/outdoor pool with hot tub. We liked how the bar area and food area and the lobby are all open and integrated. Staff was outstanding - we never encountered an employee who was anything other than friendly & helpful.

We did have a few speedbumps: 1) On Friday, we were gone from 9:30am to 7pm and our room was never serviced. 2) On Sunday when we got up, the shower handle was stripped on it's shaft and we had to take a washcloth bath in the sink rather than a proper shower. 3) The rooms have some kind of gravity-feed toilet that makes a huge roar when it flushes and then a loud whine after about 20 seconds - it wakes up everyone in the room if you get up and go in the middle of the night, even with the bathroom door closed.

Would have been a 5-star stay if not for these three glitches. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely recommend this property.

Room Tip: We were in 311 facing the parking lot with the freeway off in the distance - never heard a sound!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear americanjim,

Thank you very much for your loyal business and taking time to share your experiences from your recent stay with us - I appreciate both a great deal.

I'm glad to see that you enjoyed the results of our transformation and the service my team provided.

I apologize sincerely for the untypical housekeeping oversight and maintenance defect with your shower. Yes, our new toilets do flush with authority - sorry for any disturbance that resulted.

We hope to serve you again next visit and earn your five-start rating! Please let me know if I can be of service in any way.

Hospitably yours,
Steve-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect during the super busy UMich move-in time, but the Sheraton hotel and staff far exceeded my expectations compared to other properties I've stayed in town. Rooms are updated, spacious & clean; the bed is super comfy; and the fitness facilities & pools (outdoor and indoor) were sparkling. Haven't seen such a happy staff in quite some time-- all are top-notch!! During a very busy time, each person I encountered was smiling, calm, pleasant, and happy. The entire Michigan football team and a hotel full of wedding guests were there during my stay, yet you'd never have noticed. The restaurant's morning breakfast buffet is a delightful standout, and comes with your room if you upgrade to club level. Huge shout outs go to staffers Rebecca, Janna, Chris and Giancarlo for exceptional service! Thank you for making move-in that much more pleasant-- your efforts are truly appreciated! The Sheraton will most definitely be our go-to hotel when returning for visits.

Room Tip: Become a Starwood Preferred Guest Member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear chewettoo,

Thanks so much for selecting us taking the time to share your kind words regarding your recent experience. I'm elated to hear that the hotel and my team exceeded your expectations and look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Please let me know if I may be of any assistance and GO BLUE!

Warm regards,
Steve-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rooms are very clean and the bed is extremely comfortable. We were delighted by an unexpected upgrade to our room and everyone is very helpful and nice. We ate at the restaurant at the hotel and it was amazing!!! There was a huge wedding taking place but you would never have known it. It didn't at all interfere with our stay or dinner. Dinner was quiet and intimate and very reasonable priced for such a gourmet meal. I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again. Well worth the money to have such a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sandra D,

Thank you very much for affording us the opportunity to serve you during your recent Ann Arbor visit.

I'm delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to serving you again soon.

Let me know if I may be of service in any way, any time.

Best-
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was in Ann Arbor for an annual training meeting the last week in July. I had stayed at this Sheraton a few years ago and it was very nice, but it has been totally remodeled since my last visit and they have done a superb job. The staff was unfailingly polite and helpful (no easy task with a couple of hundred conference-attending electricians roaming the lobby), and the rooms were off the chart comfortable. I have stayed in hotels that cost more than twice as much with beds not half as comfortable as these (see Rhonda's review: "crazy stupid comfortable" nails it!) The location is far enough from campus/downtown that you have a little breathing room, but only a three mile ($10) cab ride to Main Street arts and restaurants; if you prefer the public transportation, a public bus stop (all green energy) is only two blocks away. The managers, front desk staff, and housekeeping staff were all friendly and helpful, and the guests even very outgoing and welcoming! For your next visit to Ann Arbor, be sure to give the Sheraton a try!

Room Tip: The rooms with the sofa/recessed bar are great if you're staying more than a couple of days. Yo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Michigan is mad for recycling (thank goodness), recycling-specific wastecans are in each room and throughout the hotel.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Tyler364,

Thank you very much for your business and kind words regarding this hotel and my team! We sincerely appreciate your kind words and recommendation.

Hopefully we will see you again next year if not sooner. Please call on me if I may be of service in any way.

Hospitably yours,
Steve-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I visit Ann Arbor 3-4 times per year and prefer to stay at this Sheraton. Here's why:

The Rooms: Modern decor and a very comfortable beds. Complimentary bottle of water and nice toiletries,

Check-in: Generally painless and very quick.

Shuttle: Free shuttle service around Ann Arbor is available on a first-come, first-served basis. The hours very; check at the front desk.

Taxis: There is a taxi stand right outside with at least 1-2 cabs at all times. One-way fare to downtown is about $10, depending on where you stop.

The Lobby: Very chic. This type of Sheraton has a "social business lounge" with multiple computer desks in funky cubicles in the middle of a lounge. A nice departure from the typical closet-sized business center at other hotels.

The Bar: Stop here for a night cap or before you go out. Service is good, and the prices are fair, but Ann Arbor is home to too many excellent bars and clubs to spend the night at the hotel watering hole.

The Restaurant: Haven't tried it, but it's nice to know that room service is available for much of the day. It looks suitable for business meetings as well.

Room Tip: Get something on the club level; have your Starwood # handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSmyka, General Manager at Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear ohiocitytim,

Thanks so much for your business loyalty and recommendations to this hotel - very much appreciated.

Hopefully you will have an opportunity to dine with us in Share Small Plate Bistro on your next visit - our food and menu is quite good.

If I may be of service in the meantime, please call on me personally.

Warm regards,
Steve-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel

Address: 3200 Boardwalk, Ann Arbor, MI 48108 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton - Ann Arbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ann Arbor
#5 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#7 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The Sheraton Ann Arbor invites you to experience unparalleled service and accommodations while exploring Ann Arbor, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Ann Arbor
Four Points Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Sheraton
Ann Arbor Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.