We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Friendly and Helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3155 Boardwalk Drive, Ann Arbor, MI 48108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm, Friendly and Helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

For someone who is first time to Ann Arbor like myself, this is the hotel that I strongly recommended. I picked this hotel when I was in a hurry and thinking that since I was going to be here for 10 days getting ready for my son to go to university, I would have time to shop for a better and nearer to campus hotel.
On my day of arrival, after flying more than 20 hours from Singapore, the hotel people made me feel very much at home.
The most interesting thing that I would like to highlight was when I need a transport to go and get a telephone SIM card for me to call home, the General Manager Mark Kuykendall offered us his free shuttle service as a driver to derive me and my son to the nearby mall.
To me this is something that is very unusual, the shuttle driver was sick and Mark was busy running around. I have been to hotels in England ,other European countries and most Asia major cities AND I have never seen any General Manager willing to be a driver for this matter, they would only help you to call a cab.
All this made my 10 days in Ann Arbor very meaningful.
Regards,
William

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    47
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
26
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have stayed here on multiple occasions and find the staff to be friendly and the facility is clean and easy to access. No included breakfast is a shortcoming and one can go to fast food nearby. Coffee is coffee but not that good. Wish there was a good coffee and breakfast option available. Bar restaurant is one i have avoided. Would be better with a breakfast plan. I like the location for a hotel and rooms are clean. Find food and coffee elsewhere. Fast foods not great option but mall dining is nearby.

Room Tip: may want to select middle rooms closer to elevator and doors. Parking is not well oriented to rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I found almost every interaction with the hotel staff to be friendly and pleasant. Something that even translated to other guests at the hotel, as everyone was so friendly to us.

With many hotels, restaurants, and any other service-oriented businesses, the staff gives you the impression that the customer is interrupting them from doing what they really want to be doing. This can especially be the case when you've got young kids in tow.

I felt that our family was not only well received, but completely welcomed.

The only negative about this hotel was that the pool was extremely cold. I was surprised - literally shocked - by the cold pool as it is a small, indoor pool which does not seem difficult to heat.

Other than that, the traffic, because of construction all around the area, was a bit aggravating, but that is not under the control of the hotel. It seems the state of Michigan just closes the main highway without much notice. We only found this out when trying to get on the road to go home and the exit was closed. It was not easy to find a detour. Come on, state of Michigan.

Room Tip: The king suites are a great way to get kids to bed in one room and for adults to relax and watch a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We traveled to Michigan to compeat in the AAU Jr. Olympics. The manager Mark Kuykendall and his staff went out of their way to meet every need my family had. They made my family feel special. Everyday after my son compeated he would run to Mark's office to share stories about his day at the Jr. Olympics. Mark would stop what he was doing and listen to my 8 year old. Everybody on the staff made my son feel like a champion. If I ever get back to Ann Arbor, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great stay starting with Kim at reception when we arrived. Made us feel very welcome. Great comfortable room and a good night's sleep. They have a very nice pool and are convenient to the U of M "Big House".

Room Tip: Close to the Briarwood Mall and just off I-94
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a very good hotell located in an excellent area. It is very convenient to the University, business area, interstates,etc. The hotel was very nice and well maintained. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been nicer. The rate was a good value for the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is a good business hotel. Is clean, very comfortable beds and well centralized. Close to the University of Michigan and very accessible from US 94. Good price, value and friendly people. It has good parking and feel like a very secure area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area

Address: 3155 Boardwalk Drive, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#5 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Ann Arbor s Newest 100% Smoke-free Hotel The Holiday Inn and Suites Ann Arbor, Michigan features 107 non-smoking guest rooms, including 18 spacious standard and Jacuzzi suites. Our beautiful guestrooms include plush pillow-top mattresses, refrigerators and microwaves in every room and so much more. Amenities include our full service restaurant and lounge, Mallett's Creek Bar & Grille which offers affordable dining, cocktails and room service, a full-service business center, indoor pool, whirlpool, spacious fitness room, and free high-speed Internet access. With 1300 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, we are Ann Arbor s small meeting specialist. Nearby attractions include Detroit Wayne County Airport (DTW), which is just 25 miles from the hotel, University of Michigan's Main Campus, downtown Ann Arbor, and Michigan s Stadium, or the Big House are just 3 miles away. We are also just four blocks from Briarwood Mall which features shopping and a wide array of restaurants to choose from. We are conveniently located near the following businesses: Google, Proquest, Thompson Reuters (formerly Thomson Medstat), Toyota Technical Center, Service Brands, U of M, Sorenson and Affinia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.