We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for U of Mich visits” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Court to your Saves list
Kensington Court
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Hilton Boulevard, Ann Arbor, MI 48108 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Ann Arbor)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location for U of Mich visits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here a few years back for orientation (and a great introductory rate), and again a few months ago for graduation (high room rate this time -- go figure, all the hotels in the area sell out). This hotel is is in a great location for visiting the University of Michign.

Our stay for graduation went very smoothly. Easy check-in, friendly staff, shuttles leave from the front door and on the morning of the graduation, and a "grab bag" breakfast ($6.00 extra charge) was offered on graduation morning for a quick breakfast option. (Food was not allowed to be brought into the stadium, so breakfast was eaten either in the lobby or on the shuttle bus.) The hotel offered a beautiful coffee service in the front lobby, with excellent coffee, a variety of milk/cream, flavorings, sweeteners, tea/cocoa, etc.

Guest rooms are nothing special, but we weren't spending much time in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    38
    26
    17
See reviews for
34
34
12
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reveredo in Piano
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We recently stayed here for UofM orientation. Breakfast/location/decor was all fine - nothing special but adequate. Bottom line is I went home with a leg covered in bites. I let the front desk know about this and received minimal response. I would never stay here again or recommend this hotel. The reason being the actual fleas as well as the staffs apparent lack of interest to do anything about it or even communicate with an unhappy consumer. BUGS YUCK!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamHotelSystems, Manager at Kensington Court, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear fruiliadvisor-
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you felt that your concerns were not taken seriously. I can assure you that when you notified the front desk of your concern of possible fleas in your room we immediately inspected your room with an exterminator and found no evidence of fleas. Your comments have also been reviewed with our Executive Housekeeper and her staff.

Alberto Rubio General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Dirty, expensive, cramped, dated. These are just a few of the words I could use to describe my experience with the Kensington Court. Don't let the fancy name fool you. I reserved a room here with the orientation discount. Based on the photos I thought it was nice and the price was good. Foolish me, I didn't check trip advisor or yelp before booking for move-in day. I booked my room for when I drop my student off. The cost is 2.5x what it cost for orientation. My experience this past weekend was terrible. The first room I received had its sliding door window face into the tile hallway. No sunlight, noisy with the towel carts rolling over the tiles, dated and dirty. The bathroom was far from clean. I moved my room across the hall. It wasn't as dated as the first room and had a window to the outside, although it was on the highway side. Wear ear plugs if you stay at this hotel. Walls are paper thin. Not worth the regular rate and if it's a football/move-in weekend you can't change your reservation. The one star is for the staff. They are pleasant and the common rooms are nice enough.

Room Tip: Based on friends' experiences upper floors are super noisy because of the highway. Get a floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here for three nights at an incredible rate during University of Michigan parent orientation.

Located with numerous other hotels just off I-94 - convenient to UM and to highway access to Detroit, Kensington Court strives to be more than just a three star hotel and, at times, they succeed.

Rooms are average. The TV is a real pain to use (odd channel numbering, big delay each time you hit the up or down change channel button on remote, and no programming guide, so good luck finding your favorite programs.) The room has a desk with a chair that is way too low for working on a laptop. My room faced some sort of interior corridor, so you can't let in natural light without having people looking in.

The hotel offers free wifi, which worked reasonably well and a daily New York Times delivered to each room and USA Today in the lobby. Boarding pass printing available in the lobby. There was a basket with apples at the front desk that was stocked on days one and two and empty days three and four.

Buffet breakfast was fair, but the service friendly. Room service for dinner was very disappointing. Housekeeping was poor. Found someone's sweat pants under the bed two days into my stay, so that was untouched for cleaning - and not corrected despite my complaint to the front desk. Disgusting.

Most notable is that the staff wasn't especially welcoming or friendly. The exception was a woman who staffed the desk in the evening who couldn't have been nicer.

This is better than many similar properties but could be so much more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face an interior corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Recently stayed for the weekend for a wedding. Room was very spacious. Hallways are a little "Shining-esque" they seem to go on and on forever and got lost a few times. Perfect location for nearby UofM, restaurants, and highway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

convenient location -University Michigan just a short drive. Room was smaller than expected for the price, so were the beds. The toilet kept running, which they couldn't or didn't fix. It was a busy weekend, so maybe they didn't have time to fix it. The heat/ cool system is kind of screwy--it was a cold weekend, so a seperate switch had to be flipped to summer setting (instead of winter or off setting, which didn't make sense). Once they set it, it worked ok, but was a little noisy. Shower pressure not the greatest. In short, I'd say the Holiday Inn next door (and some of the other hotels in the area) is a better value, has bigger rooms and bigger, more comfortable beds, better shower, And includes breakfast. This place did have coffee out in the evening on some days. (It's owned by the same people, so they should really upgrade a few things in this hotel to make them the same level.) It was disappointing that this wasn't up to the level we expected after seeing how nice the entry area and the restaurant are.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel is one of the best locations when attending a graduation at the University of Michigan. A speedy check-in, friendly staff and on the morning of the graduation, they even provided a "grab bag" breakfast ($6.00 extra charge) to take to the stadium. The highway to return to Detroit Airport is literally two minutes from the hotel. Again, Great Staff!

Room Tip: Spring the extra $ for the club level -- well worth it. Breakfast is a bit of a buffet and table ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ann Arbor
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
#22 of 32 in Ann Arbor
3.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Ann Arbor
Courtyard Ann Arbor
#12 of 32 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
3.3 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Court

Address: 610 Hilton Boulevard, Ann Arbor, MI 48108 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Ann Arbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Court 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Low-rise Hotel located near Briarwood Shopping Center, 1-1/2 miles from University of Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kensington Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Court Ann Arbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.