We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly better that on first appearance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Ann Arbor

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
Scarsdale, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly better that on first appearance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Clearly this is an older hotel however the room was very clean and appeared to have been freshly painted. The layout was fine and the room was comfortable. If you are looking for luxury this is not it however for a short stay this is fine. The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Residence Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Nancy K,

We appreciate you sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Ann Arbor. It is great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, helpful staff and clean suites! Hope to see you again for another comfortable stay, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    11
    12
    2
See reviews for
32
6
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First of all, the staff was lovely and the location is very convenient. The layout of the room we were in was a two-story affair, with the kitchen, sitting room and bedroom with two fulls on the first floor, and a loft sleeping area on the second floor--there was a bathroom on each floor.

As pointed out elsewhere, this property is in need of a complete renovation. The stairs leading up to the suites are made of rotting wood, and the rooms are incredibly tired, the kitchens look like they haven't been touched since the 80s. The worst thing of all is that the room smelled badly. Couldn't place what it was; I think that it is most likely mold.

I believe that the overall layout of the rooms are nice, but I am, frankly, very surprised that Marriott would allow a property to fall this far behind the regular cycle of soft goods/hard goods renovations/replacement. We are on a long trip visiting colleges and we are faithful Marriott Rewards users, and have basic expectations when something says "Marriott" on the door. Those expectations were not met.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Residence Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Stomachdoc,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn by Marriott Ann Arbor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our convenient location, size and our friendly accommodating staff. We understand your concerns regarding the need for cosmetic updates to the property. This will be addressed in our upcoming renovation happening shortly. While you did address some safety concerns with our exterior stairs and room odor I can assure you the safety is perfectly up to code. We are sorry you expectations were not met with the property, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

In driving into the facility I could see immediately that this hotel was in disrepair. I've stayed in 100's of Marriott's throughout the years and have never seen buildings look like this, rotting wood, inferior landscaping and generally an OLD OUTDATED facility! In speaking with the manager (who by the way was a nice lady) I was assured the room we would be getting was a newly renovated room, and for the most part the room was nice and was clean. BUT, in calling down to get a wake-up call the first night we discovered both phones in the room did not work. We reported the phone situation the morning of the second day and it wasn't fixed when we left the morning of the fourth day. BUT, with that being bad enough, the toilet never flushed well and on the fourth day finally came to a complete halt. Talk about emotions running rampant, let alone the embarrassment. Without a phone to call the office I went to the janitors closet, which by the way I knew was the janitors closet since it was always open for all to see by a maids cart propping the door open.

Consequently, if you want to enjoy your stay in Ann Arbor try the Red Roof Inn or the Holiday Inn Express, try anything but this poor excuse for a Marriott!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, General Manager at Residence Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Christine S.,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. Our entire staff is always dedicated to giving the absolute best customer service, and I am truly sorry that there were issues that we were unable to address during your stay. We did attempt to enter your room after becoming aware of the telephone and plumbing issues, but do understand that you were enjoying the privacy of your suite. As I had mentioned in our conversations while you were here, we are scheduled to receive a renovation beginning later this year which will provide a complete update to the hotel. I truly hope we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I came to Ann Arbor to consult at a local firm. My two-year stay at this vintage but well maintained inn ended up to be more than a place to lay my head. It was almost therapeutic. The view from my northwest corner studio was soothing and a good place live and work. It was very safe there.

I cannot say enough about the extraordinary professional staff. They were pleasant and responsive and I grew to love them all. Linda as Manager went out of her way to ensure all was right with my stay. Charlene, Marilyn, Shiela, and Sharon always made sure the room was immaculate and I had enough towels. Vladis the cook made the best stuff I ever ate. Vesse anticipated our every need. Cindy the desk clerk found my missing cell phone in the grass outside my room. Ricardo was expert in maintenance and fixed my leaky faucet and everything else that broke. These were my family.

If I ever return to Ann Arbor Michigan, I will stay no other place. It feels like home to me.

Room Tip: Inner (away from I-94) northwest 1100 building, ground floor has the easy walk to the pool, no need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Residence Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Gary C,

It was our pleasure having yourself, your wife and two wonderful dogs for the past two years. On behalf of the entire staff of the Residence Inn Ann Arbor you all will be missed! Thank you for the compliments on our superb customer service, and the comfort of our suite. We are so touched you think of the team as family, as we do you. We hope to see you again soon for a visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

To say this hotel needs updating is an understatement. I knew when the cab pulled up to the door, I was in trouble. The entryway is old and crumbling. The staff seemed nice and accommodating. However, the room was far from typical Marriott standards. The air conditioning unit sounds like a bass drum is being played next door. The bed is hard as a rock. There's plenty of other hotels near by, so it's a no brainier to not choose this one.

Room Tip: Don't expect this hotel to be within walking distance to the mall. Yes, you can walk there, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Residence Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn by Marriott Ann Arbor. We appreciate your compliments on our staff service. We apologize for your less than satisfactory stay and your issues with our décor, air conditioning and mattress. The property is scheduled for renovation in the upcoming months that should address updating concerns. In regards to your other grievances if you could reach out and let us know your specific room so we could better resolve them feel free to contact us at ri.arrni.agm@marriott.com, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We've traveled all over the US and have stayed in many Residence Inns (we like having the kitchen to cook in and a little more room). This Ann Arbor location is definitely not one of the best that we've visited. Don't get me wrong. There's nothing really bad about it. It's clean. Bed is comfortable. It's just kind of worn out. The kitchen is outdated. The ac is loud and it's either really hot or really cold. Sofa bed less comfortable.

All in all just really eh.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Residence Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your loyalty to Residence Inn’s, but are sorry we were not able to wow you during this stay. Renovation plans are underway to address the outdated kitchen among many other features. We hope you’ll check us out again at the Ann Arbor Residence Inn Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We decided to stay at the Residence Inn because have 3 kids and did not want to get two rooms,

Overall the room was nice and spacy for our family and the kids were able to watch their shows on one of 3 tvs ...

The bed was ok and pillows were flat. Made for sore necks in the morning.

The hot breakfast was nice touch. Kids liked the variety of foods available.

We did not get to the use the pool but it looked nice.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Residence Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Residence Inn Ann Arbor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the roominess of our suites and the breakfast. We apologize for the less then satisfactory bedding. Please feel free to contact the property directly and let us know specifically which room so we can address the pillows. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Ann Arbor

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Hotel
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Residence Inn
Address: 800 Victors Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Ann Arbor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Ann Arbor is conveniently located near numerous local attractions, including the University of Michigan, and affords families all of the comforts of home with the extra space you need, and amenities that make traveling easier. Our spacious Ann Arbor suites are 50% larger than most hotel rooms, with full kitchens, daily housekeeping, and separate sleeping, working, and living areas. Stay balanced with hotel amenities at Residence Inn Ann Arbor, including a 24-hour fitness center, SportCourt, grilling area, outdoor pool and whirlpool (open summer only) and guest laundry. Stay productive with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, business center with printing and fax capabilities. Maintain peak performance with our daily complimentary breakfast buffet and evening socials (Tues-Thurs) including All-American favorites. Our Residence Inn Ann Arbor is your perfect suite hotel in Ann Arbor and truly understands what you want out of your extended stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Ann Arbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Ann Arbor to your Saves list