We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 Plymouth Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here with our hockey team for a weekend tournament. Lots of parking. Nice clean rooms with comfy beds. Great location off the highway making travel to arenas, malls and restaurants very easy. There is a grocery store within the same plaza you can walk to and a 24hr CVS across the street. We had a buffet breakfast included in our stay which was nice and the vouchers even included gratuity. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
3
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nice hotel for a college town. Large, has an adequate bar where you can get a double gin and tonic. Mix of parents and wild students running around the hotel. Just what you would expect. It was quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Booked two rooms for three nights surrounding the NHL Winger Classic - spacious and quiet adjoining rooms, friendly staff that aren't frazzled by the fan base who arrive mainly wearing Blue & White! Beds are comfy, showers great. Nearby is a Busch grocery store to stock up on essentials for teens and parents to snack and drink.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear TravelsWithKECA,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel has been recently updated and the rooms look nice and modern. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant was decent. There are plenty of restaurants nearby if you want to eat dinner elsewhere. I didn't have a chance to try the pool or fitness center but they looked nice. The pool is smallish but has a connected indoor and outdoor section.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at this Holiday Inn on the outskirts of Ann Arbor for the Christmas holiday this year while I visited family. The facility is under renovation, and my room was spotless -- I noticed just how bright white the new tile in the bathroom was -- rare sight in a hotel. Admittedly, Christmas is a weird time for hotels, and this one was almost empty, but it's also a good test of how they rise to the occasion. This one fell short. Walking in and out of the lobby, staff were invisible at most hours. The pool and exercise room were unexpectedly shut down for renovation and a note slipped under room doors to tell us, but no mention of a refund -- and this was one reason I'd booked this hotel. The restaurant hours around the holiday were shortened and it was closed on Christmas morning with one older man sitting in the lobby pointing to a sort of continental breakfast in a lobby alcove -- if you noticed him and walked up to him. And this with a "breakfast package" offered at booking. Overall, it felt like no one was in charge of the hotel over the holiday and they might as well have closed. The people I did interact with were nice, but communication and hospitality were weak.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear bufordwx,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and concerns. We assure you that we are committed to delivering quality in all aspects of the guest experience and appreciate your feedback. Please accept my apologies for your less than satisfactory stay and apologize that our hotel staff service and amenities fell below your expectations. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken.

Again, thank you for your review. We do hope when business or pleasure brings you back to the area, you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We booked this hotel knowing that there was an indoor/outdoor pool. But when we arrived with our 8 grand children we were disappointed to find out that the outdoor portion of the heated pool was closed until March. We had been telling them how much fun it would be to swim under the partition into the winter air, and we were very dismayed that the hotel did not state in any form that the amenities were changed. In fact, if you look up their site now, you will see that they still advertise this amenity. If we wanted to just swim in a pool we could have saved traveling an extra hour. Thanks for the heads up holiday inn.

Room Tip: Find another place that values customer service before profits, also their world class workout faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear MichDandR,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with our pool area. We deeply regret that this aspect has negatively impacted your overall stay with us.

Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We found out, upon arrival, that the hotel offers a free shuttle to the UM Medical Center area. For people concerned with their appointments and procedures, this is a fantastic service. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. We paid less for a large suite than we have for many ordinary rooms. Decent food. Easy access to local expressways and North Campus and Medical Center areas. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaushaV, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Donna A,

Thank you for your glowing review! Our main goal is to ensure that we have met all of your needs and made you feel at home. I will pass along your comments to our staff, which will make them feel wonderful! I hope that when you are back in Ann Arbor, that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan

Address: 3600 Plymouth Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amongst all other Ann Arbor hotels, discover Ann Arbor's friendliest hotel. Your stay will always begin with a smile. We are conveniently located at US 23 and Plymouth Rd. just 25 minutes from (DTW) Detroit Metro Airport, the University of Michigan, the Big House, the U of M Hospital and Domino s Pizza. Experience the best live blues music and dancing in Ann Arbor at Guy Hollerin's Restaurant and Bar every Saturday evening. Our Ann Arbor restaurant features the best happy hour and will help you unwind after work. Our relaxing executive floor features private key access, hardwood floors, pillow top mattresses, refrigerator and microwaves and luxurious bath amenities. Our Ann Arbor hotel is pet friendly. We are proud to offer a free around town shuttle based on advanced reservations. Relax and swim in our indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub for family getaways. Our Ann Arbor weddings and banquet space can accommodate up to 300 people with free wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University Of Michigan Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.