We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend with Buddy and Bo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Burnt Toast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Burnt Toast Inn
Save
You added The Burnt Toast Inn to your Saves list
415 West William Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Ann Arbor B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend with Buddy and Bo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent a wonderful three days at the Burnt Toast Inn in Ann Arbor while attending a wedding and festivities just a block away. The Inn is beautifully and very interestingly decorated, our room was large and comfortable (complete with a full bath -tub and walk in shower with double sprayers - and an external exit with a balcony), and Sarah was both a delightful host and a terrific cook. Her collection of paintings, posters, furniture, nick-knacks, artifacts, and trinkets kept us enthralled each morning as we breakfasted.

Besides being a perfect location for the wedding, it's just blocks away from downtown and Michigan Stadium - we had a nice short walk to the game on Saturday. Other members of our party were at the sister property just a few blocks away. That property is more traditionally decorated and has a kitchen that had the cooks in our group drooling.

And then there's Buddy and Bo (short for Bojangles), Sarah's humongous and very friendly dogs. We came in late each night to find Bo sprawled across the sofa and Buddy consuming the entire living room floor, neither even stirring. Both were welcome additions to breakfast each morning.

I can't imagine a better place to stay. Thanks Sarah!

Room Tip: Get the room upstairs on the right with the private bath and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    13
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
32
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Location: The Burnt Toast Inn is in a nice neighborhood within walking distance of nearly all of Ann Arbor's restaurants, bars, and the campus itself. There is also free, ample parking.

The Hotel/rooms: Everything is quaint and extremely clean. There are plenty of tolietries, towels, and even slippers if you need. The bathroom is really clean and absolutely gorgeous.

Food: The breakfast all fresh and I think it as from Whole Foods, for those who care to know. Really good stuff!

The hosts: Really nice and accommodating, and very helpful in terms of pointing out good places to see/eat at.

PS: It runs about $135-140 per night for the room which has a full/almost queen bed.

Room Tip: The dogs there are great. That being said, if you're allergic, or canine-averse, it may not be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Loved it. Loved Sarah. Loved the dogs. (Yes, there are dogs, large and friendly and well-behaved.) We visited my daughter after her first summer-start semester at law school. We stayed at the Burnt Toast Inn twice, at the beginning of our tour of Michigan and again at the end. Two different rooms, both charming and just what we wanted. Sarah makes the stay easy. Breakfasts were simple and tasty. We had a long chat at breakfast with another couple who was dropping their daughter off for a fall start at law school. The inn is that kind of place, friendly people to talk to if you want, but certainly no forced chumminess. The location is great. Not on top of the campus, but close enough to the center of things with a charming little walk. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when I'm in Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We loved our large, beautifully appointed room in this colorfully restored Victorian house in Ann Arbor's historic west side. Being close to downtown allowed us to walk to dinner each night after our family's business. Sarah and her dogs made us always feel so welcome and at home. All the other guests were like old friends right away, but we had plenty of privacy as well. We would stay here again in a heartbeat if we get back to Ann Arbor.

Room Tip: Our room was the Master Bedroom, with a large bath en suite including a big tub, separate shower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We rented the Washington House with another couple for graduation. The house and the back yard is fantastic. The back yard goes on and on with little surprises along the way. The porch is great, the little trickle fountain, the gazebo, the gourmet grill. Sarah thought of everything! There are even twinkle lights around the porch for that party mood. If you need a outdoor space in Ann Arbor, consider this B&B, which is really a "home away from home". The main Burnt Toast is just blocks away so Sarah's breakfast is just a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We haven't stayed in a bed and breakfast for some time, so the Burnt Toast Inn was something of an experiment for us. Very close to downtown and easy parking. But the key to the place is the innkeeper, Sarah. There are little wonderful touches all around - soaps in the bathroom, basket of "treats" (healthy and organic!) in the hallways, bathrobes with quirky, comfy slippers, and a terrific breakfast. There are also two enormous dogs on-site who are really gentle and lovely (just a heads up in case of allergies).

Room Tip: Only the two suites have their own bathrooms; the other two rooms share a hall bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for just one night on a weekend home to visit my parents. Sarah was super friendly and accommodating, the decor was unique and quirky, and the bed in the Attic Suite was amazing... maybe it was because we were so tired, but 2 hours disappeared from my life and I have no idea where they went- immediately after we arrived we crashed! It says a lot for a place to feel like home, and this place made me feel that same comfort and warmth.
We didn't get to fully enjoy the B & B experience, but that was due to our schedule. Sarah was prepared to have breakfast and friendly conversation with all the guests and so were the dogs! Super fun and would stay here again.
BTW- the Attic Suite has it's own shower/bathroom, so no sharing up there and that was exactly what we wanted. :)

Room Tip: The Attic Suite has it's own private bathroom- no sharing! Also, the room has great blinds whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Burnt Toast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burnt Toast Inn

Address: 415 West William Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ann Arbor's historic Old West Side, just three short blocks west of Main Street, The Burnt Toast Inn is walking distance to everything -- downtown shopping and dining, University of Michigan central campus and athletic events. Relaxed atmosphere; beautiful, comfortable amenities such as down and 100% cotton linens; natural/organic breakfast. Free wireless internet. Friendly dogs. Whole house rental available. The Burnt Toast Inn houses an antique / art gallery, featuring primarily Japanese art. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burnt Toast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.