We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for business” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sava's State Street Cafe

Sava's State Street Cafe
216 State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48109
(734) 623-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sava's State Street Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 517 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: State & Liberty / Huron
Transit: Lines 609 and 18 stop less than a block the the North on Huron, and Lines 4 and 3 stop on Liberty. Also, the Blake Transit Center located at 4th and William have regular incoming and outgoing buses from the greater Ann Arbor area. More information is available at www.theride.org.
Byron, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not good for business”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Sava's is in a great location for area business lunches,with an enjoyable atmosphere. The food is very good also. It seems everytime we go there whether we have a reservation or not we have to wait to be seated. The servers are very freindly but they are lacking in performance every time we have had items not delivered that were ordered or wrong orders brought out, on top of the service being really slow. During the week when your doing a business lunch and your client has to rush out with their food in their hands, just isn't good business.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    68
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Start the Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Every couple weeks on Sundays, we meet our daughter and granddaughter for breakfast. Normally the place is jammed and would suggest reservations. They serve breakfast menu items until 3pm and have a brunch. The selections are great, our daughter and my wife have nutella with bananas in crepes, our granddaughter (13 year old) normally orders waffles with chocolate chips or strawberry crepes with fresh orange juice and bacon while I change from omelets to Mexico dishes to crepes with grand marnier. We have not tried the brunch because we like the variation on the menu. Very popular and not too expensive. Remember it is Sava's not the vegetarian Seva's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great menu selection and extensive bar selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

First time visiting the restaurant and was impressed by the menu selection, something for all palates. Fun atmosphere, great location and hours. Would rerun!!!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious, unique flavors, and innovative.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This place is delicious. There were so many things I wanted to try. My sister and I got 1 appetizer, 1 side, and 2 entrees. The best thing we had there was there mac and cheese. It was sooooooo delicious!!!!!!! Seriously it was so good. Unfortunately I do not live there so I can't go get it when I want and I've been craving it! We tried some others things: fried risotto balls- really good, mushroom pasta- good, not great, fish tacos- didn't try them but my sister liked them. Go here it is good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One letter makes a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Funny how you find places some times. I was actually thinking of making a reservation at Seva Restaurant in Ann Arbor. Wasn't paying that close of attention on Open Table and clicked on Sava's. Noticed the map point was not where I thought it should be.
Wonderful surprise! This place is so close to the Michigan Theater (where we were seeing a show). When I read the reviews it seemed like a place we should try. I will be back and recommend it to others.
Nice wine selection. Comfortable seating and atmosphere. Our service was wonderful (patient with our chatting and not being ready to order). Food came out quickly.
I had the Fish & Chips as it was noted in many reviews. Very nice. Moist fish, crisp batter, and the fries that come along are scrumptous. Portion size not too large so didn't over eat or feel like I was wasting food.
We also tried the squah ravioli. Also very nicely done. Sauce was outstanding and didn't overpower the ravioli.
We ate early (4:30) before a show and it wasn't very crowded when we arrived. It was definately packed when we left (6:30).
Too good not to share with others. If your at the theaters make it a stop.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sava's State Street Cafe also viewed

 
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to Sava's State Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sava's State Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.