We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dahlmann Campus Inn

Save Saved
You added Dahlmann Campus Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dahlmann Campus Inn
615 East Huron Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Elegance and Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at the Campus Inn for (sadly) only one night in July and I would love to go back for a longer stay. The hotel has that cozy, old fashioned elegance that I love in properties like the Pfister in Milwaukee with the modern touches that make it quite comfortable. It's small but has a pretty lobby that makes you want to sit down and rest for a while with a book or paper. The staff was so nice and helpful and friendly. We stayed in a basic double room which was not huge but still very comfortable with a nice table and chairs by the window so we could enjoy the gorgeous view of the town. The bathroom was tiny but nicely refurbished and very clean and pretty. We were tired from traveling so we did not try the restaurant but ordered room service which was very good, as was the room service breakfast in the morning. While the hotel is not exactly in the center of town, it's a short walk to shops and restaurants and right around the corner from the most fabulous gourmet market called Babo, on Washington . If you don't feel like braving the crowds at Zingerman's it's a perfect substitute. We grabbed some olives and cheese and wine for a snack before dinner and everything was so good we had to stop and load up the next day before heading out of town.

I would recommend the Campus Inn for a nice couple's or girl's weekend away. I thought it was worth the price for the comfort and great service and I'd love to go back.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room on a higher floor with a view because it's beautiful to see that carpet o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHarman, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments and sharing the information about the food from Victors restaurant. Babo has only been open for a few months, but is gaining a reputation throughout Ann Arbor. I hope to see you again soon.

Michael Harman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    68
    63
    14
    5
See reviews for
61
31
25
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The best thing about this place is it's location. It's nice because you can walk around Ann Arbor. But other than that, the bedding is mediocre, the fitness center had no air conditioning so it felt like a sauna, and the silk flowers that pass for decorations looked about 10 years old. Which would all be trivial and fine, if they didn't charge so much. You really just pay for the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHarman, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I apologize that in August there were two days when the air conditioning in the fitness center was broken; while waiting for the part to arrive we did place fans in the room, there is complimentary water in the room and we do have a special arrangement with the university, so our guests can use the central campus facilities. As you point out our location is downtown and we are in walking distance to the university and the great restaurants and shops in Ann Arbor. The silk flower arrangements are replaced on a regular basis and are a tradition we have maintained for many years.
Michael Harman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Campus Inn is the best place to stay in Ann Arbor, and the location takes the stress out of 11 hour days at the art fair. Only two blocks from where the fair starts, you can easily make trips back and forth to the hotel to drop-off purchases, or just to get out of the heat. We have stayed there several times, and the rooms are always clean and the staff accommodating. There is a restaurant at the inn, Victors, that seems to be a well kept secret from many fair goers as you never have to wait and the meals and service are consistently excellent. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Victors, and each meal was exceptional.

Room Tip: sorry, I hit the spa rating by mistake. There is no pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is nice and very well kept. Parts are a little dated. Particularly the bathroom we had was small and needed refurbishing. Otherwise it is a very nice hotel. The staff is exceedingly friendly and accomodating and it is super convenient to walk to campus and downtown. Only had breakfast at the hotel which was good but rather expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The remodeled rooms on the upper floors are excellent. Nice peaceful green view to the North. The elevators are fast, but a bit old and clunky - you might want to request a room away from the elevators. The ice machine is in a separate room - a very nice touch - and hence not really a problem. The location cannot be beat, free parking and a helpful and friendly staff. Given that there are only a couple hotels within easy walking distance of the campus, the rooms are expensive. If thinking of booking for a home football game, good luck - they sell out way ahead of schedule.

Room Tip: Pay for the higher floor. Facing North (away from Campus) is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHarman, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
I will certainly pass your remarks on to our staff, Thank you for identifying their "Can Do" attitude. You are correct that the rooms on the higher floors are quieter, choose a room on the back of the hotel facing Norrth for the best view .

Michael Harman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My son (rising senior in high school) and I stayed here while looking at University of Michgan as a prospective college. The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby was nice and classy looking. The rooms were attractive and comfortable. I don't know why some reviews say the place is dated. It's not dated. The bathroom cabinet was a little worn but otherwise the room was great.

The size of our room was average (not spacious, but I wasn't expecting spacious). The bathroom was a bit small -- it only fits one person at a time at the sink, comfortably. The room had a hair dryer, iron and ironing board. The pillows were very comfortable. The one thing our room was missing was a coffee maker. I really wish they had that. Also, our room was lacking the typical binder with hotel/city info that most places have. Perhaps ours was just missing - I didn't bother to ask. They also didn't have brochures in the lobby like most hotels do, but again, I didn't ask, so maybe I just didn't see where they were.

They have a workout room which is very nice for the size of hotel it is. There were at least 2 treadmills, 2 ellipiticals, 1 upright bicycle and 1 recumbent bicycle. Each of those had it's own TV with a plug in for earphones (they provide sanitary earphones for you to use.) There were also weights and a bosu ball. There was a small refrigerator stocked with water, which was a really nice feature. There were also towels.

There's a restaurant in the hotel. Its decor was attractive and contemporary. The food was good and the wait staff was very friendly. (I do wish they had more pasta items on their menu - would help round out the selection I think).

Convenience-wise, the hotel is perfectly situated to visit the campus. Both it and the downtown area are just a block or so from the hotel. When we were there, the downtown area was bustling with activity and there are a lot of restaurants and shops.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and would go there again. I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 because of the lack of coffee maker in the room and somewhat cramped bathroom. Otherwise, it was perfect.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a nice view of the campus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here in the spring for a wedding weekend. The best feature of this hotel is its convenient location - walking distance to campus, Kerrytown, and Main Street. We didn't have to drive anywhere in Ann Arbor. The rooms were severely outdated but clean and functional. Nothing stood out with the customer service - not going above and beyond but not surly or un-helpful.

Looking at the other hotels in the town, I don't think you're going to find another hotel at that price point with that great of a location.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHarman, General Manager at Dahlmann Campus Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for recognizing our downtown location, close to downtown restaurants and the University of MI. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel are much appreciated. I appreciate your recommendation.

Michael Harman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dahlmann Campus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahlmann Campus Inn

Address: 615 East Huron Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Dahlmann Campus Inn, Ann Arbor, Michigan's landmark hotel. Extraordinary in every way, The Campus Inn's elegant decor includes original oil paintings, bronzes, marble appointments, designer lighting, and polished mahogany. We provide our Michigan hotel guests with unsurpassed service, exceptional cuisine, elegant guest accommodations and an unmatched convenience to downtown Ann Arbor and the University of Michigan. When it comes to Ann Arbor hotels, the Campus Inn is the destination of choice when searching for the best Michigan lodging and the perfect guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dahlmann Campus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dahlmann Campus Hotel Ann Arbor
Dahlmann Campus Ann Arbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dahlmann Campus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.