We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inside and out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matthaei Botanical Gardens & Nichols Arboretum

Matthaei Botanical Gardens & Nichols Arboretum
1800 N. Dixboro Rd., Ann Arbor, MI 48105
734-647-7600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 things to do in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 300-acre garden with a variety of outdoor displays and nature trails for exploring.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside and out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A great place to take-in some nature. There's special events held here all the time - I went to a wonderful bonsai show which featured a room-full of beautifully trained plants of all sizes, a teaching area where you could learn a little about the craft, and a market to get the right supplies to get you started.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    53
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Two of the very best places in A2 area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Have been going to both sites for years, love them both. Outstanding preservation efforts and some recent upgrades to the buildings at Matthaei ensure future enjoyment. Don't like the new parking fee at Matthaei, however. Off leash dogs at Nichols can be a bother but do take the time to hike all the trails at both places and enjoy being a million miles away from your troubles.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Chilly walk in a park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It was autumn and I wasn't really used to the weather so I guess our trip would be even more enjoyable if we visited during summer. Despite this, we still enjoyed going up and down the trails, occasionally taking pictures at the breath-taking views and visited the Huron river where we saw a bit of the wildlife. The peony garden was wilted and mayhaps everything would look a lot better during spring and summer when the flowers are out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, MI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Your children can learn about many different types of plants and the appreciation of nature. As for the metered parking, some things are worth paying a little extra to assure the level of upkeep/maintenance happens to keep a beautiful educational place like this available for years to come. Also- go in February to shake those winter blues! Wednesday are generally free in the greenhouse

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens and paths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the UM sponsored botanical area. There are opportunities to hike, to wander through the tropical plant space, to attend flower shows and lectures and classes about plants and nature. I enjoy "hanging out" and exercising or merely taking some pictures during outings. I love the change of seasons and how the varieties of plant life reflect same. Experiencing Matthaei and Nichols one feels more committed to preserving and protecting our environment. I live here and visit several times a year. I hike with some amateur botanists who, nevertheless, are quite knowledgeable about our natural resources and the flora and fauna found here and on nearby preserves.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthaei Botanical Gardens & Nichols Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Matthaei Botanical Gardens & Nichols Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matthaei Botanical Gardens & Nichols Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.